Sth Straddie Tailor and DI report

Thread: Sth Straddie Tailor and DI report

Sth Straddie Tailor and DI report

Got this Tailor across from the Bedrooms last Tuesday when I was down there on a houseboating trip. Unfortunately I could not find any of his friends and got this lone one on fresh mullet fillet on wire and a 2 gang. Any guess on how heavy this one would be? I have been overseas for 3 years so it has been a while since I have chased the tailor.

On the houseboat we managed a few flathead, plenty of small bream and one over 30cm, estuary cod just under, loads of stingrays, and a freshwater and Moray eel for something a bit different. That was all basically in the first 2 days as the crap weather came in and beer and cards was a better alterative than horizontal rain and howling winds.

Also fished Noosa North Shore the 2 previous Friday nights for 3-4 good choppers each time for a nights work. Also got a shovel Nose Shark that was the biggest I have ever come across on the beach. I have caught them in the 15-20 Kilo range before but this brute took me 2 hours to get to the beach. He was probably longer than me (175cm) and I guess about 30kilos. My arm was jelly and I could not get him out of the surge so after a couple of attempts to run in and grab him by the tail I got him but he thrashed like a bastard and snapped me off and I could not hold him. Was going to let him go anyway but wanted to get a few photos so I could show my overseas mates how big we catch fish and sharks from the surf.

Re: Sth Straddie Tailor and DI report

He he he Rum'o'clock- I love it!
    Good work on the Taylor mate, always nice getting one that big outta the surf. Just out of interest was the tide high/ low?
    Jimbo

Nice tailor mate, at guess id say 3+ kgs. Was it late arvo?

Yeah my guess 3.5 - 4kg.
    Fantastic fish! The greenbacks love the strip baits.
    Cheers!

Ausfish Gold Member

Looks a solid 70cm, maybe 80? I'd guess just under 4kgs.

Nice fish. That stretch up to the tip produces good fish. I would call him about 6lb so just shy of the 3kg mark but it is difficult to tell the way it is held

It was late arvo about 1 hour into the run in. Nothing else took the flesh after that. Just got a small shovelly, a small stingray and a few dart on cured worms. Does anyone else get plagued by small stingrays on the north end of South Straddie. I always seem to come across them in the surf nearly every time I go. Sometimes I catch as many stingrays about plate size as I do fish.

My guess was somewhere over 3kgs. He was fat and fed 4 blokes easy.

moon phase has a lot todo with it if its a wanning moon fair chance u will get vermon keep that in mind

Hey rumoclock nice fish. Must have got lost from the pack . Have caught some good ones over there but for the last 6 months haven't seen any good gutters. I am wondering if things have changed ????? I have never caught a Vermin over there ever? Except those B...dy kestrels grrrrr. Sometimes hard to get a bait out. Went fishing down the pin the other day and got baby everything except for a monster moray eel. No way want to bring those bludgers into the boat . Keep up the reports on the bedrooms. Was going down there next Tuesday wednesday if the weather is kind .

Very nice Tailor mate..wish they got that big down south!