Thread: Bay Report 30th August

Bay Report 30th August

Howdy Ausfishers, Thought i would post a quick report on todays fishing in Moreton Bay.
    Left Manly ramp at 5-45am and headed straight for Harries.
    Conditions were perfect for drifting the plastics but no takers here.
    Was worth getting up early just to see a special sunrise.
    Did several drifts before deciding Mud might be a good option on the outgoing tide.
    Heaps of snot weed covering our plastics so i guess it would be difficult for the fish to see.
    Spent a few hours there and only managed one 40cm squire for dinner.
    Another top day on the water with a mate so a great way to start the weekend.
    Saw Scalem and Poodroo at the ramp so i hope you guys had some luck today.
    The Silent sea wasp was also buzzing around Mud today.
    Any luck mate?
    Hope the pic attach,s because i have had computer problems but if not will post on another pc.
    Cheers Brent

Re: Bay Report 30th August

That's a great photo Brent!

Was good to see you on the water again Brent. You know I am glad I bought my digital camera along too because taking photos of the glorious scenery was about all there was to do out there today. I caught a couple of squire just undersized (released of course) and a nice flounder which is going to be dinner tonight. Thought seeing as you shared a nice photo that I would reciprocate and share a couple. First one is of Scalem's boat under way against that nice sunrise and the other is living prrof that it was so flat out there today that you could float out to Mud in just about anything.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Hey Brent,

I had a shocker too, but for other reasons.... My daughter makes a straight line for Tower of terror and any of the rides at the Ekka and just loves them, but out at Mud, the wave action was a little hard for her to take.. No white caps, but enough swell to make Jessica start polking faces at my bucket I had on board. Poor darling has not been for such a long time she has no sea legs. That, and the fact I actually forgot my main tackle box but we remembered every conceivable snack known to man, I was on my way back by 8.15am.

Jess snapped these photos - hard to ignore the fantastic sunrise this morning. I don't feel too bad seeing you guys didn't get anything. Heaps of that snot weed around isn't there??

Some great photos guys thanks for sharing.
    Cheers Brent

Same here, we left sandgate at about 5 o'clock and headed over to mud, all we caught we a few undersized squire and one under size bream,we also caught a heap of little fish and i mean real little just don't know what they where.
    We headed over to moreton but had no luck there.
    All in all a great day out for a beginner like me in bigger boat.

thanks
    Joe

The bay certainly has been a bit quiet of late, but with great weather a glorious morning like that any fish is a bonus.

Cheers Chris

Very good photos Brent. Did you see any Jelly Fish?. I would rather be out there then been stuck in bed sick.
    Every bone in my body is saw

No jellyfish today mate just snot weed and lots of it i hate that stuff.
    Another few weeks and the bay squire/ snapper should be back in numbers or at least we hope so as previous years Spring has been kind to us catching a feed.
    Hope you get well soon mate those offshore snaps are waiting for us.
    Cheers Brent

How did the area around Harries look in terms of bait. There was little around on Wed but I still managed a couple to around 53 cm. They were tight in on the small amount of structure in the area

snot weed everywhere!! we drifted around coochie inside of peel and around the beacons flicking plastics. every single cast was weed! apart from that it was a nice day out.

smoked
    (when Im dead) my biggest FEAR is that my wife will sell my fishing gear for what I said I paid for it.........

Hi Neil, My mate has a basic monochrome sounder so i cant say if there was bait around at harries.
    We were mainly looking for good structure.
    Of the 6 boats that were there anchored before sunrise i didn't see any fish come on board.
    Cheers Brent

Fished Mud on a mates boat today

No keepers, I was using plastics only for the first time with 10lb braid (a first for me) bought a cheep combo from BFC on Friday and loaded it with 10 lb Fireline

I lost something BIG on the new rod & reel combo (and Nuke Chook) due to a soft drag and the mono leader breaking

Hey Brent, nice photos mate. We did Green and St Helena for a 63cm flatty and some legal fish that were returned in great health. Mike also got a nice squid on a placcy.

gday guys, i think i have fished harries and is surrounds about 4 time in the last couple of months, with placcies and bait. however we have pulled in 2 keepers in a total of 4 trips, that was a sweetlip and a mackeral. i just think the bay is totally dead. normally i would get a ray or something like that at harries at least but nothing. is everyone else having the same problems