Thread: Attacked by Slimey Mack

Re: Attacked by Slimey Mack

Just put the knife straight through my finger last night while cutting up a frozen mack tuna for bait. got home and scrubbed it with a clean toothbrush and antiseptic paste.

Some nerve damage but tendons still intact, got the tetanus shot and two lots of antibiotics as there was bits of tuna on the knife when it went in and marine bacteria is the good stuff that causes serious infections like the ones mentioned above.

Not too happy about the double dose of antibiotics though as they destroy your beneficial gut bacteria as well.

Didn't even feel it when the knife went in as my finger was a bit numb from holding onto the frozen tuna.

Score : Tuna - 1 : Me - 0
    Check out my boat for sale in the classifieds

• 469 Stacer open Seahorse/Nomad
    • 50hp 4 stroke tiller Mercury
    • Heaps of extras, in top condition
      [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Glad to hear your on the mend. You don't tend to think much of a fish spike after the pain stops. Will be putting a bottle of tea tree in the glove box of the boat this weekend. Thanks for the heads up.
    My aunty works at Robina Hospital, I'll pass on your comments, they often only hear negative feed back.
    Cheers Kim.
    Live your life in such a way that when your feet hit the floor in the morning, Satan shudders and says...
    'Oh Shit.....she's awake'

Sounds like Ausfish could be putting out Ausfish rubber gloves now to go with the shirts ?

I knew about the fish tank scunge, I copped that once and lost a finger nail from some putrid infection, now I wear some cadaver rubber gloves my firey mate gave me.. you can't be too careful ?

Glad to hear you came thru in one piece
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

You gotta love those beneficial gut bacteria. I really miss them.
    I saw the orthopod this afternoon and he is happy although i question the use of "still a bit manky" as genuine medical terminology. A great young man.

I asked about the magic brews and he feels that any of these used as antiseptics immediately after injury can only be positive in helping reduce infection chances.
    No old wives tales.
    Well guys i'm all done and have to wait for skin to form before i can get the old viking out again.
    Life just throws little challenges sometimes.(stuff happens)
    Thanks for the support.
    Seeya out there
    TC

good to see you back in one piece and in good spirits Tsea...appreciate the post...i will be a hell of alot more careful in the future when handling any fish...thankyou

(Mrs Benno1)

heyy

my grandad who is now dead was fishing in wivenhoe dam wen he hooke a fork tailed catfish that they were going to use for red-claw bait and when he was pulling up he dropped the rod back down and gave it one last strong pull upwords and it flew out of the water and its whole back fin stabbed him just a mm below the eye and 10 mins later back on shaw racing to hospital and couldnt go fishing for another 6 weeks wasn't pleasant to be around so thats my story

pat
    Live To Fish, Die To fish

Thats a shocker to the system. I'm a bit anal about the wearing of a fillet glove to even take off a slimy mackerel. Now I feel so much better about it but I will add some of that brew to the boat as an extra precaution.

Good to hear you're alright , TSEA , reckon I just found another thing to add to the first aid box . hmmmm gonna need to get a bigger first aid box , then may need bigger boat to carry said box .

Thanks for the reminder. I'm sorry to hear you had to go through all that. I hope you get better soon.

A while back, my dogs got into a fight and in the process of breaking them up, I got bit on the back of the knee. I washed it out with antibacterial soap and poured hydrogen peroxide over the puncture wounds and thought that should do it....WRONG!!! My leg swelled up like a balloon to the point where I couldn't bend my knee. It was almost a week before it stopped draining gunk. My error was not going to get it treated at the hospital. The washing and peroxide killed the germs at the surface but the wounds were deep and thus so was the infection. Not fun at all.

I'm going to have to try that tea tree oil you guys mentioned. I've never heard of that. As clumsy and careless as I sometimes can be, I need all the help I can get.
    "When we remember we are all mad, the mysteries disappear and life stands explained.-- Mark Twain"