Thread: Northerlies = No Fish Y/n

Northerlies = No Fish Y/n

Me And 3 Mates Have Hired A Boat To Take Offshore Sunny Coast This Sat, Weather Looks Like Light N N/e . . Is There Truth In "if Its From The North Head North" ?????????

Re: Northerlies = No Fish Y/n

Can't speak for offshore but inshore at the Gold Coast we find if it is blowing from the NE we don't expect to catch too many fish, NW is slightly better. In particular we find the bread and butter (ie. Flathead, etc) shut down.

Only good thing is if it is blowing from the North and around Summer, there is a good chance the Jacks will bite!

Marty

wind coming from the north today, picked up an inshore snapper....

your mind is like a parachute, it only works when its open

I have traditionally found that south east Qld fished extremely well on a north easterly as it pushes the warmer water and air south. If its got a hint of west in it dont bother.

Mate honestly i dont think that the wind direction really matters, weve caght fish in every wind direction, it all depends on whether the fish are on the chew. weve had some great success in nw winds were alot of people thinks its a terrible wind to fish, we are heading out on the weekend, if its not blowin a gail we are goin reguardless wind direction, good luck and i hope you's get a few.

cheers tassie JR

Quote Originally Posted by Tassie JR View Post
    Mate honestly i dont think that the wind direction really matters, weve caght fish in every wind direction, it all depends on whether the fish are on the chew. weve had some great success in nw winds were alot of people thinks its a terrible wind to fish, we are heading out on the weekend, if its not blowin a gail we are goin reguardless wind direction, good luck and i hope you's get a few.

cheers tassie JR
    i agree..................your not not gonna go fishing cause of the wind direction....

your mind is like a parachute, it only works when its open

I agree also. To me the wind is just a matter of comfort on the water and chop size etc.

OK, my usual reply, when was the last time it was windy under the Water??? wind makes no difference, it is just difficult to fish some spots in certain winds, the Fish are still there though, we are not talikng Cyclones here that may stir up shallower spots, but in general, Fish where the winds allow, or put up with the chop and Fish on regardless!

It does not seem to make any sense logically but i have noticed on a few occasions the bite slowing down after a NE kicking in.

Down the pin when targeting flatties last spring was the most noticeable, we were getting amongst some good fish and quite regularly but as soon as the NE picked up it shut down completely. Coincidence maybe but it has happened enough to make me think twice about going out in a North Easterly.

maybe just the NE wind pushed the Bait to another location, like a quiet corner on the other side of your usual haunts, as I said, the Fish are still there, it is not blowing NE under the Water, and Flathead are not noted for being big migraters, they will be where the easy food is.

Last few trips offshore i have done in a SE direction with very good results.The past 2 trips i have done, fishind the same spot have been in a northley direction with no or little result.Make of it what you will

wind direction does seem to have some effect of the water. Westerly winds clear the water, Northerlies make it go green, SEs bring the warm blue water in close. I don't mind a Northerly for fishing, especially pelagics.

There is also some sense in the adage "if its from the North head North" since if it picks up, you will be comig home with it rather than punching into it.

Might be heading out this arvo and its a NE today so will see how we go.

If i dont catch anything i can blame it on the wind

An old timer told me that SE winds blow the warm currents and bait/food in closer to shore. He noticed this after many years of fishing Botany Bay. This in turn, can fire up not only reefs, but Bay, Broadwater and River fishing.

Ive been following this theory for a while and there seems to be something in it.

Wind is just one of many factors, so Id still fish in any weather anyway (all fishing trips are good). It may not be windy underwater, but wind direction still has a definite effect on fishing.

We get northerlies in Se QLD as as high pressure system moves away from the continent! So is it the northerlies that slow the fishing or the falling Barometer?? Also the offshore currents generally run south if a northerly is blowing you tend to drift twice as quick which can make fishing more challenging! But saying all that it was blowing from the Nth all day today and my brother nailing them off Di atm so maybe just fish when you can as Noelm said and have fun!

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!