Thread: Inflatable boats - advice please ?

Inflatable boats - advice please ?

want to buy an inflatable boat to take in our new caravan. I have two children, 5 and 7 yrs old and myself, all I want it for is to do some exploring up creeks and maybe throw the odd crab pot in and just run around creeks having fun with the kids.
    I looked into them abit and now I am very confussed. I want one that I can roll up into a bag and not be too heavy and I want to restrict it to a 6 hp motor so the daughter can drive it.
    What do you recommend?
    Budget for just boat = $1800
    Motor is approx $1700
    Total budget = $3500
    If I can get a cheaper second hand boat and motor, that would be great !!!

Re: Inflatable boats - advice please ?

I got an inflatable, too heavy too much work and bulky, scary in a creek with snags.

Get a Kyak or an inflatable one, the kids have more fun get some blood pumping and there almost indestructable, except the inflatable version I suspect.
    A marriage licence should be like your fishing licence!
    Expires every year and you get a 3 day pass when you go interstate.

You can get the roll in the bag inflatables no worries, brands that come to mind are RFD, redback, aquapro, quicksilver and the likes.

Best start scouring the trading post and don't forget, you will need to stay under 4hp if you choose not to rego it if you want to run by the QLD book

Had one as a tender for the yacht. Small 2 mt with 2.5hp merc. Kids thought it was great. Zipped everywhere. Not as fragile as you would think. Rolled into a bag but was heavy & awkward to carry very far. Can be a pain inflating all the time so best used while staying in one spot. Get one with a solid transom not a bracket that straps or rests on the tube. Bill

I reckon you're porbably budgeting a bit too much for the boat, the chinese boats for around 1k are fine for occaisional use. I paid $900 for a new one three years ago and had no trouble despite it being left in the sun and generally abused. Your biggest decision is whether to avoid the hassle of reg as blackened suggested and go for a 4hp (although it probably wont plane with you and the kids in it) or to get the 6hp - whatever you choose the little inflatables are excellent for what you're planning. Although it's worth buying a better quality pump the pumps included with the boats are usually crap

BCF had an inflatable for $899 i think and it fitted 2-3 ppl

Hi Rumy1

There is a good review of an inflatable in the current Freshwater Fishing mag. It looks like a good one. From memory it was about $1400 and can take up to a 10hp, and is very strong.