BEN HUR:MONDY MUSTER 1&2) & Part 3 Sept 10-12th 2010 - Page 234

Thread: BEN HUR:MONDY MUSTER 1&2) & Part 3 Sept 10-12th 2010

Re: BEN HUR: MONDY MUSTER) & Part II Sept 11-13th 2009

G'day all. Got back from the dam yesterday. Missed most of the ausfish crew but was able to have a quick chat with a few monday night. Nice to meet you all and hopefully be there on time next year.

On the fishing front i had a ball. Scored over a dozen hits on surface lures after finding a nice bay with the wind blowing straight acroos the front of it. Beached the boat outside it and walked in. Tried plastics and hardbodys for a while for not a touch. Then the boofs started to echo through the bay.

On with the tango dancer. Seccond cast and it was clobbered at the rod tip just as i was about to pull it from the water. Scared the crap out of me actually. Leaping from the water was my first surface barra and a cracker at 109.5cm. Beached it ,got a few snaps and back she goes.

After slaps on the back from my brother i handed him my rod to see if he could nail his first barra. 5mins later he gets smacked by another and sets in for a great fight.Got him on the bank and he went 95cm. His first barra ever.

The following after noon was at the same bay and the same conditions.And you guessed it the barra were there again. Using the tango and a big bubble popper we managed another 6-7 massive surface strikes.Jumped 2 off 1 chaffed through the 50lb leader after several jumps .A few missed entirely and landed another at 103cm.

I think i'll be back very soon.

Hi Ben well done mate was good to catch up with you on monday night glad you got onto a few as well

shane

Nip and Brian, the fishing got better...I think, but not for us, Monday saw Kim drop another fish and miss a few big hits, I didn't get another touch after the 2 fish on Sunday morning. We had barra free swimming past us in the middle of the day and a catfish follow to the boat but no more slime on us. had a good time trying tho'. We'll add a quicke report when I get the photos sorted and some of the backlog of work on my desk sorted.

Cheers, Roo.

P.s. I forgot to add, G'day to Blooey, glad you got a few, those surface strikes must be something else, I'll have to try that out next trip. Cheers Roo.

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    That would be awesome news Matt ...... & a well earnt position -

Yes - Trevs fish is a goodun

Yep well done to Scott, his position was determined on barra money earnings. Once again no set criteria, but a position well earnt.

When are we going to see your report and pics Chris?

Quote Originally Posted by matt fraser View Post
    Yep well done to Scott, his position was determined on barra money earnings. Once again no set criteria, but a position well earnt.

Hey matt he is still up there lucky buggers and team all the gear no idea as well so i say it will take them alla while to right the report .
    ON the other hand i watch a old video of you in the nerang river catching jacks which was a good flick same techniquies i use so i decide to have a sesh yesturday for a good 47 cm speciemen bugger hit that hard brike my rear rod holder lucky i have spares and can mount then in straight away ready for another jack atttack saturday afternoon

Just testing how to insert photos

glad to hear pete got off the doughnut if any one deserves to get off it is pete will the distance he has travelled to the dam and home the last few trips well done pete and rob

shane

Quote Originally Posted by nipsta View Post
    ON the other hand i watch a old video of you in the nerang river catching jacks which was a good flick same techniquies i use so i decide to have a sesh yesturday for a good 47 cm speciemen bugger hit that hard brike my rear rod holder lucky i have spares and can mount then in straight away ready for another jack atttack saturday afternoon
    Cheers Nipsta, well done on the Jack! Good fish! I'm going to head down the coast early next week, with those hot days forecast. First Jack sess for the season. I love a flick with Gulps before dark, and then anchor up and put out lives and cut baits after dark, preferably on a tide change.

Yeah that tide change seems to be the key i reckon if ya can get on right on dark then ya laughing , what sort of gulps do you use ?

They sure are Roo, Crazy,addictive stuff. Ben

Ausfish Platinum Member geoff72's Avatar

Take me with you next time blooey if you got a spare spot, missus should give me a passout with plenty of noitce, top fish mate, surface strikes would have been awesome to see and hear
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

Quote Originally Posted by robersl View Post
    glad to hear pete got off the doughnut if any one deserves to get off it is pete will the distance he has travelled to the dam and home the last few trips well done pete and rob

shane
    had another update about an hour ago, Pete has got another 90'ish fish this morning and his buddy Rob has been slaying them with a total of 5 on the mat so far for the trip with only one under the metre. dont ya just wish you were still there!!!!!
    I do.

Cheers Roo.

Hi Matt

stupid internet ...... kept getting drop outs - but its up now ( the report that is)

We finally came off the back of a 4 trip donut with Trish landing a PB of 115 Cm on Friday Morning caught on a 6" hollow belly. Cast our hearts of for the rest of the weekend for a few bumps and a couple of boils behind our plastics.
    Sorry we didn't make the get together on Saturday night got tied up with the footy.Plus we wanted to get an early fish in before packing up.
    Our next trip will be within the month and midweek.
    Thanks everyone on this site you can really get a wealth of information of how and where to fish for the elusive Barra.
    Trish reckons this fish is for the girls i will have to get one get better than 115 or ill never hear the end of it. Or just get one would be good.

Peter & Trish

Cant load the photo coming up with bad url ???????????? will try and sort out and post pic latter

I put up a thread in freshwater photos called Mondy muster photo dump ....... anyone can share their photos in that thread if they like.