Typical winters morning in the sandy straits

Thread: Typical winters morning in the sandy straits

Typical winters morning in the sandy straits

We pushed the boat onto glassy calm water round 9am.Heading downstream from beaver rock it was evident the recent fresh still had not cleared.Heading out thru river heads birds were diving into bait but we had to be somewhere 4 the bottom of the tide.Finding likely drain i clipped on a electric chicken snapback and andy chose another proven performer,a jacks pillie.3rd cast i was on to a nice flattie round 60 cm.Andy lost one next. i switched to a bananafish bomber and landed another few in quick succession.We then drifted onto the first congregation of big females for the season and after landing one round 78 we left them to do what they need to.Drifting further down,some blue salmon and tailor swam past,not interested in our offerings.Andy threw out onto deeper water(3 ft)and a mack tuna around 3 kg and two broad barred mackeral followed his lure in...With the tide now flooding we decided we had had enough of the flathead and wet in search of our favourite winter quarry.Sure enough as we stealthed in under minn kota power there were 6or 8 sitting in there usual possie. After half a dozen casts we had 3 nice ones and spooked the rest after a double hookup.We then went and dug a few yabbies and caught a few summer whiting round 28cm to go with the calimari for tea. Round lunch the nor wester sprung up so stumps wre called on an enjoyable winters morning....
    chewy.....

Re: Typical winters morning in the sandy straits

Nice work chewy, not too sure where you are, but I love the area down near Ungowa....

The calamari is so good fresh.......

Thanks mate,
    yea its pretty special over that way, didnt go quite that far today.will head down that way next trip''

Ausfish Platinum Member ffejsmada's Avatar

Well done Chewy!

We haven't stumbled across any big female flatties yet, you're lucky!
    Enjoy your Calamari!...............................lucky bugger!!

Jeff.

Good stuff chewy. Can't beat sight casting big squid. Making me hungry just thinkin bout it.

Tx Jeff,
    yea 3 weeks yet b4 the gig girls come up on the shallows properrly,im thankful 4 the limits as it would be horendous if some ppl were allowed open slather..

Nice work Chewy. Calamari are a species I've not yet had a crack at. I guess you gotta be in it to win it hey. I reckon I'd end up painted black .

Cheers Roo.

Na roo,
    just squeeze tightly behind the head and all is sweetdropem straight in a placcie bag on ice to keep the esky clean.i get into trouble wen i use a net,they always seem to have one blast of ink left wen you boat em.just remember to use saltwater to clean the ink off straight away....

I also headed down that way a litte yesterday near the cow paddics but didnt do to well got one just leagal flatty then headed back towards the picnics.
    nice fish and squid mate there is a few around

Ausfish Platinum Member themissus's Avatar

Nice work Chewy!!
    Big girls should be there just in time for us. Roo, squid, ink... i wanna see that!!
    Cheers Kim.
    Live your life in such a way that when your feet hit the floor in the morning, Satan shudders and says...
    'Oh Shit.....she's awake'

Ya,
    it takes a great foto when some1 else is inked and they remove their sunnies.....its a classsic as some poor unfortunates will know....