whats your best "scare" - Page 2
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: whats your best "scare"

Ausfish Platinum Member Jeremy87's Avatar

Re: whats your best "scare"

Quote Originally Posted by stevea View Post
    Mother-in-law suggested to go fishing with me!
    Scariest one yet

Talking about nav lights coming back through the main basin of awoonga at night time with d!ckheads with no lav lights doing a troll in the creek bed. We nearly hit 3 in a row that evening. Another one was traveling out through the rous channel about half an hour after dawn can't see sh!t ahead of us cause of the glare, all of a sudden we slam into a sand bar, apparently we missed one of the beacons, had to dig a trench using the paddles to get the boat unstuck.

My brother and I were fishing in a creek up here late at night.We'd seen five crocs through the night the largest being about 12 ft.We were motoring along my brother standing up holding the spotty.There was a bit of a clunk and it went black and I was wondering what my brother was doing then I thought he's not swearing and cursing he's not in the boat.I finaly found a torch and turned the boat around and spotted my brother trying to swim straight up.I bought the boat up to him and he jumped up and held on to the little bow handle with both hands and feet.He'd fallen out right where we'd seen the largest croc earlier, I think he was still shaking the next day.

When I lived on the central coast of NSW a mate and I borrowed a canoe to go Bass fishing in Ourimbah creek, turns out the canoe was a tad too small, and anyway, if either of us even tried to cast a line it would have tipped I reckon

We paddled about a KM up the river thinking we might find a bank to pull up on so we could start casting our home made poppers. We did, and it was around Dusk on daylight savings. It isn't a navigable creek in this area so paddling back in the dark wasn't going to be a drama.

We pulled up on the bank, got out and my mate headed towards a tree that had fallen into the water, as a potential snag to cast to. Something large was apparently resting on the log, and jumped and splashed into the water with great speed, and a lot of noise / splash, which scared the crap out of both of us.

Could have been a large Goanna, and the area isn't a Croc area of course, but we had heard stories of the early days of the Reptile park, which wasn't far away, in that the previous owner was a bit of a boozer and had lost a couple of crocs through drains etc, so the mind was racing. So were we, we paddled back almost on the plane!!
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

My first bar crossing was the most scary time ive had! me and my mate out at Noosa the weather was shocking fri-sat but glassed off on sun! we slept in a bit sun morning b4 the attempt to cross which was our first mistakes because the tide turned and was heading out now! the bar looked ok I thought so we waited and picked our time and gunned the closer we ot the bigger the waves looked we crossed the first 3 they wern't to big and only had one more to go it was pretty big! i swear we were vertical over it and had clear ocean in site I dont know wat happened but the engine started to splutter and we lost speed wen another wave was building it was huge we had no time to turn around we jst hit it head on it broke straight over top of us i dont know how we didnt flip or sink we kept motoring out bailed the water for 45 mins and turned around and went back loaded up the boat and drove back to brissy still shaking! some guys seen us and said I dont know how u's survived that! neither did we! we later found that Noosa is one of the worst bars to cross!
    Chers Simon

I found a cure for my desire to fish. It's called a near collision with a massive sailing boat in the southport broadwater. Funny how my thoughts about chasing lizzards suddenly changed to imagining the news headlines "fisherman feared drowned after colliding with sailing boat". I still start the shakes just thinking about it, For everyone who knows the stretch north of wavebreak island to curragee, don't go there on a Saturday.... But if you really must, do your family a favour and increase your life insurance cover before you go

The question is who has right of way if you are drifting, motor turned off, then look up to see a sailboat just about to pummel into the side of you, missing by inches?

Copied and pasted from another forum. Really glad I didnt have to swim that day.

