Southern Bay M&G 29-30 November - Page 7
Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast

Thread: Southern Bay M&G 29-30 November

Re: Southern Bay M&G 29-30 November

What a great day. Thank you to every one involved especially Aigusto (Mike) and Lucky Phil for making it all happen, great time, great people.
    VMR Victoria Point will be more than happy to do it all again, thank you Ausfish for involving us this year.
    Cheers Ian.

Darren and I arrived at the Viccie Point ramp around 4:30pm just after the storm went through so we missed it. Conditions were unbelievable after the storm, flat ! and stayed that way all night Conditions were better through the night than today as the Piccies show.

We fished the nothern end of Peel for a heap of undersize squire, a few sting rays, a turtle and a keeper Mosses Perch. Fished untill midnight before heading around to the eastern side to get some shut eye. Woke up around 5ish and after a quick cuppa tried Rainbow Channel for no luck so back the peel and then Couchie still no luck Dropped 5 pots of on the way out yesterday and check them this morning couldn't catch any keeper crabs either.
    Thanks for the ride Dazza and good to catch up with a few regulars and meet a few new ones as well. Cheers to Mike for running the show.

Damo.

PS: the trophy reel has gone straight to the pool room

Like to thank all who attended the M&G and made it a great day,

a great time by all, and many thanks too

: the VMR boys and girls for doing the bbq
    : Moreton for donating the food
    : Crestcutter for donating the bread... mate hope the cook gets better and sorry i missed you before you had to head off
    : Marlin Mike for his donation of a great combo which went to Brooke
    : BCF for their great donation of a bunch of rods and reels for the kids, all the kids went home with a great rod and reel combo, most important a smile
    : Fishead for their great donation of some tackle vouchers, fellas spend it wisely?
    : Some Ausfishers who will remain nameless for kindly donating tackle boxes and arranging other prizes
    : Finga for another original Trophy

Thanks to all the Ausfishers who came and raised some funds for the VMR, I know they really appreciated it, the kids had a great time and went home with a smile, and I put some faces to names.. great day.

Prizes rundown? well

Lucky Phil for the 'biggest story" well done on the new wooden brag matt, just dont try to use it at next years RtM?

Black Rat: took out best fish but we will forget what it was, remember Damo next year the Alvey Trophy comes back nicely polished ( thanks Webby for looking after it for a year and giving it a good rub)

chrub1 ( Callum) with crabs, a worthy winner of the perpetual Yabbie Pump trophey ( thanks Craigie for looking after it for the year and polished nicely) last year squid, this year crabs... next year?? Remember Callum, it comes back next year with a polish.

Brooke: took home a rod and reel and a tackle box full of goodies, outfished Lucky Phil, enough said and had the Pinyarta sussed.

2DKnB (Dazza's) son also took home a tackle box full of goodies, he was fishing off the rock wall while we where talking,,

Many thanks to Moreton and Lucky Phil
    A big thumbs up to 2DKnB, Black Rat and chrub1 for doing overnighters,

Tangles KFC

a couple of the kids in action and with prizes...

Well what a great weekend. Big thanks to Mike, Vic Pt VMR, food and prize donators and all Ausfishers that made there way there.

This was my first fishing trip since the ekka holidays when I went up to Noosa, So I was very keen to get out and have a bit of fun, rain hail or shine I was going to be there, Actually it did rain, hail and shine. I left Vic Pt around 11 on sat morning, with only 4 cars with boat trailers in the car park launching the boat and finding a park was a breeze.

Fishing side of thing I got a catfish, and a whiting. But what saved me in the end was the crab pots, putting the pots down the side of Macleay, scored 6 keeper sandies, with 20 undersized, and 2 female muddies that swam away.

Weather side. Well I am sure you all copped the short lived storm on sat arvo. It sure was fun on the south eastern corner of Macleay Island. It was a wall of white. The rain was thick and hard, the wind blew the bimini half off, the strikes of lightning were bright and explosive and the thunder was quite loud, and my knees and hands swear there was hail aswell. All good fun as straight after the storm the weather and conditions were perfect.

