Personally I would find a full on instructional type of dvd pretty boring, but if you have a good presenter, catching fish and talking through techniques, rigs, favorable weather conditions etc then that would be what I would be looking for.
I have just watched a fishing DVD that was so astoundingly unhelpful it was actually a little funny.
I had included a description here but I decided to delete it in case people guessed which DVD it was! The presenter seemed like a nice bloke, after all.
Anyway, I was just wondering whether other people want to learn stuff from a DVD, or are just happy to look at scenery and action footage?
And can anyone recommend a DVD that you found helpful? I hear the Fishing DVDs are good but I haven't watched one yet.
Last edited by Nic; 03-09-2008 at 09:45 AM. Reason: Didn't want to give away which DVD it was
Personally I would find a full on instructional type of dvd pretty boring, but if you have a good presenter, catching fish and talking through techniques, rigs, favorable weather conditions etc then that would be what I would be looking for.
Nic, If you want a fishing dvd, that's full of incredible footage, a bit of teaching and action..... go no further than the wangenella banks witht he ultimate lady.
It's a kiwi production by the fishing show over there
the fishing DVD's are gr8 too...not to mention cheap and normally 2 hours of footage...
Some good presenters but they can have some boring stuff on em sometimes like catchin trout etc
For fishing reports, fishing info, new techniques and fishing news read;
Savvy Fishing Blog
I subscribe to the Fishing DVD, and it is pretty good.
They tend to try to keep everyone happy in each DVD, so you get a bit of Fly and trout, a bit of offshore, and a bit of deep sea etc.
What I really like is that they will discuss the techniques they're using, AND catch good fish.. it's a good balance of info and entertainment.
I'm with you Nic, in that I like to watch DVD's with info, not just action!
You can never have too much knowledge!
mate i got about 30 fishing dvds and one of the best would be the ITM fishing show greatest hits volume one ( new zealand ), it is a great watch and his a good fisherman also hes not tryin to sell u ANYTHING at all, just shows awesome fishing, for fun he catches a couple a hundred kilo marlin on a handline in a 4 mt tinnie......they also made a snapper special which is awesome one session they nick ova 100 kilos of snapper!! ( letting em go of course ) i picked the dvds up at a local sports shop
your mind is like a parachute, it only works when its open
AFC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
LOVE IT
(i think i have watched every event 1000 times and never get tired of it)
I subscribed to the Fishing DVD's advertised on Ausfish. They work out to be inexpensive (if I remember correctly about $11/month). They arrive by post each month and are always put straight on.
I think what makes them good is seeing the different styles of fishing and there's usually plenty of action. I often get a laugh out of the hoots you hear from other people on the boat when there's a hook up. You can pick up helpful hints by looking at the way they land, net, release, fight, chase the fish etc.
I pass them to other close friends (not just anybody ) when we have finished watching, but you can always go back and watch them again.
Also found they are a good present for a man when it's often so hard to find something a bit different.
No. I am not on a retainer, but that's an idea.......
Blackjenny
"Summer breeze, makes me feel fine..."
MeePee_99: I agree with you about AFC, I own every season as well. The first series, while entertaining, didn't give a great deal of helpful info but I reckon they got much better after that. I like seeing exactly what lure the winners used and how and where they used it.
To everyone else: thanks for all the tips, much appreciated!
Footage of obvious fairdinkum footage would be nice for a realistic change instead of "prop" dams & tank caught fish showing as wild specimens being caught.
That would be a start to a simple DVD let alone a good one!
I struck onto a couple of guys that hae put together a DVD called Fishing Chronicles and even though the DVD is taken on a handicam type recorder it is good viewing and you can learn a bit about technique by paying attention prior to hookups. They do a short tutorial on catching mulloway on soft plastics that is full of good hints and techniques.
Personally I hate any DVD that flogs any products or competitions. Realism is where its at for me.
I too subscribe to the fishing dvd's & really look forward to them. Not exactly a laugh but at least they pass on info re: the lures/line/rods/reels & even knots they are using - & I really hate shows that just show fish after fish being caught with no info forthcoming - thats just plain boring -