BEN HUR:MONDY MUSTER 1&2) & Part 3 Sept 10-12th 2010 - Page 21
Page 21 of 249 FirstFirst ... 11121314151617181920212223242526272829303171121 ... LastLast

Thread: BEN HUR:MONDY MUSTER 1&2) & Part 3 Sept 10-12th 2010

Ausfish Platinum Member Obi _ Wan's Avatar

Re: BEN HUR : MONDURAN & AWOONGA in September

Hey Theo, Thanks for the tale about the video, a few of us have been waiting for a while for it to break, good stuff.

Chris, The level of Addict, i believe is for some who registers a couple (or more) thousand posts. There are a few Addicts amongst the members i have noticed.
    And yeah mate you always seem to be on this site, do you ever go to work or do you work from home?

This thread really has me shaking, firstly, i truely wanted to be at Mondy for what seems to have the makings of a bloody fantastic few days, but it is to close to my departure date for my annual pilgrimage to Faust for three weeks.

You can't believe how pissed i am about not being able to be there, we are going to try and snatch a few days at Awoonga and another couple of days at Mondy on the way back, so i might get to meet some of the locals, i hope so.

Although i get the feeling that this event might just happen on a more regular basis, 3 or 4 times a season?? again, i hope so.

John.

Chris, Don't forget that beer or five we are having next week!

Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post
    I will take the 300th!!! I think we are the only silly buggers still awake!!

Wrong! ...... but well done on the 300th Steve ........ it couldn't of happened to a nicer bloke

Quote Originally Posted by Obi _ Wan View Post
    Hey Theo, Thanks for the tale about the video, a few of us have been waiting for a while for it to break, good stuff.

Chris, The level of Addict, i believe is for some who registers a couple (or more) thousand posts. There are a few Addicts amongst the members i have noticed.
    And yeah mate you always seem to be on this site, do you ever go to work or do you work from home?

This thread really has me shaking, firstly, i truely wanted to be at Mondy for what seems to have the makings of a bloody fantastic few days, but it is to close to my departure date for my annual pilgrimage to Faust for three weeks.

You can't believe how pissed i am about not being able to be there, we are going to try and snatch a few days at Awoonga and another couple of days at Mondy on the way back, so i might get to meet some of the locals, i hope so.

Although i get the feeling that this event might just happen on a more regular basis, 3 or 4 times a season?? again, i hope so.

John.

Chris, Don't forget that beer or five we are having next week!
    Hi John ....... Yes mate on the beer ...... I've got the bookings today ( Staying at the Mercure North Quay ..... Tuesday & Wednesday night) ........ Is that near you .... I'll have a car (or taxi)?
    3000 posts for addict ! .......... Yes I work , but keep in touch during the day Once home ..... I log on to work & Ausfish ! Benefits of a single fish obsessed life ....... when the kids are not staying over!
    Shame you cant make the gathering ...... its looking like a cracker!

I'm not joking when I say that there will be a beaten path from where I live in Brissy to Mondy/Awoonga

PS ..... Theo was in a top spot to watch the shenanigans at Tinaroo ( to the left & half way between the hookup & the boat) ..... I'd love the chance to see something like that !

Ausfish Platinum Member Obi _ Wan's Avatar

Yeah Chris, I don't doubt that there will be a beaten track up to the ponds, thinking along those lines myself LOL.

Mate i even dragged my old tent out the other day, looking for some where to camp while at Mondy, but the poor old thing, all the pipe framework has rusted and is unusable. It's my fault i haven't had it out for 15 years, it's been consigned to the wheelie bin. Looks like i will have to get a new one, bugger! Could consider sleeping in the cruiser, or pull a tarp over the boat and sleep with my most treasured possessions.
    I have just become too accustomed to camping in a donga at Faust, they are so good! and the right price.

No mate i don't live anywhere near there, i am out on the North Side, Brighton, not far from Brian. Anyway give me a call and we will organise something.

John.

PS, NOTICED I ONLY JUST MISSED BEING 300, CAN'T WIN THEM ALL.

Quote Originally Posted by Obi _ Wan View Post
    Yeah Chris, I don't doubt that there will be a beaten track up to the ponds, thinking along those lines myself LOL.