So as new owner of a shiny brass yabby pump, I will do my best to keep her looking good and shiny for next yrs winner, last yrs winner was a squid, I won it with crabs, I wander what next yrs winner will be!!!!

Attachment 39017Attachment 39018Attachment 39019
    Attachment 39020Attachment 39021Attachment 39022
    Cheers Callum

Thank you to the VMR, Mike and everyone else involved!

The Girls still have grins from ear to ear and are so excited about their new fishing combos! (Thank you to the mystery donator!) and they have lined up Cos to give them some fishing lessons at Golden Beach over the school holidays!

The food was great and so was the company!

When is the next one!?????

Janine

PS Pinhead - Any photos with our Girlies are fine to post!
    Last edited by Herm; 01-12-2008 at 01:17 PM. Reason: Forgot something!

Ausfish Platinum Member dogsbody's Avatar

Yes it was a good day although i didn't fish. Put a few more names to faces.

How funny was the pinata bashing,,,,some of those kids gave it hell.

Thanks to all who organized the day. Hope the VMR got some well needed funds.

Avast ye matey!

It's a JEEP thing you wouldn't understand!!!
    NEITHER DO I.

With a few setbacks on the way to the ramp Damo and myself were greeted by glorious conditions after the storm.As Damo has said we basicly tried everywhere and various methods of trying to catch some fish but the big ones didn't want to play ball.

A big thanks to Mike for organising another top M&G and to everyone that donated food and prizes.Without these people events like this would not be as good as they are.
    A special thanks to the crew at VMR Vicky Point for allowing us to use their facilities.

Good to catch up with a few of the regulars and put a few more names to faces.

Greg.
    You are more than welcome to use any pics with Blake and Jordan.

As a side note if anyone is in need of a deckie get in touch with Damo(Black Rat)
    he is a great bloke and a pleasure to spend time on the water with.

Cheers Dazza

haha at the Jeep thing..it just hates going to M&G's.

some more pics.

The measuring paddle is a classic ! Who got that buy the way?
    Thanks to Finga for a "Real" lie detector i'll save it for the next boat

It's a JEEP thing you wouldn't understand!!!
    NEITHER DO I.
    Hmmm I seem to recall I have a pic of a JEEP bogged up at Inskip ... would that be a Jeep thing too??

Sounds like everyone had a good time, just a pity I couldn't make it, especially as it was local too ... bugga, would of been good to catchup

Good chrissy to all.

Quote Originally Posted by Black_Rat View Post
    Thanks to Finga for a "Real" lie detector i'll save it for the next boat
    Damo,, Lucky Phil

mike
    Tangles KFC

Quote Originally Posted by Black_Rat View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Aigutso View Post
    Damo,, Lucky Phil

mike
    And he deserves it. Lier, lier pants on fire

Who got the Green Alvey??
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    And he deserves it. Lier, lier pants on fire

Who got the Green Alvey??
    I think the offer of that donation was withdrawn.

Quote Originally Posted by Herm View Post
    Thank you to the VMR, Mike and everyone else involved!

The Girls still have grins from ear to ear and are so excited about their new fishing combos! (Thank you to the mystery donator!) and they have lined up Cos to give them some fishing lessons at Golden Beach over the school holidays!

The food was great and so was the company!

When is the next one!?????

Janine
    When-ever you want Janine......
    .......can we have gingerbread reindeers please

Thanks for all the pictures of the kiddely winks.
    The looks on their faces was priceless when they're bashing the green stuff out of the donkey-on-a-rope and when they're given their rod/reel.
    Actually Paul's young fella scares me a bit. I'm never going to upset him....he's downright scarey with a stick in his mitts.
    Heaven help us if he ever gets his mitts on Webby's Wonder Whacker.

And Phil look out for Brooke...she knows what to aim for. She gave that donkey one hell of a swipe to the voice box that it'll never forget.

And I missed saying gidday to Oldboot ....where were ya??
    At the next do you'll have to speak up matey.
    I'm easy to find.... Just look for the fat fella with no hair
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good