Boat show thoughts
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Boat show thoughts

Boat show thoughts

Any thoughts on the boat show. Me I thought is was below average. No tackle for sale other than the cheap crap those blokes from Sydney come up and sell. Daiwa had a stand there but nothing was for sale. Me and a mate thought if it was for sale they proberly would of sole out. There was alot let stands there from previous years. We were sitting in the bar listen into a couple of salesmen saying they had only sold 3 boats the hole show money must be gettin tight. Even the Coast Gaurd usally has a big table to sell tickets. Not this year. Lucky we got free ticksts. It just looked empty.

Re: Boat show thoughts

I said this before about the Sydney show, they are all the same, the same stands with the same guys selling crap at normal prices, the same guys on the Fishing demo stands telling the same stories, the same old Manufacturers trying to flog off their product that is so much better than someone else's because.... I make a point of only going every second year now, but it is still dull (I reckon anway)

I went because I am in the market for a new boat. Having most of the manufacturers under one roof is really good for the prospective boat buyer. If you were not going to look at, or buy a boat then you were probably dissapointed.

Go to this thread,

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...d.php?t=137449

It already has over 4pages of peoples comments about this yrs boat show.
    Cheers Callum

I reckon they are all the same. I don't think any bargains are to be had at a boat show.
    As mentioned before, Alot of crap for sale

We seem to have the same thread every year about the Boat Show, i.e. it's crap, what's the point, there isn't much tackle there etc etc. My other half adores that show because he loves boats (he was even considering flying down from T'ville this year), but if you're more interested in tackle I reckon you're always going to be disappointed.

not just tackle, it is the Show in general for me, just the same old stuff year after year, I have worked at the Sydney show years ago, so I have seen a few, and they never really change, sure if you are truely in the market for a new Boat, then it is a chance to see a lot of manufacturers in one place, but the Boat market sees very little in new stuff really, there is a few ways to do things, but nothing really revolutionary, and the same old "add on" stands with the same people selling their odds and ends, but anyway, next year I will go, because I will not have been for 3 years by then.

IN Brisbane....

I think it is called the ' Boat Show "... so I would expect boats there...

Earlier this year we had the ' Tinnie and Tackle Show " where you would find.... ??????

TheRealAndy is spot on... if ya in the market for a boat then this IS the place to visit.

nah thats not entrirely true.In past years the Brisbane boat show had everything you could poke a stick at, whether it be new boats, boating gear, acessories, safety demonstrations ect. The tinnie and tackle show doesnt cater for bigger boat gear, hence why the Brisbane boat show used to be good to get a bargain on boat gear ect. this year was a shocka. never again. northsides stand has shrunk down to a 3m x 6 m rabbit warren and the only bigger stand was bias.

As I have said before..I enjoy it. I also enoy the tackle and tinny show. Always in the market for a boat/s. If something catches my attention then I may consider buying it. Sanctuary Cove Boat Show is also good for the same reasons.

Not interested in buying tackle or accessories at any of them..too lazy to carry it out of the place..but horses for courses

Ausfish Platinum Member Fishbait's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Fish Guts View Post
    nah thats not entrirely true.In past years the Brisbane boat show had everything you could poke a stick at, whether it be new boats, boating gear, acessories, safety demonstrations ect. The tinnie and tackle show doesnt cater for bigger boat gear, hence why the Brisbane boat show used to be good to get a bargain on boat gear ect. this year was a shocka. never again. northsides stand has shrunk down to a 3m x 6 m rabbit warren and the only bigger stand was bias.
    Agree with you - alot different to previous years. I still enjoyed the boat displays anyway. See what happens next year hey?

Ausfish Platinum Member bigjimg's Avatar

The boat boat show, for me, satisfied me in the fact that i got a bargain price on my new signature which was bought in June.So boat show pricing should be taken with a grain of salt.No pun intended.But what better way to spend a couple of hours.The displays were pretty good I thought .Jim
    Last edited by bigjimg; 01-09-2008 at 08:20 PM. Reason: add on
    Haines Signature "FinaLeigh" 580F 135 Optimax
    CH 81 & 72 VHF

Great opportunity to look at some boats, I went in with 5 boats im interested in, walked out narrowing that list down to 2, didnt look at tackle or bother with the fishing shows.. Great opportunity to crawl over one boat, go the next and back to a boat if it interests you, all under one roof.
    Tangles KFC

I think the tinnie and tackle show and all boat shows would benifet if the tackle wos not cheap rubbish if it held some quality but while i did not go this year previous years any tackle for sale has been cheap nasty rubbish

Quote Originally Posted by Aigutso View Post
    Great opportunity to look at some boats, I went in with 5 boats im interested in, walked out narrowing that list down to 2, didnt look at tackle or bother with the fishing shows.. Great opportunity to crawl over one boat, go the next and back to a boat if it interests you, all under one roof.
    Just wounding what boats caught your eye and what were the 5 you went to look out. And what did you narrow it down to. I always find it intresting to see were fellow ausfish members are heading in there big descision to buy a boat.