Mate i even dragged my old tent out the other day, looking for some where to camp while at Mondy, but the poor old thing, all the pipe framework has rusted and is unusable. It's my fault i haven't had it out for 15 years, it's been consigned to the wheelie bin. Looks like i will have to get a new one, bugger! Could consider sleeping in the cruiser, or pull a tarp over the boat and sleep with my most treasured possessions.
    I have just become too accustomed to camping in a donga at Faust, they are so good! and the right price.

No mate i don't live anywhere near there, i am out on the North Side, Brighton, not far from Brian. Anyway give me a call and we will organise something.

John.

PS, NOTICED I ONLY JUST MISSED BEING 300, CAN'T WIN THEM ALL.
    Go for 400 ....... we should be there by the end of the week
    Tents ..... Hmmm ,,, I've borrowed my brothers 4 man for this trip & the ABT ..... its a crackerWinter Camping.jpg
    honestly though ....... The price of tents these days ($200 for a 4 man decent tent) ...... Is a bit better than the fourby ........ Yeh the Donga is good value ........... but hey lets cut your return travelling distance by a 1200kms or so !

I'll call you Monday

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    ok, in all seriousness, game plan time, is any one fishing after dark, or prior to sun up, takeing into account moon phase
    In Friday morning..put dome up....have a cast or six Friday arvo.......Get together Friday night.......Gentlemans hours Saturday morning hoping to coax 1or2 during the day...am planning to do a night cast Saturday night around Bird Bay......Gentlemans hours Sunday morning and depending on the cooperation of the girls will leave for home Sunday arvo.......To return to Mondy ? October for sure November......Thats the Plan.....Whitto

Quote Originally Posted by chewy01 View Post
    Brian,ill fish at least one dusk into the night,on some of the points,not too far from the ramp,maybe round to the left.and at least one morning early,i want to fish the weed round bird,with the dreaded F rod,yes yes roo i know...f/rodding is 4 .......... but anyhoo ill try,it works a treat in lenthalls so it will work here.
    chewy....
    G'Day Chewy......Love holding in line with the weed at Lenthalls and cast along the edge and WHACK found they loved Barra Classics....had alot of fun........Whitto

Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post
    I will take the 300th!!! I think we are the only silly buggers still awake!!
    Such is the Power of the Barra it's the only time a female of any species has had me by the jewels
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

Quote Originally Posted by Whitto View Post
    Such is the Power of the Barra it's the only time a female of any species has had me by the jewels
    I love it Whitto

I think I've worked this thread out

Its being done in the Olympic spirit .......... & this is the Marathon

Ausfish Platinum Member Steve B's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Whitto View Post
    Whitto, aint that a fact!!!..Aint no women controlling me!! .......whats that honey??? Ok I will get off the computer.........Ok Love, I'll wash up. Headache.......again Ha Ha

steve

why aren't you fishing Steve? its 0940 hrs....??

Ausfish Platinum Member themissus's Avatar

Brian,
    we hope to be at Foxie's by 8am on Monday morn. What time are you planning to be on the road?

Stevie,
    you cake is coming along just fine....

nipsta,
    Whitto and I have hatched a plan re the RR tasting.

For anyone else that will be there on Monday night, we are planning to have dinner at the pub. Steve, Foxie and family's as well as The Chew's and The Priestley's (Us). The more the merrier.
    Cheers Kim.
    Live your life in such a way that when your feet hit the floor in the morning, Satan shudders and says...
    'Oh Shit.....she's awake'

Quote Originally Posted by themissus View Post
    Brian,
    we hope to be at Foxie's by 8am on Monday morn. What time are you planning to be on the road?

Stevie,
    you cake is coming along just fine....

Nath,
    Whitto and I have hatched a plan re the RR tasting.

For anyone else that will be there on Monday night, we are planning to have dinner at the pub. Steve, Foxie and family's as well as The Chew's and The Priestley's (Us). The more the merrier.
    Cheers Kim.
    I tell ya Kim, Iam filthy about missing out on Monday nights get together...not only missing out on RR and good company the GG Hotel does a GREAT STEAK.......U proberbly already know that.....Have a great night gang.....I look forward to next time.......Whitto
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

Does anyone know what sort of flies i should try at mondy? Iv got some i tied for lenthalls but they r only on 2/0 hooks.got a big gold bomber fly(yes roo they even have a fly)n a couple dancer things.Also got a coupe black n green pink things that work in the mary and up at mackay?????
    chewy....