Just been over to NZ with the wife and had a ball sightseeing around Rotorua, Taupo,Auckland. Had the pleasure of calling into O'Keefes Tackle shop in Rotorua and haveing a great chat with Bert Robinson who works in the store.Comparing plastics that are slowly becomeing popular around the traps and different types of tackle available.Now this gentleman Bert threw out the invite to take me out for a fish.we only had a window of a few hours in the late arvo but this bloke supplied me with everything I needed.Even tied a few flies before we left.He had me False casting and mending the line and taught me heaps with in 1/2 hour and had me to a standard I might even catch a trout. I must admit the area we fished had me scratching my head and thinking Is this fair dinkum. Bert kept saying Keep going digger,Things are a little slow but The more casts the more chance you have of hooking a fish. Kept showing me pictures of trout caught in this very spot pushing the 15-16 bl mark. As darkness started to fall and the chill in the wind found its way through my clothing,I WAS SMASHED by a fish and all hell broke out. Bloody thing went like the clappers smashing the surface .Let him run Berts yelling.Dam stream is flowing like a freight train over the shallow water and the fish is useing it to his every advantage and me being a total greenhorn didn't help ,so eventually me and the fish parted.I was DEVASTATED New spieces and a new style of fishing ,but Not to be. One thing for sure that kept going through my head is how i could adapt this to salt water around home . Maybe a fish around the kilo landed would have made my day and I would have been happy as a pig in #$%# Not one of Berts horses straight up ,but could you imagine if I landed that sucker,you would have heard me cheering overhere. Anyway back home today and ready for a fish,Cheers