Thread: North Pine Dam Hot

North Pine Dam Hot

Gday ausfishos, well, after watching Ifish today, the blood was pumping and the casting arm was twitching, one slight problem though, the nearest barra dam is 400k's away, what to do??
    Chuck the flick stick and a back pack into the ute, 20 minutes drive and Im at North Pine Dam, not quite Mondy, but will do for a quick fix of casting practice methinks.
    So, I lock up the car at Forgans and head off into the grass, man that stuffs getting worse, and after a pleasant 20 minute scrub bash, come over the crest of the hill to find a nice little bank, good drop off, some birds working the water down a bit, and not another fisho in sight - awesome.
    I knew it was gunna be one of those sessions when first cast with the little metal tail spinner got absolutely smashed on the drop, 14lb braid ripped off the little Tierra, and just as quick as I was hit I was stitched up, kaping, gone.
    Bugger that little lure was a favourite, what do I tie on next, bit of a rummage thru the little tackle box, didnt take long cause it was only little, out comes a 25 gram chrome raider slice.
    Now Ive never caught a bass on a slice before, but have heard others do, so I check the Nitlon leader, tie on a new snap, clip on the raider and pelt it halfway to China, lets see what happens.
    Well, I'll tell ya what happened. That was the start of a real little red hot session on some big fat NPD bass, fiesty as they come and in prime condition.
    After maybe half a dozen fish, that slice met an untimely end adorning some big bass's wall of fame, so I swithched over to a 1/4 ounce jighead and an Atomic baby bass coloured soft plastic, and the fish just kept comeing.
    It wasnt a fish a cast, but for an hour or so there it wasnt far off it, I subbed between SP's and crank baits, slow rolls, fast burns, lift and drops, roll and pause, with so many hits it was a good opportunity to experiment a bit with both lures and retrieves.
    So, a perfect arvo, NPD fired up, the bass were more than willing, and that water is bloody cold, I had to swim for a stitched up fish in close to free it and BRRRRRRR, it wasnt pleasant. Give it a go if your local, great spot with some hefty bass there at the moment

brian

Re: North Pine Dam Hot

well done mate

your mind is like a parachute, it only works when its open

Great Fish, Well DOne

A great report and a top result Brian, well done.

I've been trying to talk myself into heading out there for sometime now but i still haven't made it, can't stop thinking about BARRA.

Thanks for the report.

John.

Sounds like a nice way to spend a Sunday afternoon Brian ....... Well done on some nice winter bass

Yeah, nice arvo mate, got to nail some frisky bass and listen to the Broncos kick ass on the little tranny radio, good way to finish a weekend

Quote Originally Posted by Obi _ Wan View Post
    A great report and a top result Brian, well done.

I've been trying to talk myself into heading out there for sometime now but i still haven't made it, can't stop thinking about BARRA.

Thanks for the report.

John.
    give em a crack John, their not barra, but geez they know how to crunch a lure, give a solid dogged fight, and they know where to stitch you up on the timber quick as blink, great little fish

Yeah Brian, I will get out there eventually, I used to target bass as often as i could, even joined the fish stocking association.

But mate,------- after i was intoduced to barra about 6 years ago, the bass are just not the same, sure they are a great target fish and give a good account of themselves, but they can not get you buzzed up like the pink eyed leaping bass from the north.

John.

Haven't been out there for over a year, but keep meaning to, those pics might just have gotten me to pull the finger out. Some decent fish there mate! What length did they go? They look to be 40-45cm, dare I say closer to 50?
    simon

The ocean is the ultimate solution - Frank Zappa

http://s428.photobucket.com/albums/qq9/slyman71/

A top effort and great practice for your upcoming Mondy trip Brian......

Good bass mate.
    I almost headed over that hill to where you where. Had a bit of a half hearted flick closer towards Bullockys and headed for Maccas instead.
    It's certainly the right time to use metal slices out there. I got hold of a pair of waders which make it much more comfy. Although walking through the scrub wearing those bloody things is a hard slog.

Well done Brian good report mate as usual. Great pics too mate.

Improvise, overcome - adapt. Hey isn't that Clint Eastwood at his best in Heart Break Ridge circa mid 80's?

Cheers Lyndon

Top stuff Brian, Next time I am in Brissy I am lining you up to take me to NPD. Its been on my bass 'hit list' for years. We used to use chrome slugs at Somerset many many years ago...very successfully too. nice photos too.

cheers Steve.

Good on you Brian and it was nice to hear of a quanity of bass being caught. Thanks also for the photos and all the included info. Over the weekend was a good quick rise in the barameter and and a generally warmer weekend with the northerlies and I wonder if this may have spurred them on. Didnt get out myself this weekend and I'm keen to hear how the electric comp went at Hinze and if the bass were active like you experienced - or maybe its just your fishing Mojo doing it again!

Cracker bass there mate! would love to tangle with em. I might have to go out soon and walk around have a flick and not catch fish like usual.

Cam
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons