Thread: Fisheries.

Re: Fisheries.

I come across 2 fisheries blokes today at mulwala. i had retrieved my boat and they pulled their boat next to mine in the parking area.

tried my best to strike up a conversation with them.
    It was like trying to extract blood from a stone, i think they do a important job and wish i was one sometimes when i see ol blokes with a boat full of cod.

gee it's not hard to say gidday and be civil i reckon.

It was abit dissapointing

deano

I'm wondering how long it will be before us fishos will need to have a video camera rolling for all chance encounters with anybody just to prove we are in the right and not being justly treated.

It sounds like fisheries are not recruiting very well .
    My dealings with fisheries to date have been quite polite & cordial ......... with a boarding at sea once which I would describe as efficient!.

Regardless ....... These guys should observe common courtesy / decency! ..... After all their job is part PR

Nagg

Slyman, they didnt board my boat, but did go poking around a canvas bag that had my drag net in and a few other things. Just really dissapointing to see there arrogance and damn right rudeness. When i first saw them and realised they were fsiheries, i thought great, they should be good for a mag and a bit of a fishing report, mate, how far from the mark was i.
    Jewie

Yeah you'd think that because they have to deal with the public on a daily basis, that there would be a little bit of politeness and courtesy, how hard is to say "g'day mate I'm from the fisheries patrol, do you mind if I have a bit of a look around"?

Infact, the couple of times I've had contact with them, they have been quite polite and asked how the fishing was going, how our day was going, what sort of fish do you catch here, they've even asked about plastics and if they work before they even broached the subject of having a look in the esky.

Just because they are the authority, doesn't mean they have to display that cold hard face of authority. They'll get a lot more respect from everyone if they can converse and relate on a level that treats everyone as an equal, they can go the cold hard face of authority when the situation requires it, not all the time.

After hearing some negative stories about them, I think some of them may need to brush up on their public relations.
    simon

The ocean is the ultimate solution - Frank Zappa

http://s428.photobucket.com/albums/qq9/slyman71/

Quote Originally Posted by JEWIENEWIE View Post
    Just thought i would share an experience with you. Over the years i have read many threads and posts regarding the way fisheries have dealt with them and i have steerd clear as i have never rerally been approached by them till now.
    I have just returned from a camping fishin stint from agnes way an had my first real dealuing with them.
    I was up at camp, organising the truck, and saw two quads coming up the beach which is real strange as you rarly get people coming up where i camp. They came straight up to my camp ond with no hello how are you mate whats happening proceede to walk straight over to my boat which was on its trailer.
    I was no more than 10m from them and they proceeded to start poking around the insode of my boat, again not a word said to myself at all.
    I pproached the two fisheries officers and said hello, beautiful day, what can i help you with. Again not even a hello, i thought well this is going well. My thought shifted to ausfish threads and thought why in the hell these guys are being so arrogant. The sun is shining, crystal clear water and they are cruising around the beach on quads, not a bad day at the office i would of thought.
    Now, i am not to keen on complete strangers going through my gear so i a little more sternly asked if i could help them with something. There response was to hassle me about my boat rego.
    I had an old rego sticker on her, and not the new one as my business pays the bills, through my bookeeper, ande i had not grabbed the sticker to put in the boat before i left. The lecture went on and on about it with attitude, Then he says something like he cant fine me because it is on the trailer and not on the water and that is the water poiice job anyway!
    Then he spys my nsw rego plates, sees my drag net then proceeds to tell me that it is illegal in nsw to have, and even to buy, where did i get it from in nsw!
    By this time i was getting sick of the attitude i was recieving and said, "no shit mate, thats why i couldnt find one and had to get one in qld"
    With that they both got on there quads and left. Not even a goodbye.
    They may have had relevant issues with me, thats not my gripe, my gripe is the bloody attitude they served up to me.
    No wonder they are getting a bad name with some people.
    Jewie
    Hello Jewie.

Sorry to hear you had unfriendly encounter and you should report these cowboys

The District Manager for your area (Bob Grimsley) - (unless he is retired) based in Cairns should be contacted . Write down the times, dates and what took place, as Freeeedom said, they should have introduced themselves in a professional manner, these are suppose to be the representatives of the agency. I should know, I undertook two days training, never got the job, 20 people for 2 jobs in Qld, even had a Federal Copper from Canberra applying, she hates the cold and wants to come back home to the Sunshine coast.

I'm not a fisheries officer just a researcher and a keen angler myself.

Sorry to hear about your experiance mate. i,ve been checked a few times and never had a problem on the water, but i would have a very serious problem with them if somebody started nosing around in my boat without properly identifying themselves....... thems fightin words varmint..... cheers ,roy.

Sorry to hear of your encounter, JN.
    Lack of professionalism, at the least, IMHO.
    My only experience with Fisheries was on the Bellinger year before last.
    Two young fellas in their twenties, they were absolute gems, cheerful, friendly and polite.
    Hopefully the cowboys you met are the exception rather than the rule.

After having a chat to a local who came up for a fish, i told him of my encouter. He decriribed the main guy doing all the talking to a tee and said that there are a few people in Bundy who would like to see him on crutches so i guess he wasnt having a bad day just a comlpete idiot who lacks the skills of common courtesy!
    The things that pisses me off is taht now when i see a fisheries officer, my past encouter may jade with how i deal with them.
    Jewie