Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Quick flick, only one flattie - 16/09/08

Quick flick, only one flattie - 16/09/08

Well its my wife's Birthday today, so when I asked what she wanted to do, she replied "lets go fishing". Cool says I, so we hook the boat up and hit the waters of the Gold Coast at around midday (very civilized .

I hoped to get on to a few new spots for the upcoming Flathead Classic whilst getting Germana onto some bream and maybe a flattie or two. Well as is usual she's got a couple in the boat before I have wet a line . A good start but things are very slow with the strong Northerlies and still a bit of snot weed about, so our expectations aren't high.

With only an hour or so to do some exploring we find ourselves moving about a bit, casting 70mm Sqidgy Poddies and 3" Gulp Shrimp at likely looking spots. A few taps and nothing to show for it I am getting the feeling it could be another donut for me .

One last spot and as I put out the electric I notice a pelican activly feeding - always a good sign. Two casts later and I feel the tell tale hit of a big flattie engulfing the poddy. I set the hook and the little Tierra starts singing that tune that all fishoes love to hear . I can feel each big tail beat and headshake through the 15lb Suffix braid & 12lb Sunline FC leader, slowly I gain some line and sight the big girl, I guess its in the mid 80's and then start worrying how we are going to net her with the net I usually use on bream . Well I getthe fish pointing the right way and Germana slides the net around her head (the flatties not Germana's ) , once she's half in (that's all that's going to fit ) I throw down the rod and between use we lift her into the boat.

With knees trembling we put her on the brag mat and NEW PB FOR ME she goes 94cm. A couple of quick pics and I swim her for a minute or so and she swims strongly away to terrorise just about anything.

Now If I can only find her again during the Flathead Classic.

A 94 seems like a good time to call it a day, so back to the ramp we head.

Gotta say though, even though it was Germana's Birthday, looks like I got the best present

Re: Quick flick, only one flattie - 16/09/08

Solid fish JT and birthday wishes to your wife.

That's a horse mate and on a pissy little 70mm plastic. How's the head on it. Would have won ya biggest fish last year at the classic. Well done mate. Was it around the pin or more broadwater area?
    Cheers. Keith

That is a monster, well done John.
    Marty.

Bloody nora! Thats a big girl, well done mate!

Head like the proverbial council shovel indeed.
    simon

The ocean is the ultimate solution - Frank Zappa

http://s428.photobucket.com/albums/qq9/slyman71/

Now that's a stud!!
    With it's pec fins out it's as wide as the brag mat!

Great fish mate!

Would have been nice for your missus to get it on her birthday...............oh well, can't help bad (or good) luck.

Jeff.

Strewth, sick croc,happy b'day Mrs JT

Cracker fish, I'm thinking about trying to catch one for my wifes birthday,Thanks for the heads up Cheers

JT that is one great fish hope your luck continues for the flattie classic

dave

What happened, it lost 2 cm from when you rang me at lunch???

Your the only fisho I now who's fish gets smaller the more often you tell the story

Top fish mate - lets hope we find a few more during the Classic.

Marty

Thats a stonker flatty there mate! and check out the head on the big girl it's reaching the 25cm mark Congrats!

Cammy
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons

Serious Flathead there JT ... I would say your Odds have just been cut for the Classic!!! Might just want to check that Brag Mat .. My mates was a full 6cm short!!!! Good work mate.

Ta

top fish mate. shes a fatty that one

Mate thats a ripper lizard...

Well done.

WOW thats one big lizard.
    I'm sure it will take a fare bit to top that as your new pb.

neil