Thread: Big Decisions!

Big Decisions!

Hello Ladies and Gents,

well the time has come for a new sounder and GPS both are ready to die! The funny thing is when in rains it pours I am going to repower at the same time! Yes lots of dollars to be spent so I want the best combination, so your help will be greatly appreciated.

I have a webster twinfisher C/C and am looking at repowering with either 50hp suzuki or Yamaha 4st or 50HP e-tec. I like the idea of the NMEA interface and would like to untilise this(or similar) with the new set up.

I am leaning towards the 50hp Suzuki with a Lowrance LCX-27C to get the best combination. Are there any other options available to me? As I have a C/C mounting space is at a premium and I don't like the idea of the external GPS mount but fear i'll have to find room for it to get what I want.

If only all electronics brands were compatible with all engines when it comes to iterfaces like the NMEA.

This is the first time I have bought a new engine or Chartplotter combo so your experience will help a lot.

Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

Re: Big Decisions!

G'day Chris,

Any newer type chartplotter should interface with the engines.

The key to this is it having NMEA 2000 capability.

The Lowrance units will certainly give great results.

We have a Lowrance special on the LCX 27C + VHF Radio + Navionics Gold chart for $2249 at the moment.

To this system you can also easily add a fuel flow meter if required.

GM I thought that only Suzuki worked with NMEA 2000?

Cheers Chris

G'day Chris,

The motor end isn't my end of the industry - Spaniard King or BM would know better.

NMEA 2000 is obviously the upgrade to NMEA 0183.
    This has given standards to the data sharing abilities of any electronic unit or motor or any device that has NMEA 2000 capabilities. (This overcomes the limited data sharing capabilities of NMEA 0183).

So what this means is that any devices that have NMEA 2000 capability will (note should) talk perfectly to each other.

GM,
    i just read in another thread that the external GPS has to be at least 1m away from the head unit.
    The only place I have to mount it is next to it on the console.
    So In your opinion what is the best combo available that has a large screen like the 27c but built in GPS ant, that has NMEA 2000 compatability? Is there such an animal?

The lowrance units will display the engine data, to my knowledge only yam, etec's and suzie have the nmea 2000 compliant engine interfaces, they can be a bit of a pain to setup but worth the effort for the long term. You should check that the engine is capable of supporting the interface.

I.e http://www.panbo.com/archives/2006/0...00_gotcha.html

Not all implementations of the NMEA standard are followed across manufacturors, for example, there is a fair amount of information circulating the internet re: garmins implementation of the protocol which is unable to display all the data from compliant devices. So buyer beware.. check it out first..

HOnda

I think that thread about having the GPS antenna 1m away from the head unit is total bunkum. I have my GPS antenna less than 1 foot away from the head unit and it works no problems, heaps of other friends have their antennas much closer than 1m away without dramas.

I thought as soon as I saw that thread that people don't seem to be using their brains: if it was true, then how would any of the units with inbuilt antennas work??!! The GPS antenna is simply a receiver and there is no transmission to cause interference from it or from the head unit.

Put it next to a VHF antenna and you've got a different situation though, so maybe this is where people have got the story a bit twisted.

You'll have no dramas with the antenna mounted near the head unit.

Grant

Chris,

I agree that that thread about having the head unit of your GPS more than 1 metre from the receiver is crap IMO. In my previous boat they were was side by side on the dash no more than 25cms between them and it all worked perfectly.

Maccas

Chris- i used to have a webster c/c and mounted the external ant on the top bar of the console. Less than 1m and worked fine.

Cheers Scott

Yep, absolute rubbish ... I am constantly mounting them within a foot, and have not had anu trouble.

Armchair experts again ....

Stick with the external aerial, they perform much better than internal.
    And if you have any problems, you can mount them externally.

I got a Lowrance LCX15MT combo unit. I have made a bracket so I can use it in the tinnie too. The antenna mounts on the back of the head unit bracket, and touches the head unit..... no problems at all.

On Alchemy, the antenna is mounted on the hard top, next to the VHF antenna which is no more than 6 inches away..... no problems there either.

Perhaps we should call in mythbusters.

i got a webster twinfisher 4.6 mtr..great fishing boat !!! ;

Thanks for the replies lads will take into consideration.