-
Platinum Member
Sustain spool failures
The reel itself is fine, but the ratchet tooth underneath the spool broke, after this Sustain 3000FE (new model) is only 8 mths old, and hasnt seen a lot of action.
While the spool was being repaired (no charge), I used the spare spool, and within a week, its broken its ratchet tooth in the same way. No big fish or anything more than bream have been on it.
Is anyone else having this problem with new Shimanos? My Stradic FH (old model) is 12 months old and has no problems. I see the tooth is a slightly different design tho.
Not happy Jan.
Is it a design fault? Am I handling it wrong? Is there something I should be doing to better care for it? I always back off the drag in storage, and occaisonally give it a rinse with a hose.
-
Re: Sustain spool failures
That is a bit of a concern. Is it the tip of the little rocker that is breaking?
Just ordered the 4000 due to pick it up today.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Hope my new (2 weeks old) Stradic 1500 isnt the same.Same spool etc, as the Sustain will keep an eye on it
Reidy
Funny thing just remembered one off the features of the new Shimanos is the 'REPAIRABLE RACHET" HAVE A LOOK AT YOUR SPECS SHEET.Maybe a design fault or a rev. spinner (repair).
Reidy
It was the clicker that was repairable not the rachet sorry all
-
Platinum Member
Yes, diabolical, its the little tooth thats breaking.
Reidy, I had a look at the specs sheet, but it doesnt mention anything about it.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Good day Geko,
Sorry mate my mistake its a repairable clicker not rachet.Was at work and had to rely on my faulty memory
Reidy
-
Ausfish New Member
I had the same problem with my Stradic FI, only 7months after regular use.
Of course, a free repair.
-
Do u reckon the fact they are assembled in Malaysia now has anything to do with it???
I got a stack of older ones and have never had a problem.
For fishing reports, fishing info, new techniques and fishing news read;
Savvy Fishing Blog
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Ive got a old spirex 2000 around 15 years old on her second paddle handle that was one of the early Malaysian made Shimanos.Shes a little ripper never had a problem with it.
Reidy
-
Platinum Member
Well my reel techy has identified the problem!
He says that there is a technique to changing spools. What most guys do wrong, is change the spool and tighten the drag.......if you do that, then the main part of the reel will close up on the drag clicker and break it.
(mea culpa)
What you need to do, is change the spool, rotate the spool by hand to ENGAGE the drag clicker, and THEN tighten the spool.
Why isnt this in the instruction manual
While my guy was on the phone to Shimano asking for more new drag clickers, they asked him why so many people are breaking their reels....
his response...."well I told my clients not to catch fish on these reels, but only some of them are listening"
So there you have it guys, hopefully this info will save someone else breaking spools.
Id love to hear from some Diawa owners out there, is this the same with Diawas, or do they have a better design??