Thread: 42cm Bream off the rocks-Coloundra

42cm Bream off the rocks-Coloundra

Landed my PB bream on Sunday up at Coloundra. Hit the water at 6:00am and was greeted by a perfect sunrise and conditions which were condusive to big fish encounters! The tide was just starting to creep in so the water was low -exposing bedrock and gutters ideal for foraging bream. I was fishing with a 9 foot snyderglas - 4kg mono(beastmaster) and No 2 hook with a No1 running sinker. Out went the cast using some flesh bait and within seconds - down went the rod and a good bream in the 30cm class was landed - thankyou....On with the new bait and I cast it a little further out to see if I could get any new enquiries. After 10 minutes the light was improving and I could just see my line against the tide....suddenly the line pulled tight and I felt the snyder cripple and drop hard with the force of something big. I raised the rod succusfully and immediatly line began to peel off the reel. Because the area I was fishing was full of structure I raised my rod high to keep the fish up out of the snags. This proved succesful (for once) and after a few more bone shattering runs I began to gain line. Thinking it might be a squire or large flathead - I played it with patience and let the rod tire him out. Eventually he materialised from the depths and a snodger bream greeted me with a foul look on his face!! Finally I had a 40cm plus bream off the rocks which today is a rare occurance(for me and my fishing cronies anyway). Also landed a 35cm and a bunch more from 25-30. Ceased fishing at 9am when most of the (holiday fishermen were just setting up). Enjoy the pics cheers

Re: 42cm Bream off the rocks-Coloundra

Good job on the PB Captain!

Thts a nice bream from happy valley or is that around towards king beach more?

awesome fish mate
    congrats on the pb
    BreamBuster33

nice fish mate 42cm is my Pb aswell

Dam fine bream,congrads on the PB and a top effort,cheers

scoocer101 - yeah off the rocks along the boardwalk - I guess anywhere at Coloundra where there is structure will yeild some fine bream this time of year.
    Thanks for the remarks guys

Top fish that captain!!. "fishing cronies"? . That's the last time you use my bragmat!. cheers daz...
    FISH-FREAK

stonker bream
    figjam :wink:

Top marks that would have been a tough fish around the rocks

Well done mate, that is a top fish.

BTW... I didn't know bream were into cider! nice drop that too
    simon

The ocean is the ultimate solution - Frank Zappa

http://s428.photobucket.com/albums/qq9/slyman71/

Well done. Good Spot that!

Nice one, the nugget bream reports are well and truly starting to come in now...
    On ya SC
    Jimbo

Nice bream mate,

Cheers Tom

any caloundra rocks produce good fish. i have done a bit of snorkeling off the rocks north of kings beach, heaps of big bream and a few good sized jacks lurking around.
    boat minder- only $40 a day