BEN HUR:MONDY MUSTER 1&2) & Part 3 Sept 10-12th 2010 - Page 161

Thread: BEN HUR:MONDY MUSTER 1&2) & Part 3 Sept 10-12th 2010

Re: BEN HUR: MONDY MUSTER) & Part II Sept 11-13th 2009

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Was it photoshopped

First thing I ckecked for, but i figured no one would willingly cut and paste that melon into a picture, so it had to be real - besides, Joe the camera man is busy in England covering the Ashes isnt he????

Quote Originally Posted by Whitto View Post
    God I love this forum......What pic in BnB......Classic......the one's you bought 45 copies of BnB for to wallpaper you toilet with

lol mate

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    First thing I ckecked for, but i figured no one would willingly cut and paste that melon into a picture, so it had to be real - besides, Joe the camera man is busy in England covering the Ashes isnt he????
    I wonder if Joe the Cameraman can play Cricket.....We need all the help we can get
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

Thats true .......
    I hear Joe is hanging out with Warnie ...... i'll send him a text

Anyhow I dont just lend my face / likeness to any old publication
    Better go & buy a copy ..... or 45

How bad do you want it Brian ????? ...... no touch footy grand final this year

not this time mate, only just started the winter season last Tuesday, and Im still hurting, really shoud try not to drink so much beer in the off seasons!

Im hanging for a trip, and the muster get together is the iceing on the cake.

I wonder if Joe the Cameraman can play Cricket.....We need all the help we can get

I wonder if he can play footy? 56 -0, is that the worst they have ever been?????????

Pretty Much.......me thinks there's trouble in the camp

Ausfish Platinum Member darylive's Avatar

Well as you know i have been busy putting punters onto Bass at the inaugral Somerset Session, now acknowledged as the opening of the Bass Catching Season. So I have had some reading to catch up on.

Quote Originally Posted by lure'em'in View Post
    Mondy muster i like the sounds of that could someone tell me wat its all about.I been going to monduran 4 a few years now,love the place,also been reading about the fishin u guys talk about. great info has helped my fishin a great deal but still struggle to get any good quantity of barra I do trips for week and catch 1 or 2 fish a few catties as well. I'm a new member and would be honoured to meet the likes whitto nagg foxie etc. We will be on the houseboat sept 11 12th if anyone going past pop in and ave a beer. CHEERS ROBBO
    You may regret that, I don't think there is a cold room on the House boat so you cannot possibly store enough beer
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post
    Robbo.

Meeting them blokes will be dangerous, not an honour ....dont let them all on your houseboat at the same time, or at least not near your esky!!

I dare say most blokes will now drop in to the houseboat for a beer, In return they will now doubt steer you in the right direction to get a few fish. As you know, it can be a tough dam, but I have a gut feeling this spring will be different. Winter has been similar (so far) to winter 3 years back, we had bugger all fish kills and the spring fired up nicely...this year has the same hallmarks. I haven't seen a fish dead yet (touch wood ) I dare say there will be more info floating around between now and then, so feel free to jump in an have a chat.

Cheers Steve
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post
    Guys and Girls,

Just got back from checking out the proposed site over near SDA bay...I like it alot. The general area is terrific, but there is a few 'room to manourver' issues.

Peninsula A
    POSITIVES
    1. has perfect area for leaving boats in the water over night. Fit 10 boats + easy, and its well protected.
    2. you can see the water from every angle in the camping area. Its out on a peninsula...
    3. campfire area is perfectly located down on a plateu about 30 mtrs from the water.

NEGATIVES

BUT the bad new is that its fairly narrow, even if we get it slashed (which Rob tells me he will) I doubt there would be enough room for more than 10 tents, cars and boats....definatley not enough room to have tents, cars AND trailers, or to turn them around if there was tents set up on the flattest bits. There is not many flat spots for tents.

2. you will need a 4x4 to get in and out. There is a fairly steep road in, which is quite rocky, I would think a 2wd would bottom out and spin wheels etc.

NOW, at the top of the steep incline is another track that goes about 50 mts to another peninsula, I will call this peninsual B It

Positives:
    1. it has a beaut flat camping area, campfire etc with views to die for. I reckon you could set up 8-10 small camps after its slashed.

2.you can get to it in 2WD

3. Has a pretty good (flat) campfire area too.

Negatives:

1. Unfortunalty this area you wouldnt be about to get down to the water from this site, its about 50mtrs up a steep bank on a flat spot on the top of a hill.

2. The boats would have to be kept overnite at peninsula A. Mabey a couple of camps as well.

Ideally, the best way to do this would be to have the camping sites up on the flat ground at penisula B and the boats, cars and trailers at either or at penisnsula A sites....only problem is it would be a 2 min 4x4 drive between camps. A combo of the 2 sites would be perfect. With the numbers in our crew expected, I would think we will need both anyway.

I am going to beg Rob for a special favour, and ask if we can camp at the picnic area at the top there. It would be perfect. toilets, tables, BBQ etc. I will keep you informed. Here are some pics of penisnsual A. See what you think. This is the narrow,steepish site. Sorry I have been a bit wishy washy, but its tough to judge the room required, especially with cars and trailers requiring manourverability. If anyone is going up there between now and then, get the key of Rob and check it out for yourselves. I generally like it, and think it will work. I just think we may need a couple of shuttle cars between areas etc. Again, it depends on how many cars, boats and tents turn up.

cheers Steve
    Quote Originally Posted by Tropicaltrout View Post
    Looks the goods Steve top effort but I know a few would be camped for a week or so, Including me so to pitch camp then move back to the main area is a bit much, Maybe just a decent tarp in the generator area Chris can have his fire we will all have a bit of power, and well away from the bulk campers ie: the Nomads.. Just a thought?
    Thanks for the reccy Steve.......

