Thread: Another week at Awoonga

Another week at Awoonga

September at Awoonga YEE HA.... No better place on this earth to be...Fish number 200 graced the bow of the Skeeter and its only 22 days of the month gone.. Whats Working ? Berkely hollowbellys worked slow or Squidgies... Black and gold Best Times to Fish ? From four in the arvo to just after Sunset ..Then when the moon is up.. Where to Fish ? Shallow bays, points .. Remember the wind is your friend ... Use it

Re: Another week at Awoonga

Thanx Trev for another helpfull post.

Im sure it will come in handy for alot of amatures like myself.

thanx again PM

Quote Originally Posted by Awoonga View Post
    September at Awoonga YEE HA.... No better place on this earth to be...Fish number 200 graced the bow of the Skeeter and its only 22 days of the month gone.. Whats Working ? Berkely hollowbellys worked slow or Squidgies... Black and gold Best Times to Fish ? From four in the arvo to just after Sunset ..Then when the moon is up.. Where to Fish ? Shallow bays, points .. Remember the wind is your friend ... Use it
    Well done Trev...to say you and Scott have struck a purple patch is the understatement of the year.

Might see you around the Awoonga traps in late October.
    Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Purple patch no its a September thing ...This month at Awoonga IS the best month of the year Simple fact we are coming out of a week of winter Yes a week Water temp has increased to 25 and hotter in the bays ... The fish are happy to feed Next month will be different story ,,Lots of boats on the dam. These fish learn real quick,, They live in a captive system ..They will get harder to catch Donuts in Oct will happen for me nothing surer.. So its a case of thinking outside the box... New lures and new methods are required .Talking about new ways to catch fish..And l saw this with my own eyes ! At the boat ramp a guy using a Roosta popper catch meter plus fish in the middle of the day...Now thats thinking outside of the box ...

Thats good stuff Trev, well done to you and Scotty, thanks for the update mate.

You know how it goes as they say, "What a difference a day makes"

I', still getting around with my bottom lip slapping my knees, but i guess i got a couple of good fish, thanks again for that.

Hows the mozzie going?? fixed yet??

John.

Mossie is fine.. John its that "Thing" that hangs off its back... WOT its fine but there is still a little miss at about 3 grand ..Waiting for a new injector to arrive They are made under water in Peru by Virgins and there are not many left { Virgins that is }so it takes a while .. Or so the story goes

Smile Re: Another week at Awoonga

brilliant stuff trev you will sink the skeeter soon with all those scales 200 in a 3/4 month, unreal will be up with the lads in 2 weeks cant wait.tassie first and back into the snow.

Thanks for the update Trev. 200 in 3 weeks....WOW! what more can I say! Hopefully there will still be the odd one about there in 2 weeks time...If you havn't caught them all by then

.. So its a case of thinking outside the box... New lures and new methods are required .Talking about new ways to catch fish..And l saw this with my own eyes ! At the boat ramp a guy using a Roosta popper catch meter plus fish in the middle of the day...Now thats thinking outside of the box ...
    Ay yes Trevor - but has anyone got one on a 7" nuclear chicken yet

Thanks heaps for the tips. Its of great encouragement for southerners like myself who are heading up shortly and only get one chance a year!
    Geoff

Yes Trev ...... You have done your homework & the results show ?

You did say back in March that Sept is a special month & I had more than enough faith in your opinion to organise our trip ............ with very pleasing results 21 fish boated & around 20 jump offs / tackle failures

Thanks for spending some time with MW & I + a big thanks for taking us out on the Skeet ( nice toy ) ......... but you need a safety rail for me

Quote Originally Posted by gunna View Post
    Ay yes Trevor - but has anyone got one on a 7" nuclear chicken yet
    Yes Gunna......Frank OO has been there, done that in tiger country at Lake M....not in Trev's back yard though.

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Thanks Trev, that last bit has been taken on board

brian

Great fishing Trev, Shes a lucky boat..gotta love that.
    I think our secret is out about Sept.....I remember when we used to be able to slay as many as we wanted....not another boat in sight!!! well mabey a few

Oh well....you still have to catch them...I will call you about something tommorrow.

cheers steve

Quote Originally Posted by mikooh View Post
    Thanks for the update Trev. 200 in 3 weeks....WOW! what more can I say! Hopefully there will still be the odd one about there in 2 weeks time...If you havn't caught them all by then

Mick..l need to clarify my statement ....The boat has seen those Barras during this month... At times there has been three Anglers on board