does water police have authority to inspect fish? - Page 3
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: does water police have authority to inspect fish?

Re: does water police have authority to inspect fish?

Quote Originally Posted by whitingkiller View Post
    you sound like you are a "boy in blue" aussiebasser??

i don't know of anyone that LIKES being pulled over by any authority as you never know if they will issue you with a fine for something minor or if they are having a bad day and you are the unlucky recipient.

Mate, take a break on the attitude

I reckon the more enforcement there is the better. If the rules and regulatons that are in place now are not enforced effectively then people will think they can safetly run the gauntlet for undersize or shamatuer catches. This will lead to tighter restrictions ahgain flaunted by the minority of wrong doers.
    I have found the inspections to be quick and friendly in most cases. If you are caught out then its your own fault. Check your gear and you should be right when they drop in for a visit

What about GBRMPA those guys, was pproahed by them on the weeknd they asked about our know went ledge of zones etc... I told them I had charts and stuff, they then approached another boat that was pretty much fishing in a green zone and gave them this waterproof zoning map...! do they have any powers ?

"There is certainly something in fishing that tends to produce a gentleness of spirit, a pure serenity of mind."

you sound like you are a "boy in blue" aussiebasser??

i don't know of anyone that LIKES being pulled over by any authority as you never know if they will issue you with a fine for something minor or if they are having a bad day and you are the unlucky recipient.
    Not a boy in blue, far from it. I've been booked for speeding both in my car and in my boat. Yep, I was speeding and I knew the consequences. I paid the fines and took the lectures that were due to me. The guys are doing a job and I can see no valid reason for having a shot at them for doing it. The more catches they inspect, the more miscreants they'll find. Why not make the experience as pleasant as possible and get back to fishing.

Sorry whitingkiller, but I'm getting the same messge/attitude from you as Neil (horse).

Can't see a problem with anybody being thorough in their job. I happen to know a fisheries officer in the Gladstone area. If he wanted to measure every fish I had on my boat, I would be more than happy for him to do so & I wouldn't be offended.

I am 100% certain if he ever pulled me over on the water, I would be treated the same as everyone else.

As it turned out, I was checked by one of his co workers on my last visit up there, I was so nervous it took me 10 minutes to find my boat license LOL.

I understand you might feel a bit put out, but they are just doing their job.

r.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

Quote Originally Posted by roz View Post
    Sorry whitingkiller, but I'm getting the same messge/attitude from you as Neil (horse).

Can't see a problem with anybody being thorough in their job. I happen to know a fisheries officer in the Gladstone area. If he wanted to measure every fish I had on my boat, I would be more than happy for him to do so & I wouldn't be offended.

I am 100% certain if he ever pulled me over on the water, I would be treated the same as everyone else.

As it turned out, I was checked by one of his co workers on my last visit up there, I was so nervous it took me 10 minutes to find my boat license LOL.

I understand you might feel a bit put out, but they are just doing their job.

r.
    Roz, '10 mins to find your boat license'? Did the Qld guy ask you to show a boat license? Is that because your boat is registered in NSW? I think the only way to get a copy of a Qld recreational boat license is under the new system where it's now shown on your drivers license at renewal time. cheers, Mark

aussiebasser,

i wanted to give him "a gob full" because i didn't see it necessary for him to measure ALL of my 30 fish that where in the esky..

surely he could have seen the quality that i had and i would have been happy if he wanted to measure a few fish at random..

most of the fish where: bream over 27cm...whiting over 27cm...flathead over 50cm...tailor over 40 cm.....so u can see the fish where not "close" to the minimal legal size....

think it was overkill and he seemed a bit annoyed at the end that he didn't find one undersize (funny that!)
    maybe they checked all your fish hoping to get one undersized one because he thought 30 fish was excessive ,i know i do (sorry)...bob

i hate when people copperbash,then when something goes missing, or a jet skier goes too close to you ,or a frantic wife worried that her husband is overdue,no copperbashing then, these poor blokes have to find the drowned toddler,tell the parents,pull half eaten shark victims out of the water ,rotten floaters,suicide jumpers, etc...........give them a break

Of course the low life, undersized, fish taking scum would have their legal fish on the top and the undersized ones on the bottom of the esky now wouldnt they.

