best rod for sp's out wide

Thread: best rod for sp's out wide

Ausfish Platinum Member tenzing's Avatar

best rod for sp's out wide

just had my first trip to wide caloundra on wednesday. beautiful day on the water. My son tried to convince me to go over to the dark side by lifting some pearlies, cod and snapper all on plastic with 1.5 oz tt jigheads. He used my 4 to 6 kg spin stick but it seemed way too soft for the job. We were in about 70m and 1 or 1.5 oz seemed about right . What would be a decent rod to impart a good action on the placcies with this sized jig.
    ps. blue pepper neon and cajun chicken shared the honours, didnt even get the nuclear chooks out. One decent pearlie on the pillies , looks like this plastic stuff might be worth a go after all.

Thanks, Brendan

Re: best rod for sp's out wide

mate good to see your on the placcies i would think a 4-6 kg 7 foot graphite outfit to be more than enough combined with a 2500-4000 size real loaded up with 4-5kg braid will handle some pretty decent fish....i guess thats what plastics are more about a bit more finesse

cheers leigh

your mind is like a parachute, it only works when its open

G'day Brendan, you cant go past an egrell s10 for that purpose - streets ahead of anything else I've seen - if you decide to go that way, you won't be disappointed

rhys

In that depth of water and using those weights, the S10 is king. I think for a few less dollars you could try a Nitro,

Thanks fellas for the replies. I can see a common theme appearing. I will certainly check out the S 10. I was using a symmetre 4000 with about 15lb braid.
    Anybody able to tell me a good stockist for the rods on the northside?
    Thanks, Brendan

Check out Anthony at Crew Marine Redcliffe, they are Grell stockists and look after ausfishers with a handy discount - just let him know you're on here you'll be cool.

Sounds like the right match for reel size too - you might want to step up the braid to 20lb with the s10 (s-spin 10=10kg), I'm running 30lb over mine as do a lot of others I know, but if 15 lb is your preferred choice, check out the s8 (spin 8kg) as well. Talk to Ant, he's good value and will point you in the right direction, not just to sell you up

Quote Originally Posted by revs57 View Post
    Check out Anthony at Crew Marine Redcliffe, they are Grell stockists and look after ausfishers with a handy discount - just let him know you're on here you'll be cool.

Sounds like the right match for reel size too - you might want to step up the braid to 20lb with the s10 (s-spin 10=10kg), I'm running 30lb over mine as do a lot of others I know, but if 15 lb is your preferred choice, check out the s8 (spin 8kg) as well. Talk to Ant, he's good value and will point you in the right direction, not just to sell you up

Thanks Rhys.
    Very comprehensive reply and great advice. Just what I wanted to know.
    Thanks again, Brendan

Quote Originally Posted by revs57 View Post

Rhys, I took your advice and went today and spoke to Ant. He certainly gave me plenty of time and advice. He showed me a new high modudlus job from pflueger as he didnt have the S10 at the moment but we are going to look at them side by side when the Egrell comes in. I am thinking of the daiwa sol 4000 with some 20 lb braid to go with it .
    Thanks once more , Brendan

Ps ther certainly was some "consideration" shown because of the ausfish membership, and Ant had already seen the post this am too! _ Thanks Anthony

Ausfish Platinum Member Leighton's Avatar

an S10 with a 4000 Sol
    you could pull a Sailor off your sister with that combo
    IMO you will need to step up to at least 20lbs line.
    You should fit a full 300m spool on a 4000 Sol, beauty of the S10 as it will double up as an awesome Tuna chasing stick

Quote Originally Posted by Leighton View Post
    an S10 with a 4000 Sol
    you could pull a Sailor off your sister with that combo
    IMO you will need to step up to at least 20lbs line.
    You should fit a full 300m spool on a 4000 Sol, beauty of the S10 as it will double up as an awesome Tuna chasing stick
    Thanks Leighton, but you obviously haven't met my sister!
    Brendan

The Pflueger is a ripper. I have been using one with a Diawa Certate 4000 with 30lb braid and it's been kicking ass in anything from 25m to 80m or water. My friend also has a Egrell S10 and it's also fantastic, just double the price.

What is the model of the Pflueger. Im after something a wee bit less expensive than a S10 as I will not use it on a regular basis

[quote=Goldfinch;882135]The Pflueger is a ripper. I have been using one with a Diawa Certate 4000 with 30lb braid and it's been kicking ass in anything from 25m to 80m or water. My friend also has a Egrell S10 and it's also fantastic, just double the price.[/quote

The prices they quoted me were different for the two rods but not wildly. certainly not double. the high end fuji guides on the pflueger were also a plus.
    Brendan

Ausfish Platinum Member TheSaint's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by tenzing View Post

The prices they quoted me were different for the two rods but not wildly. certainly not double. the high end fuji guides on the pflueger were also a plus.
    Brendan

How much do the Egrell S10's go for?

Ausfish Platinum Member Leighton's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by TheSaint View Post
    How much do the Egrell S10's go for?
    RRP around $460