Stacer Proline 3.99

Thread: Stacer Proline 3.99

Stacer Proline 3.99

Anyone own or familiar with this boat. I have not seen one in the flesh, but based on specs, it is on my short list as a new roof topper.

It's big and heavy for a roof topper, but the canopy roof on my LC 79 Series ute can handle 200KG.

I'm looking for something with plenty of room as we (wife and I) often spend 8 hours in the boat on a days fishinig. We regularly ( last year, this year and again next year) spend a fair bit of the winter up in the gulf camping and fishing. Need room for all the gear and some room to move and be comfortable.

We currently use a Quintrex 375 Dart with 20 HP Yammy. Great set up, but since the new 4B can carry something a bit bigger (currently have a Hilux, but moving up to 79 Series), I thought we'd take advantage of it. The Quinny is for sale in the 'For Sale' section on Ausfish.

The Proline has a flatter bottom then the Dart, so improved stability at rest and extra space will be offset by a rougher ride in shoppy water. The question is, how rough? Wife is normally up the front so she cops the banging and the water. If I make it too rough for her, I'll never hear the end of it.

Proline is 1.82 wide, .80 deep and weighs 111KG. Don't really want to go any wider or heavier than that.

Most of our fishing is in the estuaries, but some of the rivers are bloody big. If the wind picks up, they can get pretty choppy.

So anyone got some experience to pass on?

The attraction of the Proline is it will take a 30 HP motor. I wouldn't mind putting a 30HP E-Tec on it when they are available later this year. They weigh 68KG, which is pretty good for a 30 HP.

Other options are:
    Quintrex Explorer 3.85. Also a V nosed punt, but with less depth (.72 v .80)and a max motor size is 25HP, but it a bit lighter at 101 KG. Don't know if the reduced depth is from flatter bottom or lower sides.

Deep V options are:
    Dart 3.95. Will take 30 HP, but is the narrowest of those on the short list, so less room and not as stable (but better in chop). Also the lightest at 95 KG.
    Stacer Sea Sprite. Will take 30 HP, is .95 deep (deepest on list) and weighs 109 KG.
    Blue Fin Varmit 3.8, but max motor is 25HP. Otherwise at 1.75 wide, .78 deep and 95 KG, seems a good compromise.

My attraction to the E-Tec is largely driven by fuel efficiency compared to 2 Stroke (4 stroke is out of the question due to weight). With the type of boating we do, the payback on the extra cost over a 2 stroke will be just over 2 years. But as the 25 HP and 30 HP E-Tec weigh the same, I might as well get the extra power of the 30 HP, if the boat can handle it.

If not a 30 HP E-Tec, I'd probably get a Yammy 25 HP 2 stroke and just have to put up with the fuel cost.

Bit of a messy post, but you probably get the drift. Feedback anyone, particularly those with experience with the boats mentioned.

Norm C

Re: Stacer Proline 3.99

Norm, I have a Stacer 400 SF Bass which is a fantastic little boat- very stable and good ride for a boat of it's type.

I think the Proline would be similar, only a stripped down version and not sure if it has the EVO hull? But would think it would be great for what you want it for.

Don't rule out the 4 strokes either mate, most 25-30HP 4s are around 70-75Kg now. Not much diff.

Brendan

It is a pitty that you cant go any wider. Makocraft make a good 3.9 mtr v nose with a 2 mtr beam

Quote Originally Posted by BrenMac View Post

Don't rule out the 4 strokes either mate, most 25-30HP 4s are around 70-75Kg now. Not much diff.
    Brendan, in the 25HP, I agree there is not much difference in weight between the 4 strokes and the e-tec (68 to 72 KG) but a conventional 2 stroke is much lighter at 49 to 52 KG).

At 30 HP though, the 4 strokes get very heavy (most 90 to 100KG), while the e-tec stays the same weight as the 25 HP, so a 20 to 30 KG advantage.

As well as weight, my worry about a 4 stroke is the way I carry it. It will be mounted on a tilting bracket on the draw bar of a caravan. When locked in position it will be lying on its front (prop pointing up). I understand this is a no no with 4 strokes, but OK with 2 strokes.

I'd love a 4 stroke / e-tec for the lower emissions, lower noise and lower fuel consumption. The barriers are method of carry and weight. Price is also important, but I can probably put up with that, with long term pay back on fuel savings.

Norm C

Hi Norm,

Not sure about the way you are transporting the motor being no good for 4 strokes. Plenty, including my mine, are stored tilted right up as high as possible (to keep it out of the water etc) without a problem- dunno, one to check with the manufacturers.

As far as 30Hp 4s being 90-100Kg, what brand are you looking at? Check Merc (even has EFI) and Honda 4 stroke 30s .