Well what an adventure we had. Headed to Pococks Friday arve and ran into Barrajames just before the four mile hole turn off. He was pulling the pin as the road was a bit to rough for his boat and trailer and had decided to go up the South instead. Opes and I pushed on and arrived at pococks to set up camp. Dodgy, Pyro, Paul and Tim arrived later but the wind kept us from launching the boats till the next morning.
    Hit the water at daybreak and threw every lure I owned at the rockbars around Pococks and West Alligator head but couldn’t turn a scale. Caught up with Barrajames at West Alligator head but he wasn’t getting anything either. We then decided to have a flick around the mud flats and some small gutters. First cast I had a barra around the 70cm mark have 2 attempt at inhaling my bomber but I couldn’t set the hooks Continued to fish this gutter hooking several barra and 1 salmon but didn’t boat a single fish. ??: we moved to the other side of the West towards the mouth of the South, hooking a barra on our first troll that would of put me into the Metre+ club. She grabbed a barra classic but spat it back at me after she put on a bit of a show nearly taking my head off in the process. So after loosing that many fish in one sitting I had a bit of a cry and we headed back to camp as Opes had to get back into town.
    After talking to dodgy about my bad luck we decided to head back out and have another crack. Just as we were leaving Pyro and the boys came back from the jew reef with Tim popping his cherry with a nice jewie, but I will let him tell that story. With nothing but barra on our minds we pushed back over to West Alligator Head and got straight into it. The barra where definitely a lot hungrier now and we were getting good hook ups on classics and bombers. We probably hooked 30 fish but still only boated a handful. Best fish went to Dodgy with an 80cm and the smallest was 65cm.

With all the commotion going on we didn’t notice the wind had really picked up and we needed to get out of here. By the time we got moving the sea had turned real nasty and we were taking on a lot of water. With the sun setting fast and the wind getting worse Dodgy and I had to make the tuff decision, keep at it and hope it gets better or run for shelter. We made it back across to the eastern side of the West Alligator but we could not get around the headland . We headed to shore but could not get anywhere near the mainland as it was low tide. So we anchored in sheltered waters and walked the rest through a few feet of mud, rocks and water with all our gear and barra on our shoulders. We then decided to walk the remaining 5 or so kms back to camp ditching our gear and eventually our fish along the way By now it was pitch black and we where navigating completely by feel through the dense mangroves and bush hoping that there where no cranky lizards along the way With no shoes this turned out to be one hell of a challenge for me and I ended up making do with a couple of hats tied to my feet to cross those massive oyster rocks (note to all: always take shoes fishing ). We arrived back at camp a little bit worse for wear but all ended well and we found the boat floating in the morning.
    Wasn’t very happy that we had to ditch the fish but something had to give . I think we made the best out of what could have been a very bad situation. I few quick decisson had to be made and I recon we made the right call.
    Fished again on Sunday but the only fish we got was a monster queenie.

I guess fishing does have its scarey moments ..... & for me 3 stand out

1) Rockfishing ....... Going up the rope at Bluefish Pt ( North Head Sydney) .... With a full / heavy backpack on my back........ & I've overbalanced. Luckily the rope was wrapped around my wrist which allowed me to maintain my grip ......... stopping a 25M rapid descent ...... The Mightey Whitey still remembers the look on my face

2) Coming through the bar at South West Rocks ....... In not very friendly conditions ........... Riding on the back of a wave , I push the throttle forward to keep my position ......... & the motor splutters & stops! ....... After what felt like an eternity with waves threatening to break over us ......... I yell at my mate to pump the fuel bulb .......... The motor fires & with my mate pumping the bulb for dear life , we made it through ............ Just ....... I toss the anchor & we eventually get towed the remaining 500M to the ramp! ( The boat was siphoned overnight...... no fuel gauge )

3) Fishing off Nowra....... I hook up to a Yellowfin Tuna on 8kg 3 hours before I saw colour ........... the estimated 180-200lb fish came to the surface ..... spent ( along with the angler) ......... not 10 feet from the flyer & a fish of a lifetime ........ A surface explosion & the YFT is basically bitten in half in half with a dozen shakes of the head ........ A Tiger shark bigger than the V sea I was fishing out of had rained on my parade .......... with the dead weight of the head .... it sunk only to be hammered again a minute later
    Very scary indeed .......... The violence & aggression .......... gave me 1or 2 nightmares in later life

Nagg

Getting married 2nd time round.

