making the most of the rain

Thread: making the most of the rain

making the most of the rain

Nuggs and i had been planning a trip chasing flattys this weekend in the maroochy then it decided to piss down filling it with fresh so the call was made to hit mooloola.I finally took the tarp off the boat which has been out the water since last september.7am at the ramp we head up the canals and decide quickly to turn round and head to the jetties near the mouth,we were cruisin up and i give nuggs the tip on a drop off and he boats the 1st of the day,little bream.We head down to the moorings and i get cut off on the pylons by something,not much else there but some little pike so back to the trawlers we boat a few more bream then decide to have a look at the lochs.On the way up there we spot someones yacht on the bottom and flick a palstic at i hook a chopper and drop it as quick,on we head.Get to the lochs and something slams me up a pipe,new leader.While i`m tying my leader i see nuggs rod load up out the corner of my eye and all hell breaks loose its a big queenie round the 70cm mark unfortunately it threw the hooks and i reckon half the coast new about it!!!!! a few more casts there and back to the trawlers again for one last hit.My boy was onboard for the day using my replacement rod from the other day and gets right in on it today bagging a few ripper bream and the best of the day at 32cm to the fork the rest were all good fish between 26-30cm to the fork,all up we boated about a dozen bream a couple of pike and a runt big eye,so not a bad little session considering.

Re: making the most of the rain

Nothing like catching bream out of a chocolate milkshake! Nuggs drops another big fish, he'll be happy to have a witness this time for all the doubters... Good sesh in hard conditions boys.
    Joel
    Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill

Well done a good little session pity about the queenie!
    cheers Simon

wasn`t too murky round the trawlers with the incoming tide but everywhere else was a little milky.

Stack

Ausfish Platinum Member nuggstar's Avatar

im still spuwing about that queenie, 70cm+ ya recon stack, im wishing i put a owner on the tail of that lure now.
    figjam :wink:

had to be all I saw was the arse end slapping the water and that was round 50cm of arse mate BIG QUEENIE Nuggs!!!! you stopped swearin yet