Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Awoonga with the Master and Tactician

Re: Awoonga with the Master and Tactician

There's a lot to be said for being a purist.....the basics.....man/woman against fish in a sporting manner......honing ones skills and self development and refinement, along with some quality time with family and friends enjoying beautiful surroundings.

Not everyone wants to fish competitively......

Cheers Nomad

P.S Matt....thanks for the report, some great statistics there. Looks like the hollow belly is a winner.

BR65/Nomad,

Agreed!

Remember that I was just defending some of those who do ... and myself.

SM

Thanks Brian and Nomad, it was awesome!

Gagga, I don't think anyone has thrown them for snapper yet, but they should work well for them. I know Jewies and Flathead will smash them!

Steve,

Thanks for the reply, it does help explain/justify your reasoning for AFC qualification............but I don't why you don't state your state qualification criteria upfront, it might have less people grumbling behind your back.

Good luck with AFC filming this year, I hope that the weather and fish are kind to the anglers! Congrats on where you have taken the sport of bream, bass and barra fishing, I love all three species and just with I could do more events.

Ps We must talk on barra dates for 09!

Hi Matt,

Mate great report and photos, not to mention a few technique pointers.

On a much more social fishing note re barra fishing ...... Myself, Brad Job and Greeny are up there on our annual houseboat trip soon so we might be giving you a call soon for a chat, mate. I'm off to Cape York for 3 weeks but will be in touch when I'm back.

See ya

Matt, Trev and Scott,

Top work on a great win fellas. You guys are really smashn the fish up there at the moment, and have been for as long as I can remember this year!. I reckon you guys would have been the shortest priced favourites to win that comp purely on skill and recent form over the past 6 months alone!!...Hollowbellys didnt win the comp Scott and Trev won the comp, and they would have even if they threw any of the lures they have been over the past 6 months. talk to you soon fellas.

great photos matt, there are some really great action shots in there. got to love them.

I also see Katie and Elaine Sanderson (JEKS) up there at the top too. Well done girls.

thanks for the report.

cheers Steve

G'day Franco,

Thanks mate, I hope you have a good trip to Cape York - 3 weeks! how good is that!. I'm doing the FH classic this year so I'll hopefully catch up to Greeny there and swap stories. When's your Houseboat trip?

Steve,

Yep, I agree they probably would have won on other lures. Their ability to find the fish in various spots at the right time is sensational. They have had 30 plus sessions on other lures. So its nothing new to the boys.

I wouldn't bother getting any Hollow Bellys if I were you Steve Just another fad!

Good report Matt
    Barra Burgess put me on to my first barra a few years ago, about 3 cast I believe, then another 8 over the next couple of hours, he sure knows his stuff.

Great topics raised here from everyone. I and my friends have learnt a heap already. We don't get on here a lot and stick to social fishing, which doesn't mean your not a good angler, which is how things are being looked upon these days.

We all thought if you go well in ABT you would be on the AFC boats. Talk has been around for ages about Trevor, Scott and others who have consistantly done well on the whole tour but have not been picked to be on AFC.

We can all make stats out to get the result we want. I don't think an apologee was needed as many thought the whole tour counted for boat spots. But the apologee was a nice gesture in a good debate we can all learn from.

With those 06, 07 and o8 results you could also put up an arguement for Matt and Alan last year as well as Trevor and Scott from the last few years. As they got their results from the whole tour, but selection for the boat is done from southern results. I for one thought the whole tour counted for more. And it probably should as its spread over more comps where you have to be very consistant.

Anyway it's good to have a set of goal posts firmly in place that won't shift so anyone interested in tournaments can get their priorities right and focus. A few friends have been in the tournaments and have been confused up until now. This has been the best thread to sort all this out so it's all positive here, no need to argue please i don't want to argue. These needed to be made, it's just that there are not many people around with the guts to put them up. Don't shoot me for this.

There is no easy way to say this, but it had a few people disappointed last year. If you are the boss and are leaving before the final presentation in the final event of the tour, it would be a good business strategy to have the cheques signed before leaving. Especially for those who have done a long tour all the way up the state and back as these anglers are the foundations. Some of these anglers left jobs with no guarantee of a having their job when they got home. Thats how much they wanted to do these competitions.

Don't shoot the messanger please. The above has been talked about up and down the coast in the last year and this looks like the right place to get something done about it so the talk can stop and solutions put in place, which it looks like Matt has already started.

Congratulations on a once in a lifetime trip and report Matt, Trevor and Scott and co. It looks like those Berkleys will be sold out this summer.

Tyson

johnny thank you for opening the subject of the AFC as i too was wondering the criteria of the event ,and thank you steve for responding i dont think i am the only one who has wondered how all this operates ,i really enjoy all the AFC shows especially the bass and barra ,there are some awsome fishos out there in all of these arenas and it is great to see them showcase their skills, as long as everyone gets a fair chance to go onto the big stage if they desire and it is definatly not cheap to travel around fishing these events so a big reward at the end of the tunnel is a good insentive for all of them.cheers AL

Bloody hell Trev I finally got on and checked it out, yeah your right I am pumped see you soon .
    nice Report Matt, good piccies

Federation of Fly Fishers
    International Certified Casting Instructor
    Sunshine Coast Fly Fishers
    www.saltwaterflyfishers.org

I'm with Johnny Mitchell on this one.
    If you want a true competition, box or play tennis. The best man wins. Ditto chess, if you've an intellect.

dear oh dear . maybe your invitation is in ya mailbox up the top of curtis diff. the handle you use certainly lives up to your outlook must say it is refreshing to know that there is another future dribble writer for the letters to the editor in the observer coming through the ranks in gladstone. is there any chance that you have been tutored by geoff bresl!!n in the art of writing

Geoff's writing is a lot easier to understand than the scattering of letters above.
    Johnny

New Member Lou
    Welcome to Ausfish.
    Not a good start on Ausfish mate coming out with lingo like that. many people on this thread are seasoned fishos, writers and people who have produced huge amounts of assistance to many fishos on this site, just out of their own good will. I suggest you apply some calm down before you write such critical jargon. This is a place for good sound discussion, and viewpoints can be put strongly at times. And of course there will be dissagreements... but denigrating people personally...??? not on mate.
    Barraboy7
    " Fishing is not a hobby, a Hobby is something I do in my spare time! "

And to think that I only just started reading this thread now...

Like 'warrior', I too would like to thank JM for bringing the ABT/AFC into the equation. There is no such thing as hi-jacking a thread, this is a Forum and discussion is what these things are about. I thank Steve for his replies too... the waters are still very murky in my mind though. As a passionate Barra fishermen, who spends every moment of spare time, every dollar of his student wage towards these 'jewel grabbing' fish as 'Whitto' would say, not to mention someone who follows the ABT/AFC with much excitement, I see part of my future possibly being involved in these BARRA ABT's - and the feedback Im getting from current well known Anglers is not the greatest - its far from it. Im not going to list how things should be run etc, and Im not giving any critiscm what so ever, but for the moment you've got yourself a very keen young ABT Angler sitting on the sidelines.

Theo
    TT