Clearwater Cod
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Clearwater Cod

Clearwater Cod

well the casting arm has been twitching for a while now, so after weeks of sleet, snow. and my line freezing along the guides on my last trip i decided to go for a quick fish. got 3 small cod and it was awesome watching each fish hit the lure as the water was so clear, now im just hanging till cod season starts after letting them spawn. heres a few piccys ..cheers bdowdy...brett[ATTACH]sum[/ATTACH]

Attachment 31940

Attachment 31941

Attachment 31942

Attachment 31943

Re: Clearwater Cod

You can keep your bloody cold Brett but I wouldn't mind some of your cod fishing,
    nice cod by the way.Have you been chasing any reddies yet?
    cheers rossco

Awsome sesh you had there, you always seem to catch these little buggers dont ya! Unstoppable. What did the biggest go?

Cam
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons

Definitely doing a cod trip this year!!! The barra are good but gotta love that gorge country!

wow that looks like a fun seshon love to be able to have alot more cod up in queensland haha owell.

Only got 2 words for you Brett.......YOU IDIOT!!!

Now thats commitment!!!

Thanks for sharing - now I know Im not the only bozo who fishes in ridiculous weather!!!

Cin

Good stuff Brett ...... As Bear said "Commitment"

I often wondered about winter cod fishing ...... but for some reason I always associated cod with the warmer months
    Well done !

Is that a chatter bait?

Sounds like you had some fun Brett. Good to hear what you have been up to and to hear that the cod don't mind some cold weather. Nice clear photos also. Just how cold has it been there and what sort of water temp are you fishing in?
    cheers - Richard

well yep its bloody cold and the lure is one i made myself works a treat on the local cod... cant wait till it fires

hey guys ,girls the fishing is all over the place its bloody cold as you can see by the piccys im keen as id fish in the snow if they would bite.most of the fish are in the 50cm to 80cm but have caught some big 30 to 50lb in some areas .cheers bdowdy..brett

The best part about cod fishing in the freezing cold is when you stick your hand in their gob you can't feel their nasty little teeth taking the skin off your thumb.
    Nicely done mate.

Ausfish Platinum Member Steve B's Avatar

Awesome Cod mate. Great photos too. I am shivering thinking about how cold it would have been down there!! Results of commitment definalty worthwhile. they are the most beautiful fish in their wild river form.! Love it.

cheers Steve

most mornings have been in the minus 3 to 6 range and one morning not that long ago it would have been minus 8 and my guides were freezing up. there was ice hanging from each guide and the line was freezing....but thats fishing and if you love it youll fish in any weather i reckon..cheers bdowdy..brett

Gday brett
    good to see you are still wetting a line. I was going to try and get somewhere this weekend but it sounds like its started blowing 400km winds, see what its like tomorra.
    wamjam