Jack Secrets for virgins
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Jack Secrets for virgins

Jack Secrets for virgins

Well its that time of the year again, when a young mans thoughts turn to the angry red fish. I don’t profess to be an expert, and there are some better jack fisherman on ausfish that me, but I do know enough to help you get your first one if you are a jack virgin. Someone helped me once, so Im helping you. I kept thinking about not posting this post cos I dont want people thinking I have a big head, but theres a lot of guys who want to break their cherry. If you can already catch jacks then this post isnt for you.

These tips ARE in order of importance.

1-Stealth. Jacks spook easily, so don’t make any noise, and keep light to minimum. I will cut my motor and glide into a spot from 50m out, or use the leccy, then I drop my anchor without letting the chain hit the side of the boat. I leave my nav lights on of course, but I don’t let my headlamp hit the water unless the fish is ready to be netted. Find a way to make your anchor light shine up and not down, I use a rag around the bottom of it. I use a bow mount leccy to sound out new spots. If I have made a bit of noise by accident, then I expect it to take 20-30 mins before the fish come back out to play. Don’t let rods hit the side of the boat when you move about the boat, Im really fussy about this sort of stuff. So are the jacks……

2-Night time. I start at sunset and fish thru to midnight or later on most sessions. Jacks don’t hunt in gentelmans hours and neither should you. Dawn is an even better time (think 3.30am in summer), but they are usually off the bite by 6-7am, and the latest Ive caught em is 9am. Don’t bother fishing for em in the day as a noob, unless you’ve caught heaps of em and wanna make it a harder challenge for yourself. I do 6 hr sessions, and change spots every 2 hrs or so when working new locations. Just because you haven’t had a bite for an hour, doesn’t mean you wont get one in the next hour. Although jacks are territorial, they will move about a lot at night, and will follow bait schools up a river. If I know the location has produced jacks in the past, then Im happy to spend the whole session there waiting for just one jack to come by.

3-Locations. Fish near rocks, rocks, rocks. I cant stress this enough. Tree snag locations will hold jacks in creeks where there is no manmade structure like Nth Qld, but if there are rocks in your area, it will win hands down every time. I like canal walls best. I look for newer canals, because at the bottom of the smooth concrete wall, lies all the granite boulders that stop underwater erosion, and this holds jack food and jack cover (and vermin). Canals with sandy or muddy walls are out, I don’t bother with em. Next choice is underwater rock bars, that coffee rock reef that most people never find unless youre watching your sounder. If you know where that type of spot is, it will also hold jacks at night. I like bridge pylons, too, and drainpipes that run into creeks, but I don’t chuck much at sunken trees, Ive lost too many lures doing that. If youre gonna chuck at snags, you need to be landing it within 2-3 feet of the snag, or even closer. DONT ask me for spots cos its not gonna happen. Learn to find your own locations cos it will make you a better fisherman. Understand the theory instead of looking for a handout. Research is fun.

4-Where would the baitfish be? Look for back eddies. Fish are lazy, and will hold where they dont have to use much energy swimming against the current. I like intersections where a canal meets a river. Its especially good if the canal is not a dead end. So a canal that joins two rivers will always have a current feeding bait into the river. A canal that’s horseshoe shaped will also do the same thing. Now at such an intersection, the river will have the main current, so the 2 points of the canal mouth will have totally different characteristics. One point will have an eddy formed by the current rushing past it, sort of like a vacuum effect just inside the canal mouth. This eddy is where the lazy fish will hold, be it baitfish or predator. The other point of the same canal mouth will have the current from the river hitting the point ‘face on’ forming a sort of bow wave or pressure wave . Jacks will also hold in this area, and go for runs out into the eddy and back. Sort of like sitting in front of a bridge pylon and racing around the back for a feed. On low tide, the baitfish will be lower in depth around 10-15ft, and on high tide they will be closer to the rockwalls, and may be in as little as 2-3 ft depth. More lost tackle!

5-Lures or bait? I like both, so that’s your call. All I will say is bait is easier to get results on, and lures are harder and take more skill. For bait, my number 1 choice is mullet strips. I buy em whole at the servo in a pack of 2, and cut the fillets off, then I cut a fillet in half diagonally to make 2 triangles. I use a 4/0 or 5/0 gamma circle hook with 2-3 ft of 40lb trace. Mono trace is fine, I don’t use fluro at night. The hook is threaded thru the top of the fillet, then thru a second time in the middle. The hook is half exposed. Other strip baits that work are Tailor, Bonito or half Pillies. Ive even seen a guy throw a bit of sausage on and catch a jack. Live mullets around 5in are fine, and herring is fine. Feel free to butterfly a livie, that can work even better than whole livies, especially on herring. For lures, try any soft plastic in a prawn or shrimp shape, or minnows with twin tails. For hard bodies anything in black and gold color is fine. They will hit HBs up to 6in long no probs, and don’t forget trolling near rocks.

