Tinaroo's reputation lives on
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Tinaroo's reputation lives on

Tinaroo's reputation lives on

Well all I can start by saying is "Oh my god", what an afternoon.

It started out mid morning as I launch the boat on a crystal clear dam, to be greeted by no wind and beautiful blue skies. This has been the pattern for the past couple of days, which is what we were waiting for anxiously.

After setting up the tripod for the camera (now that was how confident I was) and getting myself settled, I boated a very strong 120 cm Barra on a Gold Bony Bream within the first 15 minutes. It was one of those cast where I almost knew that I was going to catch something, as I watched my lure get crunched by the barra on a large pause in between slow twitches.

After the mandatory quick photos and a lot of yahooing in she went and tail splashed me with a passion. The yahooing continued, so I had a quick drink and got back into it. The rest of the day was pretty uneventful so I did some exploring, and saw a bank that I wanted to come back to later once I picked up Andrew (Wheezer).

I picked up Andrew at 3pm and we headed to a fishy looking piece of structure that I felt pretty confident about. The Bony Bream had a follower in the first couple of cast before shying away, then Andrew had the same happen on his green/gold BB. We persisted for awhile longer here, changing lures and retrieve rates for a couple of boils before moving to a spot that produced very little.

It was time to head back to the bank I saw earlier. Within minutes I had a massive boil on a gold Bony twitched ever so slowly, and then what happened from there to be honest was an absolute blur

We both lost count of how many hits we got on this bank, and think we had about a dozen decent hook ups from some very big and powerful fish. The boils they were leaving were boat size. All fish that were hooked or hit were on Bony Breams or slow rolled 130 Pro Slick Rigs in Evil Minnow. Andrew managed to boat two fish, the first one jumped like he was going to the olympics for high jump, and one of 114cm that took some persuading to come in.

It was really a gob smacking fun afternoon, even though we did not boat all the fish that maybe we should have. It did not matter though, when it was almost a hit a cast for a period there. Action packed stuff to say the least!!!!!! I still am dumbfounded and am really lost for words, and I know that Andrew will agree this report has not done justice to the session we had.. Thanks to Andrew for a great arvo

Re: Tinaroo's reputation lives on

NICE winter barra mate
    definatly my favourite fish to target

"how good is barra fishing "

cheers BK

Yee ha .. CHECK EM OUT !!!.... Well done guys It looks like those barra were waiting for the stable weather as well! PLAY TIME

Good report & pics Matt .......... but keep some of that Mojo in reserve

Well done Boss and Andrew. Sounds like an absolutely awesome sesh!! You won't be short of a fishing partner with him up there in the neighbourhood, doesn't take much of an arm twist to get the big fella out on the water. Nor much of an arm twist to indulge in a few bevvies!!

Ausfish Platinum Member Obi _ Wan's Avatar

Great report Matt, good to see the results. I guess it's what you would call a golden afternoon.

Well done, i will look forward to some more reports from the Mighty Tinaroo.

John.

Ausfish Platinum Member scuttlebutt's Avatar

friggen awesome guys. With the title I thought you must have caught stuff-all.

Well done Matt & Andrew great trip report guys it's good to see a nice day was enjoyed with an awesome fishing session. You have to enjoy those days when you can get them. There isn't much better than great weather and good mates on the boat all doing a spot of fishing to relax.

Thanks again for the report. All the best on future trips.
    Cheers Lyndon & Kel

The North Queensland legend continues.......

Great effort Matt & Andrew. I dread to see the damage you will do in the warmer months if you're smackin em in the middle of winter!

Certainly got my casting arm twitching....

Regs

Ausfish Platinum Member Big_Ren's Avatar

Good onya Matt and Andrew

120s are becoming a dime a dozen for you these days, and thoroughly deserved with all the hard work you put in mate.

Great work boys. Andrew seems to have settled into FNQ life nicely.

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Great Work. Glass Conditions. Great Pics. Great Fun. Great Effort. Well Deserved. Thanks for sharing your experiences.
    JM

G'Day Matt, Gee's your the Man at the moment.....Andrew was far from ordinary as well......Thanks for the Piccies and Report....keep up the good work....Cheers Whitto
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

Quote Originally Posted by Whitto View Post
    G'Day Matt, Gee's your the Man at the moment.....Andrew was far from ordinary as well......Thanks for the Piccies and Report....keep up the good work....Cheers Whitto
    lets hope we have a few trips like barraboss lucky run latey whitto cant wait to get up there again

Awesome session and one that you boys won't forget in a hurry!! You getting spoilT WHEEZER!

Nice work Matt!
    Great to see you whacking some big fish again, effort and experience is paying handsome results like 120+ fish.
    Great work and congrats.
    Wicked pics and story to match.
    Jas

yes it is hard to convey just how hot the bite was for a period of time..i had to keep pinching myself that it is still the middle of winter! i had been harassing matt since early in the week, seeing the forecast and knowing that it had not stopped blowing since early mid june i was positive we would get some action, just not as much as we did..at times it was a hit a cast, some right at the boat..that said they were not commiting fully, as testament to the low conversion ratio. both my fish were hooked outside the mouth

with matt getting a few hits on the BB early on i considered changing from my slick rigs but instead persisted experimenting with retrieves which paid big dividends...some memorable moments include getting monstered on the pause while pointing to a seperate boiling fish, my trigger hand is still sore...also dropped a large specimen, noticeably bigger than my 114..and matts BB disappearing in an enormous swirl while he was looking away

really just one of those sessions that keeps you coming back..thanks again matt looking forward to the next one