Thread: Any Moreton Reports

Any Moreton Reports

Just got back to Brissie after 3 years away and chompen at the bit to get over to Moreton. Organising a trip now to get over there later this week but don't know what the fishing has been like. Planning to camp on the surf side and chase some Tailer and anything else that bites in the night.

Any help on whats been biting and where would be great.

Re: Any Moreton Reports

Mate.

Came back on wednesday after 6 days camped on the surf beach at Moreton.

Havent done a report because there was buggerall to tell.

16 tailor, 2 dart, 1 whiting caught between 11 blokes in that 6 days.
    All the tailor were caught on sunday arvo.
    Beautiful gutters all the way from the cape to below camel rock. Nothin in them.

A lot of dolphins in the breaks and it looked like they were chasing and breaking up the schools so that very few made it to the gutters.
    glorious conditions but maybe the water was too clear?

Maybe next year.

Hope you have better luck than us.

Rod.
    My dictionary defines green as ‘unripe, immature, undeveloped'. Perfect description.

Most political parties are seen as interested in what the voters think, the Greens are seen as thinking the community should be interested in what they think.

Thanks for letting me know the latest.

Hope there will be a few biting this week as it will be my only chance to get over there before I am off overseas again.

why dont you try off the rocks at the cape.
    even if you dont catch heaps you will still have a ball. i think moreton is one of the best places in the world.
    boat minder- only $40 a day

I plan to give the rocks a try. I like the fact that you don't know what you might get on any given day. Where is the best place to park your fourby to get to the rocks on the Eastern side. I have forgotten the name of the spot, I think it was Harpers rock.

I have been working and travelling the world for 3 yrs and Moreton Island is still my favourite place in the world.

Just got back from 5 days on Moreton but only fished the first couple of days. Got a few thumper tarwhine and quite a few decent dart but no tailor (didn't try all that hard though). One of our crew got some more fishing in but didn't get much of anything on the weekend.
    Only report of tailor was that there were a few (just a few, not many) off the rocks at north point.

The best place to park your fourby is at the base of the dunes near harpers rock. There is a 4wd track taht comes out right at the base of the rock, so make sure you are clear of that. It is a 10 minute walk to the rocks, when you go up and around the cliff face. it can get bloody slippery- I cam a big buster there last year. I ahve seen a couple of lads at low tide walk around the base of the rocks to the fishing ledge, I gaveit a go but the current was really ripping through there. It was a bit dangerous.

Harpers Rock is one of my favourite fishing spots- a mate and i caught 20 tailor in 30 minutes there one year. Hottest fishing I have ever experienced!

Best of Luck

We got 5 in 4 days.....I thought we did really bad until i spoke to some of the guys on the beach, they were impressed...it was tough going this year...the worst in 20 years. I got one good greenback though....