Thread: NPD Donut

NPD Donut

Hope this one wont last long on the front page, but to ensure the good, the bad and the ugly trips are posted, here goes.
    Headed out to THE spot at NPD yesterday arvo for a flick, bashed thru the scub, popped out 15 minutes later and whoa and behold someone else is fishing there.
    Turns out its Michael (LGM), so a quick intro and we started off fishing, bit of breeze blowing into our faces, but still looked OK.
    Well, to cut a long story short, I donuted, I threw everything I had in the backpack, slugs, spinnerbaits, SP's, soft crankbaits for nada, zilch, nothing. The only fish I saw was a palm sized Tilapia dead in one of the little crossings, and LGM told me of one he scooped up by hand in the shallows and flicked up on the bank for the foxs to deal with.
    In the end I left Michael to it and retreated back to the car with tail between legs, beaten this time, but not defeated.
    How did you end up mate, I think you werent far behind me??

brian

Re: NPD Donut

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    Hope this one wont last long on the front page, but to ensure the good, the bad and the ugly trips are posted, here goes.
    Headed out to THE spot at NPD yesterday arvo for a flick, bashed thru the scub, popped out 15 minutes later and whoa and behold someone else is fishing there.
    Turns out its Michael (LGM), so a quick intro and we started off fishing, bit of breeze blowing into our faces, but still looked OK.
    Well, to cut a long story short, I donuted, I threw everything I had in the backpack, slugs, spinnerbaits, SP's, soft crankbaits for nada, zilch, nothing. The only fish I saw was a palm sized Tilapia dead in one of the little crossings, and LGM told me of one he scooped up by hand in the shallows and flicked up on the bank for the foxs to deal with.
    In the end I left Michael to it and retreated back to the car with tail between legs, beaten this time, but not defeated.
    How did you end up mate, I think you werent far behind me??

brian
    get those donuts out ya systemnow brian dont wont them for mondy in sept if it makes ya feel better i have had 2 donuts latey one chasing flathead in 25knot sw winds just so i could get the boat on the water and on chasing bas at lake mac thats ok uck got to turn around sooner then later .

cheers mate, havent tasted the bitter sweet donut for a while now, so spose one was due, but like I said, beaten but not defeated lol
    brian

Hey Brian ...... Fishing Doughnuts are inevitable ( like death & taxes) When its landbased ...... even more so because of the lack of options!

As we know there is always next time ....... & the doughnut is forgotten!

BR65 - that's why I always pack a flask of cofee, makes the donut taste better on the way home ;-)
    Seriously, I have been to the NPD and drunk coffee on the way home plenty a times, you just gotta keep reading LGM's posts and eventually you'll pick up some of Yoda's tricks....
    But having said that, after living in the ratbox that is known as London for 8 years, I could quite happily spend hours up at NPD with no fish, it's just too beautiful for words...
    Jimbo
    P.S. BR65, you heading to Wivenhoe for the Kayak convention?

Geez--------- Brian! What happened?

You must have left your mojo at Monduran last week mate.

Never mind, it happenes to us all, anyway, better to donut at NPD than Mondy mate, can't beat those Pink Eyed Leaping Bass.

John.

Just goes to show that you're human after all, Brian (not that there was any doubt!!)

Pink Eyed Leaping Bass?
    Sounds like sonething you'd find in a pair of French knickers.... Pink Eyed Leaping Bass? Is that another name for our Barra? (Like lizards are called Largemouth Brown Bass).
    roflmao @ work...
    Jimbo

That's it Jimbo.

Some do call Barra, Pink Eyed Leaping Bass, fit's very nicely.

John.

Man I hate donuts, new report comeing up

brian

G'day Brian....sorry for the late reply. I got snagged just after you left and lost a slug and that sealed the deal.
    I fished the next day with Caleb and we got two fish at 11:00. on 25gm slugs cast out a long long way at the black pipe.
    Nice to meet you.