Whatever happened to self respect

Thread: Whatever happened to self respect

Whatever happened to self respect

When I was a kid my old man taught me right from wrong. He didn't haven't many rules. Basically if it's not yours don't touch it. That applied to everything including other peoples crabpots. I was recently at the narrows at Mt larcom. I had a ball on blues and was catching the odd crab. I left my pots in one night and naturally as everyone will now tell you THEY WILL GET STOLEN. They did. My question is how should I regard my fellow fishers,as just that ,or as a pack of lying thieving b@#@#$@#s. We reckon that this is the greatest place on earth to live , yet we have lowered our standards of self respect to the point that it is taken for granted that your hard earned gear will get flogged.
    I can hear the chorus of you should hide them or sink them. There are rules apply to the use of crabpots including the clear marking of said items. Whats wrong with "if it's not yours ,don't touch it"?

Re: Whatever happened to self respect

you are obviously pretty pissed off at having your pots stolen. Well you were warned. A few low life scum on the water doesn't make all fishers "a pack of lying thieving....." I think you will have alot more fun on the water if you keep your pots in sight or hide them, and treat other people the way you would want to be treated.

I'm sorry to hear about that Imfiik... unfortunately it's just the world we live in. I'm not overly keen on sinking the pots myself, I just try to fish within sight of them, or at least within earshot of another boat entering the area.

I hope your pots weren't too expensive.

Two comments Jeremy. Your reply seems to support the theory that what you do is not the crime...getting caught is. The other is the supposition that only a few do it,,,perhaps a lot more than you suspect.

Mate it sucks but its the harsh reality of life at the moment there are people around who would pinch the milk out of you tea if you turned around and left on the table.
    sad part is it only seems to get worse. noone trusts anyone anymore most peopl are genuine but the bad few make everyone suspisous and it snow balls.

I cannot stand people who take other peoples gear. they ever stop and think " how would it make me feel if it happened to me"?

IMO crab pot thieves are treated to lightly. i bet if there was mandatory jail time, or massive fines, or even better anyone caught stealing pots has their boat confiscated. I rekon that'd stop a few

yes a sign of the times,no its been going on for ages.Listening to the smoko chat crab pot pilfering has been around since pots were invented.Maybe its a hereditary problem,yknow kids see dad doing it and on it goes.I don't think you're going to stop it as the people doing it don't give a rats.Recently I was fishing with the son and heir when he hooked one,no float,well as far as he was concerned it was a huge fish only because as he was winding it in every time he stopped it dropped back a bit .Anyhoo,when he got it up it was a crab pot rope and pot covered in all manner of growth I think it was one of Noahs.It had a couple of crabs in it,but it wasn't ours so we put it back.Sad but true,and we went home with no guilt,but a crab sandwich would've been nice
    Paulo