-
Sabre Rod - What's it worth????
G'day All,
Thought I'd call on your experience, I've picked up what I think is a bargain, don't know alot about them, hoping someone can help. The rod I've got (matched to a TLD 20) is approx 1750mm or 5' 9" in the old scale including butt cap, so I'm guessing it would have been a 5' 8" blank. The rod is a Sabre and has a picture of a yellowfin tuna on it, looks to be around the 10 - 15kg range, has quality guides and has some seious stick, caught a nice spottie on it and it perfomed beautifully, I have tried to take a few photos of the markings but no matter what I try, just can't get a clear shot off my phone, guessing it was a custom, anybody got any idea what it'd be worth???? Cheers, Jamie.
-
Re: Sabre Rod - What's it worth????
bit hard to tell without seeing it but it would prolly be worth $150 - $250 second hand depending on how old it is and what sort of condition it is in
and whether it is a custom built rod or a shelf rod
Ron
-
Ausfish Addict
Any numbers on the rod or builder name apart from Sabre? Most Sabre short strokers and jig blanks were around 100-200 a throw when they were the hot items to have and a built rod would be from around 250 to 450 depending on the maker and configuration and how much the builder thought you might part with for it.
I have three Sabre strokers/jig rods and three sabre spin setups, none of which are worth less than about 100 today.
-
Thanx Ron & Jack,
Does look like I snagged a bargain!!!! In answer to your question Jack, there is absolutely no markings on it other than the Sabre logo and the Yellowfin, I'm in love with it already but, couldn't beleive the power the thing had, reckon I could have easily locked up on 50lb and skull dragged em in, unbeleivable. Almost felt bad taken it off my mate, he hadn't used it in a while and wanted it gone, picked the whole combo up for $50!!!! Cheers.