Bay snapp pulls first hook straight
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bay snapp pulls first hook straight

Ausfish Platinum Member ddobson's Avatar

Bay snapp pulls first hook straight

Popped out for a bit on late dusk Saturday with a bit of burly tagging along to see if i could bring the biggens to the boat to save me a little time trying to find them and had my first big thumper take of and pull a TT 3/4 jig head straight, after it felt well and truly set. I have been getting heaps of tackers up to 45cm for weeks and no big hits until then. I know the big ones are well and truly here but changing rods over the drop off as it goes deeper certainely is tricky with the big boys in the shallow every now and then. I pulled the 82cm on a large bozo jighead and now i know how close i was to loosing it as i used 1/8 th TT before then and would have lost it in seconds. Its all trial and error and fun learning. Cheers all snapper hunters.

Re: Bay snapp pulls first hook straight

Unlucky mate. Of all the stories ive heard of straightened hooks lately, its always been TT's. Ive only ever used Nitro's and never had any drama's with them.

Better luck next time.

Quote Originally Posted by SummerTrance View Post
    Unlucky mate. Of all the stories ive heard of straightened hooks lately, its always been TT's. Ive only ever used Nitro's and never had any drama's with them.

Better luck next time.
    Same here, I use to use TT's, but only use nitro owners now... My trebles are owners as well

Are you using the HD's?

Bad luck and believe me when I say "I know how you must feel!" Something to know about TT is that they have been using Mustad hooks as well as a cheaper alternative for a while now. The Mustad hooks straighten out with big fish very easily. I use mostly home made jigheads now which Scalem and I make because there is no hook better than the Gamakatsu Finesse strong wire hooks which we use in our jigheads. They do not bend. All I need to do is sort out my flurocarbon leader breaking under the strain of late.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Wheres the pics??

Unlucky mate. I hope you have more luck next time. I'm sure you'll be connected to a big one again soon.

Do you think the the hook straightened due to drag pressure or the crushing of the fishes jaws?

Brad
    What would Steve do?

fortes fortuna adjuvat

Guys,

TT Lures uses heavy and fine wire Gamakatsu hooks in their Tournament Series Jigheads. The fine wire hooks are sensational for hook penetration, but as a result, these gauge of hooks can not take as much pressure as the heavy wire hooks. The fine wire hooks are used in jighead sizes specific to bream, flathead and bass fishing and available in sizes up to 4/0.

The heavy wire hooks are used in situations when fish hit and pull harder. This is ideal for snapper/inshore/offshore situations as well as other species that hold tight to structure, eg Jacks in snags or bream in the racks.

This variety in hook strength and penetration gives the experienced angler the ability to match a jighead to the depth being fished and lure size used as well being able to use a fine gauge hook when the situation permits it.

The Head Hunter Extreme range of jigheads use the Mustad heavy gauge 60 degree jig hooks. These jig hooks have been tested to be stronger than the Gamakatsu heavy wire but are not as good as Gamakatsu for penetration.

In relation to straightening hooks, if the hook fails to penetrate to the bend of the hook, any hook on the market will straighten with sufficient force.

POODROO,

I don't know who your information source is, but i would sack him before you make a fool of yourself again. No other brands of hooks are used by TT Lures in their jigs other than Mustad and Gamakatsu. They are using the same Gamakatsu heavy wire hooks as you use in you home made jigs.

Trent

I have found when i use a ounce of lead the tt jig heads straighten and bend out of shape when on to big fish even the HD models i only use the nitro jig heads now there a bigger gauge hook and sharp.

Ausfish Platinum Member nuggstar's Avatar

yer mate im sold on the nitro owners as well but thats for stinken bream not snaps like you want. great read once again mate, you'l land that stonker next time.
    figjam :wink:

nitros are crap compared to tt jigheads

Quote Originally Posted by Trent Butler View Post
    Guys,

POODROO,

I don't know who your information source is, but i would sack him before you make a fool of yourself again. No other brands of hooks are used by TT Lures in their jigs other than Mustad and Gamakatsu. They are using the same Gamakatsu heavy wire hooks as you use in you home made jigs.

Trent
    Firstly I have seen the TT jigheads that use the Mustad Aberdeen hooks and actually purchased and tried them and had them straighten out. They were purchased through an online tackle store who I will not mention and if you don't believe they exist have a look at this website.
    http://www.ttlures.com.au/jig_heads_headhunters.php
    They are a TT economy jighead. In my post I mentioned the Mustad hooks and in your thread you say that they use no other brands but Gamakatsu and Mustad so where exactly have I made a fool of myself? I think you must have misread what I said somehow. Maybe I should have used a commer after "as well." It should read that TT are using Mustad as the cheaper alternative.
    Quote Originally Posted by Poodroo View Post
    Something to know about TT is that they have been using Mustad hooks as well as a cheaper alternative
    Back to you!

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

tt,s are crap, my local hasn,t restocked them because of all the complaints - go the nitro,s and bozos !!!

Ausfish Platinum Member alleycat's Avatar

I find the berkley salt water pro as strong a hook as a person could want for salt water use.

I think the problem is a lot of people don;t know how to fish their own gear and prefer to blame gear rather than themselves.

A well set hook takes a lot of pressure to bend, so if you believe a well set hook bent then you are fishing too heavy a drag. Drags are supposed to be the weak point that gives line in your gear so nothing breaks.

The only other reasons hooks should bend is it didn't set and only the point penetrated in which case the hook will bend much more easily. Reasons are the hook may not have been sharp, or the line was too light to sink the hook into a hard mouth. Hence the problem usually comes a lot from guys fishing light for smaller snapper when a big boy happens along.

Test your gear guys to see what it can and can't do so you don't fish it in areas where it is likely to fail.