My new toys - Page 2

Thread: My new toys

Re: My new toys

Quote Originally Posted by NIZ180 View Post
    Man that is one sweet looking rod. What model smith is it?
    It's a dancing bream/Shou DB-SH72 ..... 7'2" 3-12g lure 6-10lb. $540 from Fish Head. Nice rod, the guides lay over like the bayliner and it has a lure clip. Iv'e got more photos but that didn't work out too well last time

Wow, that is a sweet looking set up mate.
    Cheers and thanks.

"Tackle Whore on a budget..."
    Gonzo II – Brooker 4.5m 40hp Yam & Outlaw Kayak
    Fish Well, Fish Egrell

http://www.ecofishersqld.org.au

Hey Tetsuo
    BlackJack here mate - Nice looking setup (remember I'm a rank amateur)
    Got meself a Shimano Steve Starling Soft Plastic Squidgy Light stick (2-4kg) to start my fishin career off. Hope to match it with Diawa Exceler 2500 or Shimano Symetre 2500. I made a slightly enebriated comment last week about costs of gear without qualifying that I know bugger all about fishing. I'm learning heaps of theory from this great site and plan to learn heaps of practical soon - moving to Port Stephens in 3 weeks & got meself a Seafarer Ventura 5.5 with Jono 150 HP. Can't wait to get into em - Like I said in previous reply maybe I'll get into the gear like you have but I'm gonna have t win Lotto first. I agree after checking out some gear recently that money does buy quality. Whats your take on Diawa Vs Shimano reels - The Diawa seems smoother but lottsa guys reckon Shimano is the go.
    Blackjack

The body is evil .... it must be punished.

This is just my opinion of coarse, and many will disagree, but I think the mid range diawa's (certate) are as good as the top end shimano's. So the top end Diawa's are my choice. Saying that though, I haven't played with the new shimano's much. I think the majority on this site prefer Daiwa if you look at the polls. I should also add that you should compare the two reels on their merrits alone. Before you buy, wait and see what happens with daiwas new range, there may be some price drops or just better products. If you wan't a more informed answer, send a PM to NAGG.