Thread: 10 GOOD REASONS - to ignore a fishing report!

Re: 10 GOOD REASONS - to ignore a fishing report!

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    John ...... I do get a little concerned that the tide is rising but the flow is going out but it is such a productive haunt of decent bream ...... 10 out of 10 over 30cm .......... Match that to 4lb braid & its great fun Decontamination does take place at the end of the session.

Tigers ..... Yeh mate since I was a 10yo ........... Though I did loose my passion for footy with the Super-league wars ......... but I still get to the occasional game.

Match the hatch ....... Certainly what all fishoes should try to do & a great concept that I learnt from fly fishing for trout.

all in all ....... Its fishing & that cant be bad

Hey Mate i'm not trying to tell you to stop fishing the Cooks, if i still lived down there i would be but i would certainly be decontaminating the boat so the hull didn't rot or the leg of the Yammy fall off just as you are.

It's certainly been a top spot for you, when i lived down there years ago i used to fish the lagoon at Monterey for mullett, hell don't they perform on light gear and i saw carp in there that i reckon were 12lb

Matching the hatch, so to speak, is very important as you are aware, absoultely necessary to do well in any type of fishing and yes i used to flyfish for trout, usually in the Oberon to Bathurst area's, many great memories

But in all fairness if there are that many jelly prawns in there it can't be all that bad and the quality is tremendous, mate i'd be going back Just love reading your reports.

John.

Quote Originally Posted by Obi _ Wan View Post
    Hey Mate i'm not trying to tell you to stop fishing the Cooks, if i still lived down there i would be but i would certainly be decontaminating the boat so the hull didn't rot or the leg of the Yammy fall off just as you are.

It's certainly been a top spot for you, when i lived down there years ago i used to fish the lagoon at Monterey for mullett, hell don't they perform on light gear and i saw carp in there that i reckon were 12lb

Matching the hatch, so to speak, is very important as you are aware, absoultely necessary to do well in any type of fishing and yes i used to flyfish for trout, usually in the Oberon to Bathurst area's, many great memories

But in all fairness if there are that many jelly prawns in there it can't be all that bad and the quality is tremendous, mate i'd be going back Just love reading your reports.

John.
    well John ..... we certainly have shared the same waters

Water quality ....... It was only a couple of months back that I landed an EP & lost a couple more ......... That was enough to convince me ! .......... but seeing those prawns .... how good is that?
    I like it because ...... not only am I catching Yellow fin bream ...... but the more wiley Black bream........ & besides i've had 100% success through the toughest time of the year for lure casters

Hey ..... besides mullet & carp ........ There are some good bream that get into that Monteray / Sandringham lagoon . Last summer I walked down there and threw some bread in there ....... & just watched the bream get into a feeding frenzy...... awesome

If there was any doubt about the intent of these bream Attachment 32601 Thats a 75mm lobby down the hatch

Nagg

Beautiful bream there mate, that little creek would be awesome when it is a bit warmer!!!

Cheers for the report Tom

Quote Originally Posted by tailorboi99 View Post
    Beautiful bream there mate, that little creek would be awesome when it is a bit warmer!!!

Cheers for the report Tom
    Yeh Tom ...... Its been consistent right through Winter & I haven't fished it during Summer - I think I first fished it in May ........ So spring / summer could be interesting

jelly prawns will school up when the sun comes up and sit in the shade. there can be thousands of them schooled together sometimes making easy work to collect them as live BAIT ,although putting the tiny things on a hook is another matter.if their is jelly prawns schooled up like that the fish wont be far away.im a bait fisho Nagg so to me their called bait.if i was you i would find a spot anchor up,chuck your lures as normal and just throw out a line with 6 or so of them prawns pinned through the mid body on a small hook and see what you get.i think you will get a surprise.cheers Jamie

Quote Originally Posted by JAMIE H View Post
    jelly prawns will school up when the sun comes up and sit in the shade. there can be thousands of them schooled together sometimes making easy work to collect them as live BAIT ,although putting the tiny things on a hook is another matter.if their is jelly prawns schooled up like that the fish wont be far away.im a bait fisho Nagg so to me their called bait.if i was you i would find a spot anchor up,chuck your lures as normal and just throw out a line with 6 or so of them prawns pinned through the mid body on a small hook and see what you get.i think you will get a surprise.cheers Jamie

Thanks Jamie

I was surprised that I wasn't seeing them getting smashed ............ but they seemed happy just to sit there & they were very easy to net 100 or so per scoop.

Gee you'd want to use a small hook ...... That photo is of a #1 - 2g jig head

Great report Nagg. Love reading your reports, you always throw a few tips that can be really helpfull for everyone.

How do you get your photo's spread through out the post like that though?

Quote Originally Posted by Scott nthQld View Post
    Great report Nagg. Love reading your reports, you always throw a few tips that can be really helpfull for everyone.

How do you get your photo's spread through out the post like that though?
    Thanks Scott

Just up load your photos & install them 1 at a time - where required ( Don't hit the insert all)

Yeh a no.6 hook.mustad aberdeen or true turn.the thing is to use the thinnest hooks you can find other wise they just break in half.They are a great big whiting bait but have caught a big variety using them.I have never seen them getting smashed up either but it doesnt take long to get a bite on them normally.I wonder how the fish find them cause when you bait up and drop them in the water they are nearly invisible to see.Cheers Jamie

Occassionally I trawl the salty section and I noticed you bream report..Great report mate. Good looking fish.....make good live bait for barra they are great fun on lite gear hey. Cool photos. Points deducted for the tigers. go the dragons!!

cheers steve

Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post

Occassionally I trawl the salty section and I noticed you bream report..Great report mate. Good looking fish.....make good live bait for barra they are great fun on lite gear hey. Cool photos. Points deducted for the tigers. go the dragons!!

cheers steve
    Ahhh Steve , you've missed some fun ........ plenty of other bream reports from my local waters
    You have Mondy ...... & I have the toxic waste dump ........ Home of some serious lure crunching bream ! Predominately 4lb gear ....... makes for good fun with these cover dwelling black & Yellow fin bream!

Dragons ........ Yes - I'm fishing & living in Dragons country ( but it ends there )