Originally Posted by
youngharry52
Gday all,
Haven't tried a report before, so here goes.... Lynn and I had a week up at Mondy in 1 of the cabins from Sunday to Sunday last. Nice cabins they are too with a great view. After fishing Monday and Tuesday 8 till 5:30 and no result, it was time to seek the aid of a guide. This is a big dam going back some 15 k's I reckon to the back and more dead trees than we have ever ever seen. Would be easy to get lost in there, especially at night. We went out Wednesday with Rob Wood from Gin Gin in the "Guidelines" Quinnie. Talk about flog the water to foam. After 6 hours, we gave up and called it a day. Rob was good enough to only charge us for 4 as agreed. Still, it was worth it as neither of us had fished for barra before, apart from the Maroochy Barra Park, so we knew how smart and fussy they can be. We tried plastics, hard bodies and "stiffies" but to no avail. However we did learn where to expect to find fish at this time of year in these dams and what conditions to look for.
We were so b*ggered from Wednesday's effort that we didnt get out on Thursday till around 2pm. Those Shimano Stiffies are bl**dy hard yakka. Thusdayand Fridays result, still a big donut. Desparation and stress was setting in at this point, so, a big effort for Saturday was needed. Out on the water by 8, no point in going much earlier apparently as the water is too cold at the moment. We searched and searched for the right conditions and at about 3:45pm we found a spot down in Bird Bay that looked good. After a couple of skittish baitfish and a bit of a boil, we were excited to say the least. We were both using slick rigs and Lynn had a flash on 1 retieve. My next cast got hit but missed. I called it for about 700, the adrenalin was pumping. Another cast and whack... The rest was a bit of a blur to tell the truth. She came out of the water 3 times that I recall, awesome!!! Back and forward in front of the boat, there was nowhere for the big girl to go, no trees to hide in. Lynn grabbed the net and in the excitement of the moment managed to attract 4 lures that were hanging on the rack. She was trying to get them out..... , b*gger the lures I said, jus get the net in the water. In she swam. How good was that, now we are hooked. She went 106 cm and a quick dangle on the scales saw 16kgs.
Couple of pics then back into the water. A bit of a swim then off she went to do it all again some day, I hope. Talk about an eleventh hour reprieve. We fished for 6 days, all casting, then got the gold at 4pm on the last day. It sure is a beautiful place, and that big girl made a tiring but great week into an unforgetable trip that memories are made of.
Will we be back? You better believe it!!!!
Will add some pics soon when I get to downsize 'em