Gday ausfishos, well, after watching Ifish today, the blood was pumping and the casting arm was twitching, one slight problem though, the nearest barra dam is 400k's away, what to do??
Chuck the flick stick and a back pack into the ute, 20 minutes drive and Im at North Pine Dam, not quite Mondy, but will do for a quick fix of casting practice methinks.
So, I lock up the car at Forgans and head off into the grass, man that stuffs getting worse, and after a pleasant 20 minute scrub bash, come over the crest of the hill to find a nice little bank, good drop off, some birds working the water down a bit, and not another fisho in sight - awesome.
I knew it was gunna be one of those sessions when first cast with the little metal tail spinner got absolutely smashed on the drop, 14lb braid ripped off the little Tierra, and just as quick as I was hit I was stitched up, kaping, gone.
Bugger that little lure was a favourite, what do I tie on next, bit of a rummage thru the little tackle box, didnt take long cause it was only little, out comes a 25 gram chrome raider slice.
Now Ive never caught a bass on a slice before, but have heard others do, so I check the Nitlon leader, tie on a new snap, clip on the raider and pelt it halfway to China, lets see what happens.
Well, I'll tell ya what happened. That was the start of a real little red hot session on some big fat NPD bass, fiesty as they come and in prime condition.
After maybe half a dozen fish, that slice met an untimely end adorning some big bass's wall of fame, so I swithched over to a 1/4 ounce jighead and an Atomic baby bass coloured soft plastic, and the fish just kept comeing.
It wasnt a fish a cast, but for an hour or so there it wasnt far off it, I subbed between SP's and crank baits, slow rolls, fast burns, lift and drops, roll and pause, with so many hits it was a good opportunity to experiment a bit with both lures and retrieves.
So, a perfect arvo, NPD fired up, the bass were more than willing, and that water is bloody cold, I had to swim for a stitched up fish in close to free it and BRRRRRRR, it wasnt pleasant. Give it a go if your local, great spot with some hefty bass there at the moment
brian