As per what Nath said ....... to be put away from the facilities would be awkward for those that are staying for several days +
    I know we don't want to upset other campers - so If we were put up the back near the dam wall ( in the hollow) - we would affect very few ( & other campers could be pre warned that there is a large group there)
    There are those like Simon who would not mind setting up camp there (as discussed) ...... & we could have the fire of truth there!
    Then at the end of the night it would only be a 150M stumble back to the powered sites.

Thats right Steve ....... The far corner ( the noise will stay in the hollow + several tents will also act as a noise block) & as you said - lesson learnt.

Quote Originally Posted by Tropicaltrout View Post
    We will be camped in the usual spot and walk to the gathering.... Brian what time we up and at them on Saturday mate?
    It will be the usual camping for me.....Big Thanks to SteveB for taking the time to check out other sites.......Thanks Mate Whitto
    Well having demonstrated at the Somerset Session we can enjoy our selves without upsetting the other campers
    (I am aware the main offender was not there not to mention any names Steve)

IMHO The best place is still the usual camp within staggering distance of the Camp Kitchen and facilities,
    Muster HQ.

I for one will be camped there; hopefully for the week, with a few others by the look of it so I intent to take advantage of the facilities.
    If the local lout can behave we should be fine.

Quote Originally Posted by Roo View Post
    haha, don't forget the green ginger too!
    Speaking of all things liquid gold. Anyone keen on a Ubrew-it lucky dip. After sampling a few of Daryl's "I killed Kenny" draughts, I think I might be putting a brew down of my own. Could always drop some samples each into the lucky dip esky and see who's brew wins the prize.....prize being you get to open another can.....and another can......and da nuther can....n a nudder wun....an a.....ooops I fall down .
    Yes well you Blokes had no trouble getting through $200 worth of my brew so it can't be too bad.
    that's right if you missed the Session I was 50 and put on 50 litres of premium beer

I am not shouting again but can bring the big blue box full off the big cold 500ml cans if we can work something out?

Quote Originally Posted by TonyM View Post
    Ummm has anyone got any ideas how to get a trophy off the wall if it's stuck with a couple of tubes of liquid nails?
    No worries, Jig saw mate! then you still have a talking piece where it was

Some bloke called Chris Nag holding a couple of barra from up in Spot X Bay.
    Great Mag that! Check out the next one, I suspect there may be some great pics of Session Bass :cool:.

Any way back to the Topic at Hand. Looking forward to the the Muster @ Muster HQ.

Am I correct in thinking the extended stayers are there the week before?

Most of my Money is spent on Booze and Fishin.
    The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

Ausfish Platinum Member DEANO68's Avatar

gidday daz, we will be the week after, the hat, the fred and the pete62....and prolly a few more..
    deano..
    God put me on earth to accomplish
    a certain number of things,
    right now i am so far behind
    i will never die.

The Muster will be in the middle for me & the back court Ace

Hey Daz mate you are a champ what a cracker trip to Somerset that good I am there this weekend coming with the family for a bit of bassin go figure...

Yep as Deano said mate we will be camped on the fence line opposite the camp kitchen mate for the week after the muster, hope you can join us plenty of laughts and spare spot light bulbs....

Man I don't know about the rest of ya but I am absolutly itchin to get up there Deano come around and we seem to always end up saying the same shite " we camping on the fence line , Yep" . " Remember that spot we casted at, Yep". etc

Oh for god sake hurry up september, I am like a faulty air bag one small bump and I am goonnee!

Its a bit like that Nath ..... Hey , even the back court volleyed one has rung me a couple of times this week ........ gettin the barra itch!

Somerset this weekend hey ...... shite you must have enjoyed yourself

good on ya ...... i'll give you the laydown on Thursday night

Steady on Lads Steady on........Wait for it......only forty thousand weeks to go for the Muster......

Hi guys n gals .Just puttin my hand up 4 the muster pretty sure ive talked ribfillet[Phil] into making the trip. Its been way 2 long since my last trip to the dam so really looking foward 2 wetting a line and catching up with you all. Should arrive fri arvo and leaving sun lunch , too quick i know but better than nothing. Anyway starting to get excited. Catch u all soon cheers Les.

Quote Originally Posted by STIFFWORM View Post
    Hi guys n gals .Just puttin my hand up 4 the muster pretty sure ive talked ribfillet[Phil] into making the trip. Its been way 2 long since my last trip to the dam so really looking foward 2 wetting a line and catching up with you all. Should arrive fri arvo and leaving sun lunch , too quick i know but better than nothing. Anyway starting to get excited. Catch u all soon cheers Les.

les look forward to catching up been a while for sure for a lot of us

Mr trout you sneaking out to sommerset you may see the nip and little kaityn nip out there i was asking kaitlyn if she wanted to go this weekend as weel but i got to see if i can get my back to come good enough so i can any way if i dont get out there hope ya get and smash a few oh hows the craw going in the tank