6-The Fight. Its all won or lost in the first 2 secs, no joke. Youll be left wondering WTF was that?? And looking at a shredded leader, thinking it must have been a shark or something……” It wasn’t a shark, it was a jack attack. I don’t lock up the drag 100% but I do have it set so that I can just barely peel a few inches off by hand. Whether you want a rod with some bend in it or heavier is up to you. Just fish ONE rod, and have you hand on it at all times. If you the rod is unattended the jack WILL shake its head and get the hook out of its mouth before you get your hand on the rod, so if you roll your joint or recycle a VB, do it while your rod is out of the water rebaiting. They don’t bite thru the line, most times they will rub your leader off on structure, and they will do it one 1 sec flat. If you hook one and give him some stick you can turn his head and get him away from his cover. Keep him away from cover in the first 2 secs and you will land him. Loosen you drag a little as you get ready to net him, cos he will go ballistic at this point. They have an intense dislike for nets. And fingers. I land about half of the jacks that I hook, so don’t feel bad if they get away, it happens to us all. It will just keep you keen to keep coming back.

7-Weather – who cares? Don’t overanalyse weather. I fish when I get time off. I don’t worry about wind direction, barometer, water temp, moons or even tide times to set a jack trip, but I do change locations based on tide times. If you fish at night near rocks between Sep and Mar, then youre in with a chance, its that simple. That being said, I pay careful attention to weather patterns, I just dont set my trips by it. I prefer half moon tides to full or new cos I think the fish hunt further from their lair when the current is lowest strength. If it’s a full or new moon, then they will bite best an hour either side of the high tide or low tide. Theres plenty who think the big tides are better, and that discussion will go on for a long time. I like runout tide better, but Ive caught my biggest jack on run in tide, so go figure. I once asked an ABT pro what conditions he preferred for bream trips, he said “Sundays” (his day off), that’s about my attitude too. Fish anytime you can. I reckon fishing in different conditions is like playing a new golf course, it makes you think about what your game plan is.

This how I do it, Im sure others will have different ideas that also work. If you do it different, feel free to contribute. Its not my thread alone, its just a summary. All this stuff was found with the search function, I just put it in one spot. I learned a lot about jacks from ausfish, so in the spirit of helping others we should all be passing a bit on. Isnt that what ausfish is all about?

Its ok to keep one now and again, but please consider releasing the majority of these magnificent fish. Let someone else catch him again and think about the future. A pic on a brag mat gets a huge amount of respect on ausfish. Good luck to the noobs, lets see them pics…….

Re: Jack Secrets for virgins

Cheers Andrew.
    I've only caught 2 so far and they were both arsey efforts and not the intended targets, nevertheless, I know the feeling of WTF was that!!! when luring rockwalls. nothing like a massive hit and bent trebles to make your knees shake!!

Cheers Roo.

Heres hoping that this year I get my cherry popped and can be a jack virgin no more!!
    "This space is saved for my next special catch"
    "Rainy" Haines Hunter 540C Yamaha 130 HPDI
    28lb King Salmon
    18lb Steelhead (Rainbow) Trout
    12lb Brown Trout
    6.5lb Brook Trout
    12lb Murry Cod
    6'+ Bronze Whaler Shark

All of that info is absolute gold Andrew.

I caught my first (and only) jack of 35cm on a live herring earlier this year in Cairns. It was very battle-scarred and put up a very ordinary fight so I still consider myself a virgin.

You have got me all fired-up to chase them this Summer!!

Regs

Hi Andrew,

After reading your thread, I just had to pop in and give you a great big THANK YOU. All the time, thought and effort that you put into this is so much appreciated. You have renewed my enthusiasm to go after Mangrove Jacks and I will be out this weekend in my tinnie.

Thanks mate, I'm excited!!!!!!!!!!!

Ausfish Platinum Member Mossy247's Avatar

Awesome stuff. thanks. I love the fact that everyone helps everyone else out.
    Good Stuff.

Good stuff Andrew. I am sure you will help the jack virgins with this info and I know they will appreciate it. Good luck for the rest of the season.

Gary.

Much appreciated Andrew!! I have only recently gotten back into fishing & have been chasing Bream & loving it. I have been reading all the hype about Mangrove Jacks & was keen to go looking for them. At least now i know where to start!!

some good info there...just one thing I disagree with..forget the pic on the brag mat..if you are going to release the fish..try and keep your hands off it and better still..don't even lift it out of the water. The longer it is out of the water and the more it is handled..the less chance of its survival.

What sort of rod/reel combo do you use personally?

With the mullet fillets - do you just buy a pack of two from the servo or is it worth chasing fresh bait?

