No luck at Ross river entrance

Thread: No luck at Ross river entrance

No luck at Ross river entrance

Hit the beach near savanah at Ross entrance this morning and fished from 5am - 8:30am. Heaps of bait around at low tide but they soon dispersed. Between 2 of us we had six lines out. We used live mullet and live herring as well as big prawns.

2 undersized bream and a small long tom went back and ended up keeping an 80cm long Tom for dinner tonight.

Not bad for a day off work.

Next time...............................

Re: No luck at Ross river entrance

Well done KingKev.

Always get a feed of bream from the mouth, I hvae not manged to entice anything bigger yet, but haven't tried live bait yet!

Ausfish Platinum Member ronnien's Avatar

kk,

looks like you are getting a few more fish than on previous trips... good on you mate.
    i would be throwing my livies in & around those mangroves that face the sea, not real deep there on high tide & with the weather heating up!

ron.
    reels screamin aboard Hyper- Active

How's the tom go on the plate kev?

Long tom is great baked in the oven with only salt and pepper. I tried throwing livies into the mangroves on the right but to no avail. When I threw small pieces of peeled prawn it got hammered by the kindergarden fish. Not too sure about getting in there by car on 3m+ tides but will have to try. Just maybe I can catch my first legal Jack from those mangroves on a high tide.

Keep you updated

Bad luck kev, but at least you got something to eat out of it. I reckon those mangroves would fish well when the tide starts heading out, as the water recedes from the mangroves, the bait will come with it, and you can bet as the water warms up there'd be barra and jacks a plenty waiting patiently for that to happen.

At least you'd get some new data for your diary, the more info you have, the more successful you are likely to be.