Thread: New navara

New navara

I'm looking into buying a new ute and saw that nissan has bought out the ST-X in a cab chassis. My old man has the dual cab and has been a good car. I did have my heart set on a Hilux but the nissan is heaps cheaper and a pretty good ute.

I pulled in to have a chat with them and they have de-tuned them from the 128kw to 106kw. No too much of a big deal but I was wondering how easy it would be to get it tuned back up to 128kw??

I'm chasing the extra power because I'll be towing a trailer at times and also a fair bit of weight so I could use the extra power. The other thing I was chasing was an auto but they are only bringing them out in a 6 speed manual......Go figure!

Anyone else know much about them??

Re: New navara

The Dual Cab ST-X comes in an Auto.....

There are a few places around that will sell you a ' chip ' for increase power... at a cost..... not worth it IMO.

Good luck with the new vehicle.

I'm after the 8 foot tray thats the only thing and the auto is because I'm sick of all the gear changes through traffic

I read an article about the other day lining up the Navara, Triton and Hilux. Read the whole article and they Hilux rated least out of all, however reading the summary (the first part I read) the author claimed the hilux was the best. The author (admitted self proclaimed toyota fan) said that the suspension in both the triton and navara was cheap, and th triton would be ok if you spent a few dollars on a bash guard??

I test drove all, I felt they were all in the same leauge. The hilux was the dearest, had the least towing capacity and probably the worst ground clearance. The triton was probably the best, but in the dual cab had the smallest tray, the biggest rear leg room and the ugliest body. The navara had the worst fuel economy and the best towing capacity.

I ended up with the navara auto stx. Only problem I have had is a squeeky bonnet and aircon leaked inside the car. aircon fixed, bonnet still squeeks. Had some noise in suspension but that is also fixed. Now it just goes. I tow my boat, no problem. Not heavy, probably 400kg fully loaded, but I cant feel it on the back. Its also worth noting that the headlights suck big time on the navara.

I am happy with the navara, it needs a lift kit, but other than that its been pretty good. I reckon the triton is also very good, and if you are looking at a cab chassis I would definatly be taking a look at the triton. I reckon they are the best value for money on the market.

Spot on Andy....

Also consider the Mazda BT50/Ford Ranger... Quiet a good rig, and light on the desiel, very capable 4x4....

The biggest regret I have with my Navara D40 auto is the fuel economy. Still cant get it below 10.5l/100.... A workk mate has the BT50 DLX auto and it's in the 8's.....