When you fillet the mullet, do you end up with four triangular baits per fillet?

Just the start of many questions

Many thanks for your original post. It is very informative.

BBB

Excellent thread and very informative thanks for putting in the effort to inform and inlighten us thanks heaps,just one thing what sort of reel are you useing thanks for the info ...matt
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

Well done Andrew, if that info doesn't help some of the Jack virgins break their cherry then they should finding another obsession.

Marty and I will be out Sunday for our first serious hit at the Jacks this season, hopefully we'll have something to show for it, even if it is just frayed leaders and trembling knees

That's a lot of hard earned info there, thank you for putting that together for those who need the help (like me!). I will be doing some Jack fishing over this summer to get away from the bream for a while, your advice is very much appreciated.
    Joel
    Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill

Thanks guys. I appreciate all the online thanks and I get a buzz from getting my thanks post up.

The gear I use now is this;
    Jack rods for all situations.....

Med-Shimano Starlo Stix Tournament 4-7kg/Sustain 3000 (my favorite)
    Heavy-Shimano Backbone Elite Snapper rod 5-10kg/ Shimano Baitrunner 3500
    Light-Shimano Backbone Elite 2-4kg/Stradic 2500

We're loaded for bear
    I use 15-30lb Suffix Performance braid, and 40lb leader on bait and 20lb on lures.

Ive gotta say Ive just upgraded my gear since summer, so most of my jacks in the last 2 yrs were caught on a variety of cheaper gear. I tried heavy gear and got nothing, so i went back to bream gear. An old Silstar Crytal glass rod rated 2-4kg, and a cheap Abu plastic reel did most of the damage year before last. then last summer, I bought 2 Shimano Backbone Elite 2-4 g rods, and used more cheap reels with crap drag. I still managed to land em. I put the Stradic on early last summer, and I couldnt believe the improved drag. The Starlo rod and Sustain came earlier this year, just after jack season closed, and now I feel Ive got the best combo I can get. The heavy rods and baitrunners are really for jew (still didnt get one yet) but they are fine to have a spare bait out with. occaisonally I do fish 2 rods at once. Just buy the best gear that you can afford. Ive lost fish on cheap reels too, and that hurts, it makes you wanna invest in something better.

Yes, fresh bait is best, and for a whole summer I used nothing but fresh bait, but if it takes you an hour and a half to find it with a castnet, then whats the point? My biggest jacks have all come from servo bait. yes, I get 4 baits out of one mullet, but sometimes I will use a whole fillet if there are pickers around. The bait should be about 2 fingers thick, and twice as long as your fingers. The bigger the bait, the more likely you are to get a big fish, but you also rule out the small to medium sized ones with big baits. Its always a compromise. Ive always targeted big fish for the thrill, so I get less fish than other guys. I suck at bream fishing and finesse luring due to lack of practice. I can go home fishless roughly every second trip, but thats the way I prefer to fish, all or nothing. Ive been getting some pretty big bycatch too. If you get cod as bycatch then your in the right area. they seem to hang out with jacks near rocks.

Tight lines.

Just to add to the tips:

Another location to target jacks is anywhere above a landlocked section of river or creek at low tide. Often times a shallow creek will have deep narrow holes upstream of blocking sandbars. These locations are crammed with fish and although they are hard to access they are well worth the effort. I have pulled dozens of jacks from waters a foot deep against the edge of the mangroves between holes as well. When territory diminishes dramatically with a dropping tide jacks take hold of anywhere they don't have to fight for territorially.

As Andrew said, rocks and rock walls are gold especially when they are isolated. Another hot spot for a jack is any little drain feeding into a main creek or river especially if it has an overhang of mangrove roots. Jacks sit under cover and when they see or sense a feed coming towards them they move out into the channel and wait for the prey to pass between them and thier lair. They hit the prey at full run heading directly for home.

Even though Andrew prefers night time jacks (it is the most prolific) I prefer day time targetting them in stealth mode with lures mainly, baits only while i am having lunch (steamed mudcrabs usually straight from the pot to the cooker).

The more isolated a snag or reef is the more likely it will have a decent resident and resident he usually remains. I release all jacks these days as I feel they are thrice as valuable as bream and we all know how long bream live for to get to a decent size.

Generally I fish 6 to 8kg lines with a 20lb jinkai leader about 2 feet or more long. Haven't needed much heavier than 20lb jinkai for jacks yet. Jinkai is like a mono with about ten times the abrasion resistance.

I do not know if the jacks are more prevalent in the last 5 years in SEQ or if they are just being talked about a lot more making them seem more prolific. For me my capture rates are fairly steady when i target them.

If ever you catch a live squid under about 120mm mantle length try offering that near a rock bar and not losing your nerves when mr Jack hits. Jacks go litterally 5 times harder with a live squid than any other bait or lure.