I had a chat with a motorbike copper down the wello point ramp this afternoon.......no third degree, but you could see he was having a look at the rig.... and anything else going on.......I don't think he had his nickometer turned up high...... but he said that they always have a look around if they're in the area, just in case someone is doing something silly or blaitant.......Basicaly applying repellant

I note that he didn't come over to me till the boat was straped on, lights & plate mounted and looking like ready to go.........I don't think he would have beeen at all interested in my catch, but you can bet your boots he would have had a closer look if my trailer or vehicle looked dodgy.........I can guarantee he would have had a breathaliser on him somewhere.

Ausfish Gold Member

Quote Originally Posted by Local_Guy View Post
    oldboot you will find that the police have had power to fine people speeding on the brisbane airport road for quite some time... i have seen bikie cops there many times. FYI always after it drops from 80 - 60km'h heading into the domestic

as for police handing out fines for undersize fish. i would think the police inspecting your catch are water police and would have a very good understanding of what you can/can't have, limits and sizes.

but hey, if you've got nothing to hide, then you've got nothing to fear.
    and on the left hand side outbound hiding in the bushes (past the last roundabout)

I missed the local guy post the first time arround.
    The QLD police most certainly do have powers on airport land these days and have done for many years but that was not the case up until some time in the late eighties early nineties, from my understanding.

The point I was making about water police is that most of the size and bag limits are easy enough to ajudicate but some of the close spicies could be beyond their expertiese.

Afterall an undersized crab is easy enough to spot.

Any way I think all the various authorities have been given the mail on being out there and being visible in relation to various boating & fishing matters in the last year or so after a couple of nasty incidents.

some here have been brainwashed into accepting the police state. so affected are they, that they are now encouraging it!!!!!!

take a video camera with you and film the lot. you got rights. make sure they know it.

Spinner mate you wounldn't know a police state if it bit you on the @R$#.

Make that sort of comment arround people who have lived under surpression and you will most likely get more than an ear full.

Spend some time in northern eurpoe, china or the US ( especialy as a negro) and it will give you a better appreciation of our local laws and officials.

If you have a problem with the coppers perhaps you need to ammend your attitude.

no. no problem. you seem to have a vested interest......cops harrasing fishermen...who ever heard of such crap!!???

i still say TAKE A HANDY CAM, and use it......we all know power goes to some peoples heads. be they cops or anyone else....

no. no problem. you seem to have a vested interest......cops harrasing fishermen...who ever heard of such crap!!???

i still say TAKE A HANDY CAM, and use it......we all know power goes to some peoples heads. be they cops or anyone else....
    I hear what you're saying mate we've all had run ins with traffic cops. But if this was a police state, the moment you produced a camera you'd be thrown overboard, closely followed by your camera.
    There are different types of coppers Traffic, General Duties, and Water police. Water police love boating and fishing, if they didn't wouldn't last long there. They understand where you're coming from, the last thing they're interested in is harassing you.

Camo

Quote Originally Posted by Hornet Rider View Post
    Roz, '10 mins to find your boat license'? Did the Qld guy ask you to show a boat license? Is that because your boat is registered in NSW? I think the only way to get a copy of a Qld recreational boat license is under the new system where it's now shown on your drivers license at renewal time. cheers, Mark

well it felt like ten minutes... lucky for me I had just renewed it, although a tad late due to mail being redirected to my place up there.

I hold a NSW boat license, and at the time i was operating my boat in a 6 knot area, don't think I needed to show a license for that, just boat rego. Still did anyway, doesn't worry me. Also got pulled over for randoms, and the officer asked me if my boat was registered (I was towing boat on the trailer at the time)... well as far as I know, only the trailer had to be registered as I was on the highway when I was waved over, and not the water, so why go and point that out to him??? The point is, why get huffy for something really minor like that.

I would like to see more police and fisheries officers on the job. It's only the idiots that need to worry.

r.
    Last edited by roz; 24-08-2008 at 05:05 PM.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!