rainbow cods

Thread: rainbow cods

rainbow cods

Went out with my brother chris this morning, left cleveland and made it to peel for about 8.30, few drifts around the western side for a couple of hits but no hookups, there were a few tuna around though but not within casting distance.

Moved to the top end of peel, and a few more drifts with no luck there either, so we kept on moving to Myora for the last of the run out. Again, several drifts for one hookup which eventually was spat out and lost.

After the tide change, pushed further up the rainbow to the welsby light, same story, not much action. But on one motor back for another drift, some longtails surfaced right in front of us maybe 20mts, by the time we stopped and grabbed rods, they went practically under us and disappeared.

A few drifts later, I'd decided to use my transam, which got comprehensively belted by something with lots of sharp teeth and lasted all of about 3 seconds of screaming drag before I was bitten off.

Another move further south, drifting along a good dropoff, chris's 7inch jerkshad, got belted as well, and whatever had it was heading for amity quick smart. We gave chase but the fish ended up burying itself and chris got busted off.

So we decided to drift this spot again, and chris's 7inch jerkshad got blitzed again. This time the drag was cranked down and it put a nice bend in his s10. After a bit of a chase on the electric, up comes a big cod, a new pb for him.
    64cms, 3.4kg, 7inch nuke chook jerkshad, 1/2oz tt.

On the way home we did another drift well wide of Myora again, the wind was fair up by now. Casting ahead of the drift, I managed to snag the bottom, it came free and was belted hard by a fish. Couple of minutes later, up comes a new pb cod for me.
    59cms, 2.6kg, 5inch smelt jerkshad, 1/2oz tt.

Back to cleveland just before 6pm. Turned out not to be to bad a day after all!
    simon

The ocean is the ultimate solution - Frank Zappa

http://s428.photobucket.com/albums/qq9/slyman71/

Re: rainbow cods

hay nice cod there well done

Ausfish Platinum Member nuggstar's Avatar

awsome post. top looking fish, good pics
    figjam :wink:

Ripper sesh there mate, i love the colours and size which they can get. You got some decent ones there man, congrats on your pb!

Cam
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons

Great pics Simon.

Ausfish Platinum Member plaztix's Avatar

Nice cod mate. Top eating at that size too.

Great fish there mate

Well done.

They are such a cool looking fish.

Lee

Quote Originally Posted by plaztix View Post
    Nice cod mate. Top eating at that size too.
    They sure will be!
    simon

Some nice cod, there one of my favorite fish to eat I would take one of those over a longtail any day .

Cheers Chris

Quote Originally Posted by bayfisher View Post
    Some nice cod, there one of my favorite fish to eat I would take one of those over a longtail any day .

Cheers Chris
    Tasty fare indeed, but I'd give the left one to catch that longtail you got today. It didn't happen to have my transam lure in it by any chance? Thats us in the background of your pic at cleveland in your post too, saw you come down and rinse off the brag mat.
    simon

Awsome stuff. Such a great looking fish.

Awesome pair of fish guys,

I never use 7" in the bay, but looking at the shot of the cod with the nuke in its mouth, you could use 10" plastics and still have room in that bucket mouth of theirs. Very good going!

Very nice fish there. Its great country around the Rainbow and often overlooked

They are such a cool looking fish, I love fish with giant mouths that will scoff just about anything.
    Worth loosing a transam if your getting quality fish like those mate.....although loosing a transam would still suck, awesome lure.

You will get doggies mackerel in rainbow at present, could have been the
    culprit .
    Was playing around with some jackals and lost a couple, till i retrieved a lot faster, and was attached by a doggie and managed to get in on the last treble, still mangled the jackal though.
    There's some great fish pass through rainbow, plus the resident dwellers.
    Lots dont like fishing here, due to the current.
    But she's certainly worth some exploration.
    There's a couple of big resident cod also, if know where they are, you can often feed them.