Mangrove Jacks - Page 3
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Mangrove Jacks

Re: Mangrove Jacks

Quote Originally Posted by mattooty View Post
    I can remember your fascination with jacks kev. Were you finding much information that was actually helping you to actively target them or was it mostly trivial bits of information? I'm reading some of those papers now.

Mate, I bought the gear, tried the placcies, the hardbodies, the livies, and looked at all the likely haunts and snags and you can see the results above I didn't get to fish those stinking hot and humid days though, that jacks purportedly love, although looking at how many winter and early season jacks have been caught, I'm wondering if even that holds water. There's no doubting though, that some on here really know there stuff or their locations in regards to jack captures.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Nah it was from a few fella that target them alot, no research, thats why i asked

well said i recon 2 good jacks over 45cm is plety for a feed i prefer to release them too good to catch once!!!

Ausfish Gold Member

large jacks are on the reef and breed there, young can be found living amongst rocky areas in in shallow water from here when they are bream size they travel all over to they find suitable structure to live.the amount of bridges you keep building down south will only enhance more numbers. take north Queensland as a example when we get floods every year they are washed out to sea given a short time schools of jacks move in and grow quickly especially as all those banana prawns are there to feed off. they are a species that is not easily netted as they hang around structure but are a bit like mud crabs there is always a percentage out there moving and just waiting to take up residence after one is caught. so i say fish responsibly enjoy a feed let the juveniles grow before targeting them. you wont catch them all as they are a pretty smart fish and enough are still in good numbers on the northern reefs to re stock your river ways.

You all don't know what you are talking about ,I reckon Jacks are one of the best table fish in the sea, I would keep a jack over a flathead any day.

I think jacks are overrated on the table imho and would rather eat whiting.... dunno about flathead

All good sentiments, but I just wish the DPI would let us stock them. The Gladstone hatchery have been successfully breeding them for years, but they are only allowed to put them in Awoonga, not the salt. One day!