Brendan

Brendan,
    You are right on the weights. I had previously only looked at the Yamaha and Suzuki. Recently checked out the Honda, then after your post, the Mercury. Both are lighter and not much different to the E-Tec.

With respect to carrying, you say you carry tilted up as far as it will go. How far is your tilted towards vertical? To carry any other way than almost horizontal (motor end just a little higher), would mean scrapping the current bracket and getting something new built. Not out of the question, but I'd rather avoid it.

At least I now have a couple of 4 strokes in the mix along with the E-Tec for a cleaner more fuel efficient motor - if I can sort out the carrying method without too much difficulty and expense.

Norm C

without trying to get into a what is better than. . . . I kind of lean towards an older style carby stroke, the reasons being, much lighter to lift and fit, easier to "tinker" with if you get a tank of crap fuel, easier in general to fix (or find someone who can fix it) if something craps out, now this is not to say they are better, I don't think they are, just a thought, also see if you can try a Boat that you want on the roof, and just you and your Wife put it on and get it back down again, then carry it a bit, a few extra Kilos makes a hell of a difference when you are moving it about.

I have a proline 399 and love it. For fishing the esturaries and surrounds it suits my style of fishing to a tee! You can get a little wet if the weather chops up a fair bit (like on the broadwater with some big as cruisers!) but otherwise ride is good if you slow the speed down. Btw with a 30hp 2 stroke she flies close 50km/h
    Keep smiling, It makes people wonder what you're up to.

Ausfish Platinum Member scuttlebutt's Avatar

I've got a little Proline 315 that I use as a cartopper for the cape. Great little boat. Stable enough for two blokes to be standing up casting at snags, high sides for such a little boat (much higher than most punts) and rides well too. The 399 should be more than enough boat for what you want.

Norm I just checked out the Quintrex 3.85 Explorer on the net. It comes in at 101kg.

Here's the link: http://www.quintrex.com.au/BoatRange...5Explorer.aspx

[quote=bushbeachboy;882662]Norm I just checked out the Quintrex 3.85 Explorer on the net. It comes in at 101kg.

Thanks BBB. I actually mentioned the Explorer 385 and its weight in my initial post. Seems like a good boat. Two potential issues:
    1. The max motor is 25HP. With a few manufacturers (Honda, Mercury and Evinrude E-Tec) the 30HP weighs the same as the 25HP. I figured on that basis I might as well look to getting a 30 HP and a boat that will take it.

2. It has a pretty flat bottom and relatively low sides. Think it might get a bit bumpy (particularly for wife up front), if the wind and swell come up a bit. But since I have not been in one, I'm not sure how much of a problem this is.

Otherwise, it looks like a great boat.

Norm C

Yeah I missed reading that bit in your original post Norm. I haven't been in one either, but have spoken to several owners when I was living in the Burdekin, who swore by them. They were trailered boats though. 25hp is apparently plenty for them.

Are you sure you want to sell the Dart?

Makocraft also make a dinghy range that have a hull shape they call the edge. It's available in a 4.0 metre.

Here's the link:
    http://www.makocraft.com.au/hddinghy400.htm

BBB, well not entirely convinced on selling the Dart. Main motivations are:
    1. Fuel economy. In the Gulf it is possible to do 100KM in a day on the water and we hope to spend at least 4 months up there next year. I reckon the payback on a 4 stroke / E-Tec is between 2 and 3 years, if we spend a few months up there each year - which we would like to do.
    2. A bit more space. The Dart is great, but we have been known to spend 8 hours in the boat. A bit of extra space would be nice.

So I'll get all the benefits of the 4 stroke / E-Tec (cleaner quieter, etc), plus the benefits of a bigger faster boat, with a break even point of under 3 years. But of course, I'll have a more complex motor. If something goes wrong, I'm unlikely to get it fixed locally in some of the remote areas we like to go.

I've got the Dart advertised at what I think is a fair price. Gets me enough to make a change worth while, if I can sort out what is the best compromise of boat and motor. Also gives someone else a great package at a good price. If it sells, I'll update. If not, I still have a great rig for next years trip.

Re the Mako 400. Looks like a great boat, but the combination of beam (1.85) and depth (1.05 wow that's deep) make it a bit big for roof topping. Not a lot bigger than other options I'm considering, but I have to stop somewhere.

Norm C

Quote Originally Posted by NormC View Post
    With respect to carrying, you say you carry tilted up as far as it will go. How far is your tilted towards vertical? Norm C
    Hi Norm,

Sorry, may have misled- my motor is only stored on a boat lift tilted right up, to keep it out of the water on extreme high tides. For transporting on the trailer, I only tilt the minimum required. ]

I would make a call to some manufacturers and pose the question of pros / cons of transporting at close to horizontal.

Good luck mate.

Brendan