Urgent fishermen help needed for baby whale Sydney
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Urgent fishermen help needed for baby whale Sydney

Urgent fishermen help needed for baby whale Sydney

On the Today show this Wednesday morning, just now 8.00am, they are asking for any fishermen, who may be offshore near Sydney and I presume a little wider, to contact them immediately if they are near to a pod of whales. They would like the location etc. to attempt to have them adopt the lost baby whale named Colin.

Is your hubby/mate out fishing? Can you contact him by phone or radio and ask him to look out for whales?

Please if you can help, contact the Today Show 02 9958 2899 or the National Parks and
    Wildlife Service. Head Office: 02 9995 5000

Let's do our best to save this baby whale lost in Pittwater, trying to find milk from a small yacht. The poor thing. It is now life or death for him.

Last edited by Blackjenny; 20-08-2008 at 08:25 AM. Reason: improved title
    Blackjenny

"Summer breeze, makes me feel fine..."

Re: Urgent fishermen help needed for baby whale Sydney

Hi Jenny,
    This baby whale has attatched itself to a white yacht and should follow it so why don't they sail slowly out through the heads with it and perhaps it will pick up the whales by itself through sounds. Probably better to sail than motor as the engine vibration may interfere with the whale interaction.
    Jimbo99

not a bad idea Jimbo...but wouldnt the wee one be "imprinted" on the white yacht???...get out in the deep blue...find a pod of whales...stay for a while...turn to leave and have the baby follow the craft back in???...do whales even adopt orphans???

(Mrs Benno1)

Sorry Blackjenny, based in Brisbane but I applaude your proactiveness - well done.

Hi Jimbo, Mrs Benno and black_sheep. Thanks for your input. As far as I know they are trying to contact overseas experts for information on what to do about poor Colin, the baby humpback.

Apparently they don't really know the makeup of humpback whale milk, and don't want to give him the wrong formula from a bottle even if he would take it. I just hope, like thousands of other people, that they act before it's too late.

It was suggested that seeing how the Japanese have done so much 'research' into whales, that they should be able to provide the info needed. Yea right.
    Blackjenny

i hate to say it but the poor thing may die...they need between 50 and 100litres of milk PER DAY at that age to help with growth spurts and to give them strength...if they dont find either the calfs mother or a viable solution...RIP Colin...sad but true...

i recon the only help the Japanese whaling *ahem* research community would be able to provide is a shmicko sushi recipe..."Colin ala wasabi"

(Mrs Benno1)

Its mother most likely rejected it cos it is sick...any other whale might do the same. I hate to say it, but it doesnt look good for Colin. I cant see another whale adopting it. Where are we gonna get 100lts of whale milk per day to feed it? Dr Karl wants to give it a go, good on him, but whos in charge of the activities? Harbours and Marine, so its their call.

How do we do a blood test and find out whats wrong with it? How do we treat the sickness?

They did get a yacht outside yesterday, and the whale followed the yacht out, but came back inside the heads overnight.

Theres many species where the mother rejects the young. Its time our parents explained this to kids.

Ausfish Platinum Member honda900's Avatar

I think yesterday they had already tried to get it to follow the yatcht, which it did for a while then turned back into the harbour.

Apparrently the calf may have confused the yatcht for its mother and thats how it may have been separated in the first place.

Not looking good for it though..

HOnda

I was wondering why the Yacht was not towed 2km out to seah and anchored. I am a little surprised the sharks have not had a go at it already.
    Nature is as nature does, good human interest story though, possibly on the quiet the authority knows the sensible score and is not going to waste resources on the whale - same reasoning if it was a baby bovine??

I'm actually very surprised that the powers to be haven't tried to FEED it.

Last I heard "Youth-In-Asia" was being discussed {not the olympics}. Why not give the little blighter some tucker, or is that too easy?

Quote Originally Posted by FNQCairns View Post
    possibly on the quiet the authority knows the sensible score and is not going to waste resources on the whale.

I'd say that's on the money.

But they have had success feeding a baby whale in California - don't remember where I read it, and don't know how long it survived. And, while it is "just an animal" I think it's for the greater good to try - people need this stuff, it gives them hope!

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

I reckon that that whale is dead meat with no mother, so they might as well give it a gutful of milk and see what happens. Worst that could happen is the most likely end result if nothing is done anyhow. Perhaps the boffins may learn something new? Most other mammal type critters get along with cow's milk alright, and it is a mammal after all.

It will ultimately be up to the experts to decide upon Colin's fate. There are so many opinions flying about I hope Colin doesn't choke on red tape.

I am in the camp that believes it is worth a try to feed him some milk from a teat like the Pittwater man, John Fairfax, has thoughtfully created. If that and all other attempts fail and the whale is in pain, then of course euthanasia is indicated. But let's have a go first!

Anyway, back to the original post, let the authorities know if you locate a pod of whales in the region of Sydney and wider whilst you are out fishing.

Today they are talking about bringing in the Armed Forces to tow him out to sea, where he may be picked up ... or he may not.
    Blackjenny

Ausfish Platinum Member boatboy50's Avatar

Guys,

I heard there were people swimming with it and it's mother offshore off Bondi over the weekend.

The mum got spooked by the people and did a runner. The bub had no idea what was going on.

Sad story, and the people should be prosecuted if it is true. We can't eve get our boats within 200 metres, how could they get so close to swim with them.

Don't want to be mean to Colin but this may be an opportunity to exchange scientific research (cough) which has been done by the Japanese for centuries. Surely worldwide leaders could all come together and ask the Japanese research team...... what is making Colin crook???

Or

This could be an opportunity to invite the whale research team over for a bbq lunch ? and exchange scientific research first hand. I can see it now...... There is Kev in a suit with a coldy, chatting about world events etc. nothing to indepth of course, it is a bbq afterall.

Kev asks ok where is lunch, I'm starved, I can eat a horse and chase the jockey.
    what no snags, ya gotta be kidding me? ok ok then bring on Colin I guess. Now guys do you wasabi with him or on the side. The salad is over there. Now it's Kevs big chance to keep the luncheon light hearted with conversation about the footy etc or what is tastier rump or flipper?.......................................... ............

Bugger, Colin was going to bridge the cultural gap between all of us and the research team, no wonder Ramsay is in the kitchen going off his head.....bollocks................. er how does the rest of it go..............

cheers Garry
    Cheers Garry

A bad day fishing, beats a good day at work!!!!!!!!!!!!!