Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Toonumbar Dam

Toonumbar Dam

HI EVERYONE, well im going to try to hit toonumbar within the next few weeks but just asking if any one has fished it lately and what they got and how, any help appreciated....?????? THIS WILL BE MY FOURTH ATTEMPT TO GET TO FISH THIS DAM AS EVERY TIME IVE GONE TO GO ITS EITHER FLOODED OR BEEN PISSING DOWN RAIN ...HOPING TO GET THERE THIS TIME OR WILL IT BE ABIT EARLY TO FISH YET...CHEERS BDOWDY..BRETT

Re: Toonumbar Dam

Brett,
    I have not fished it this year but surface lures early are always a good bet and plastics (Berkley Bass Miinnows, Sliders, Ecogear) on light jigheads (1/4 or 3/8 depending on depth) fished ALONG the weed edges and rock faces rather than casting to them seems to be much more effective. The reason being the fish lay pretty tight on the weed edges and rock walls. Casting along it leaves your lure in the strke zone for all of the cast not just a brief period.
    Hope this helps.

Bad_Bazza

THANKS BAD BAZZA. THIS TIME OF YEAR OKAY BUT....or will they still be schooled up..thanks brett bdowdy.

Hey Brett,

The pic on my phone wasn't good enough. Here she is...

done really well there mate,, we will have to give it afew runs when i get up there,,ONE DAY,, cheers bdowdy..brett

Hey Vinny,......Joshua Boats have always been a favourite of mine they are so well built and very much look the part....U have one nice outfit.....like the colours as well......Cheers Whitto
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

cmon guys girls any info on toonumbar as if i dont fish here will have to fish ballina area. cheers bdowdy,,brett

Quote Originally Posted by bdowdy View Post
    cmon guys girls any info on toonumbar as if i dont fish here will have to fish ballina area. cheers bdowdy,,brett
    Your not having much luck on the info front Brett....U would think someone's been there lately....keep trying is all u can do.......Whitto

Sorry mate havnt heard anything cant help at this stage but if I hear anything I'll let you know

thanks stonecold was thinking of giving you a ring actually,,,will they be biting or has it been too cold down that way... cheers bdowdy..brett

Bloody big frosts for the last week mate. As cold as its been all winter. I have lost track of whats happening up there to be honest. I'll see if I can track someone down on the weekend and get the lowdown.

thanks heaps dont want to finally get down there and the fishing is slow . cheers bdowdy..brett

Ha Brett,

went down there this weekend for a sat afternoon/sun morning flick for no fish so not much to report here. tried casting to trolling nearly everything in the tackle box for bairly a bump but good to put a rather consistant dam to the test in some of the colder weather.

didn't find where they were schooled up and didn't bother to check the temp, it was cold.

will give it a few weeks before im back, bring on spring!

bchaser thanks heaps mate that saved me a trip and will now wait till it warms up. again thanks heaps brett..bdowdy

G'Day Brett spoke with a few of the boys on the weekend and theres not much to report at Toonumbar yet. One of the crew went to Clarrie Hall a week or so back and managed 10 or so fish for the day.