One day I'll listen to my gut feeling.

Told meself; nah nah na nah naahhh! - goose!

Sorry bout that, just had a weak moment.

yeah crusing along in the port phillip bay at about 2-3 am next minute you know a 20+footer with no nav lights ill tell you the heart was pumping in over drive

hows it going muzz?

that bar crossing sounds abit hairy!!!
    i had i problem like you had with your crabbing mate,i was off evans when a bloke and his missus in a 40 foot cruizer near side swiped me,they were less than 10m away when they went passed they were both out on the back deck drinking beers and waving thinking it was a big old laugh,i wasn"t waving the whole hand just the finger.

got a heap that border on scarey, but are more in the funny area, one was when a small Mako jumped into the Motor well and chewed the buggery out of the fuel line and the Electrical harness, now that was interesting, another was coing in one night, the "leads" back then were just two quite small red lights, we were lined up and I was just a tad concerned that we were a bit off, but it was not my Boat so just trusted the owner that he knew what he was doing, after a few minutes he just said "SH!T" one of his Leads was a Cars brake/Tail lights and it drove away, luckily they have replaced those old ones now with "proper ones" one other was coming in through Port Macquarie Bar at night, now that Bar is a BAR, not a small woosy thing that some call a bar, we got almost through and for some reason both Motors decided to have a nap, to this day we have no idea why, my mate restarted them both, and they have never stopped since!
    Last edited by Noelm; 05-08-2008 at 09:02 AM. Reason: spelling

Out near Flinders in my 4.6m and notice a bit of water washing round just under the floor.

Open the back up and see its full of water. Flick the bilge on and check the bungs are in, and no worries there, so she'd obviosuly split but not sure how bad.

Got her nearly dry and started the long run back to Nudgee Beach (with Safety Grab Bag at my feet), which in a busted tinny is a little hairy to say the least.

Got back to the ramp and found a 75cm split where the side meets the bottom of the hull.

Boats never been the same since.

Not my best scare...but this scares me nearly every weekend that I fish at North Pine Dam. I have to walk through some scrub to get to good spots. Hiding in the grass at various points are small black quails. They wait until you almost stand on top of them, and all of a sudden about ten will take off like little feathery rockets, making heaps of noise. I'm usually slightly on edge looking out for brown snakes already and these birds don't help. I get cranky every time it happens. I know its going to happen but I don't know when.
    I was out there a few weeks ago, walked past one of the small trees close to the bank and a sea eagle took flight right beside my head...that took a few years off my life.

I got a massive scare while climbing a rock face near a waterfall. I was with Dave (Alchemy) and we were both hampered with rods and backpacks and had to clamber up as best we could.

When I reached the top, however, he wasn't there. I called and called, and clambered back down again. I called some more. No sign of him. Obviously he had fallen, hit his head and was now submerged in the dark pool below.

I started to get my gear off so I could dive in, wondering how the hell I was going to find him in the dark water, not to mention how I was going to lift all 95kg of him.

Then, all of a sudden he came into view at another part of the cliff and gave me a cheery wave. He had simply decided to climb up a different way.

Conclusion: if you're travelling together in rough terrain, communication is key!

Quote Originally Posted by Nic View Post
    I got a massive scare while climbing a rock face near a waterfall. I was with Dave (Alchemy) and we were both hampered with rods and backpacks and had to clamber up as best we could.

When I reached the top, however, he wasn't there. I called and called, and clambered back down again. I called some more. No sign of him. Obviously he had fallen, hit his head and was now submerged in the dark pool below.

I started to get my gear off so I could dive in, wondering how the hell I was going to find him in the dark water, not to mention how I was going to lift all 95kg of him.

Then, all of a sudden he came into view at another part of the cliff and gave me a cheery wave. He had simply decided to climb up a different way.

Conclusion: if you're travelling together in rough terrain, communication is key!
    Did you give him a good thump in the arm for that.