Thread: Frazer Island Help

Frazer Island Help

Anyone out there can help i have spent most of my time fishing in the Territory and now find my self in Mackay and very keen to get to Frazer for a week and need some local knowledge iam thinking november in a house at orchid beach is this a good time i have a very well kitted out cruiser and i intend to fish from the beach is this a good time or not and is orchid beach the way to go and input would be great.
    many thanks Kev.

Re: Frazer Island Help

Can you fit me in your suit case????

Hey Kev,
    Better make that a BIB suitcase.....I'm in with Madman too!!!!
    Mate I haven't been to the Island for a couple of years now but for me I think that accommodation may be a little cheaper and definately more accessible towards the bottom end of the island. Places like Dilli Village, Eurong or Happy Valley may be better for you. The reason being is that you will have to drive past these spots to get to Orchid Beach and most probably pass some excellent fishing gutters on the way. As for fishing around November you might be lucky to pick up a few late tailor but more thasn likely bream, dart, whiting and flatties would be your main targets. Hope this helps.

Shane

Smile Re: Frazer Island Help

Hi Aqua Rat,

I have been going up to fraser for 20+ yrs and the tailor is still around but not in the numbers they are early in the season. Depending on your budget there are some good places to stay at orchid beach - well anywhere from dilli village in fact.

If you are after the tailor specifically - just south of indian head generally has a good stretch of gutter that fishes well. Generally we have found the best time to get the better quality fish is either just at dawn or quite late in the arvo.

Pilchards or some of SLiders magic lures work really well.

Justin

Thanks Justin as that is the sort of infomation iam looking does anyone know about reef fish from the rocks all whiting from the beach is any good around indian head area.

Hi Kev
    Accommodation at Orchid Beach is covered mainly by two agents...orchidbeachrentals.com .ph 41279220 and fraserislandrentals.com .Ken and Kay Boughton ph 41279266. Check out the websites you might see what you are looking for there. Prices depend on Tailor season and school holidays... FISHING...still a few tailor about in November (Waddy pt north to Ngkala rocks). Should be some tailor south to Maheno wreck. Whiting,dart,bream and flatties should be in most gutters from one end of Fraser to the other. You're not likely to get reef species off the rocks ,usually too much sand around and very little structure. Hope this helps.

PS Hows your bait gathering skills?....not cheap on the island

rusco

I see Ken and Kay have moved to Buderim recently Rusco - don't think doing the rental thing any longer.

Kev, I would suggest that Eurong/Happy Valley would be the most likely section of the island to hold tailor for a couple of reasons. Firstly, there is no chance of netting destroying all prospects as there is from Indian Head north - Sandy Cape will be netted approx once every 2 weeks from now til xmas and from I.H. north shuts down for a week or so after each haul. Secondly, the tailor are beginning to migrate south in Nov and you're more likely to have schools north of you heading south, than you would have at the northern end of the island.

Southward migrating tailor feed aggressively and quickly retrieved slugs are the go. Any submerged rocks in decent gutters such as exist around Happy Valley to south of Poyungan Rocks work well up to December. Trevally also love the slugs and will be around this area in Nov. Jew around Poyungan are def worth chasing.

You also have good access to the lakes and rainforests if staying at Eurong or Happy Valley, that are a long haul from Orchid.

There is potential for spaniards, spotties, queenies and gts from Waddy north, (on slugs) but you have to be johny on the spot with the windows of opportunity that are narrow between netting hauls.

For the first summer since 2000, Fraser should be weed free. I'll be playing around Eurong for a week or so in October and will most likely do a report on my return.

Lindsay

HI slider....I stand corrected but only received correspondence from them 4 days ago....same address,same phone number
    rusco

Sounds like they're managing things from Buderim Rusco - beauty of the internet.
    Good people and very reliable.

[
    For the first summer since 2000, Fraser should be weed free. I'll be playing around Eurong for a week or so in October and will most likely do a report on my return.

Lindsay[/quote]

Just curious Lindsay. On what do base this no weed forecast.?
    I certainly hope you're right as it has plagued us now for years
    and ruined too many trips.

By the way. An Orchid Beach resident has told me that the best tailor fishing he has ever done Fraser was on Boxing Day while fishing on Waddy Point.
    So perhaps the tailor do hang around a little longer than we have been lead to believe and that they're not all gone in early summer.

Hi Slider,

I was under the impression ( and probably wrong ) that Tailor netting on Fraser Island has been banned. ???

Permitted fish Net type Net size Area Miscellaneous
    K1

Any fish except
    barramundi, coral
    reef fin fish or spotted
    mackerel (primarily
    mullet and tailor are
    taken)

Seine Maximum 500 m in
    length
    Mesh size at least
    12 mm and must
    not be greater than
    70 mm
    Drop of at least 150
    meshes for at least
    half of the length

Queensland – New South
    Wales border to southern tip
    of SouthStradbrokeIsland

Fish may only
    be taken from
    1 April to
    31 August

Restrictions on
    crew numbers

Fishing priority
    Arrangements

K2 Southern tip of South
    StradbrokeIsland to the
    northern tip of South
    StradbrokeIsland

K3 Southern tip of North
    StradbrokeIsland to the
    northern tip of North
    StradbrokeIsland

K4 Southern tip of Moreton
    Island to Comboyuro Point

K5 South Esplanade on Bribie
    Island to the northern tip of
    BribieIsland

K6 KingsBeach at Caloundra
    to Point Cartwright at
    Mooloolaba

K7 Point Cartwright at
    Mooloolaba to Noosa Heads

K8 Noosa Heads to Breaksea
    Spit

I know they are still supposed to be allowed to net Mullet. ?

I might have to look further int this, but the above information from the DPI&F suggest no netting there ?

Found it:-

States that basically ALL Fraser Island is closed ALL year to Commercial netting for Tailor.

:- http://www2.dpi.qld.gov.au/extra/pdf...tt/FCW-306.pdf

Well guys, I just wrote a long winded reply to Raddishs' and Phils questions only to lose the lot because the administartor wanted me to view a thread I didn't want to view - then. Thanks heaps!! Would prefer to choose which threads I view rather than be forced.

I may get a chance later to rewrite it.

Hi Kev

Ken and Kay Boughton are still trading on the island. Give them a call on the phone number in my first reply. They can still help
    rusco

September is the time for big hungry roed up summer whiting on the building tides to the moon. Any deep gutters around Orchid or Sand Cape should produce.

Muddy