Thread: Pleasant surprise

Pleasant surprise

Made a last minute decision to hit one of my regular skinny water haunts with my mate Jake this morning. The target was bream and flathead but we weren't expecting much since most of the bream have well and truely made their way out into the mouth by now. Anyway we had 3 smallish (23-25cm) bream come onboard when jake hooks up onto something alot larger. i manouvered the canoe into clear water so jake could get a clean fight and a beautiful 46cm wild bass pops its head up. She was showing the characteristic post spawn signs of an empty belly but swam back strongly. Jake was chuffed as it was his biggest bass to date. I didn't know were to post this since it really a saltwater capture but figured since bass are normally associated with fresh i'd put it here.

Re: Pleasant surprise

nice fish ,congrats to jake,cheers bdowdy.brett

Thats great size wild Bass and a very pleasent surprise. Might be worth fishing the headwaters in a couple of months. Cheers

Well done guys. Jake must have been rapt. 46cm is a great bass.

That's a great wild bass! What was it caught on?

Nice size for a wild bass there he must be wrappped!

Cam
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons

Quote Originally Posted by Matty_M View Post
    Thats great size wild Bass and a very pleasent surprise. Might be worth fishing the headwaters in a couple of months. Cheers
    Alas a good idea if it were only possible, unfortuneatly a man made obstruction prevents them moveing up into the fresh, they only have about 4km's of suitable creek. Pretty much destroyed the population you only get 1 bass for every few hundred bream.

Quote Originally Posted by Nic View Post
    That's a great wild bass! What was it caught on?
    2inch atomic grubb in sought of a natural green colour, can't remember what it was called. Not our bass plastic of choice but seemed to work. lure was slammed within moments of hitting the water.

Mate is that one of those 3 man coleman canoes?

Been eyeing one off - how do you find them and how stable a rig are they?

CT

It's a 3 man 15'6" pelcian colarado. Pretty much the same as the coleman, might even be made in the same factory. Yeh mate i love it. I only ever fish 2 people out of it due to the risk of hooking the bloke behind you with 3. I has a massive payload and heaps of space. Enough room for a few fishing rods each heaps of tackle, food,tent etc for extended trips.Stability is good too, you can comforably stand up and fish in it (well i can i've had a few blokes look a bit unsteady in it but noones capsized or fallen out yet). We've caught bass, bream, jacks, barra and heaps more from it. I've got an electic motor for it aswell which comes in useful for travelling quickly and towing jacks back out of snags. Best thing about it is it's really durable, i bash the sh!t out of it, the bottom looks like i've taken a cheese grater to it but it's still holding up fine.