Teeny Terrors at Tinaroo

Thread: Teeny Terrors at Tinaroo

Teeny Terrors at Tinaroo

Shayne and I headed up to the dam on Saturday for a lash in uncertain weather conditions. With a mild wind and cloudy day, we were unsure where we were going to find the fish today. So the search began.....

We started by hitting along a river bed with heavy submerged tree cover, looking for dormant/active fish. After losing a few soft plastics to the trees 40ft down, we made a move to a very good looking spot that looked all the goods for the 10 minutes before the weather change came through and put my thoughts of regarding this area. We flogged it for a while longer regardless, just in case my prior knowledge of this area was incorrect. It wasn't!!!!

We hit a spot that Shayne received a major birds nest in, requiring some special attention, so I kept casting till I decided to anchor up and move to a submerged point. Tying on a B52 whilst Shayne used a Slick Rig evil minnow, he had a hit almost instantly. Being on the verge to cast again I threw the B52 over the back as it is almost a given to change lures and throw back in if someone receives a hit but no hookup. Shayne said it was a rat, but from the boil that missed my lure after the first twitch, it was no rat, well, maybe not..

Two more twitches and two cranks of the handle and I was on, to a rat. Yay!! At least it was a fish, just not the one that I was hoping for. Over the next half hour we caught four tiny barra, that would have not long been introduced to this waterway. They were sitting in the shallowest part of the point in heavy cover. Water temp was two degrees warmer than anywhere else in the dam and there was good water quality and flow. We were really happy to have caught these fish, that were very very active for this period. We had many hits from these fish that seemed to be schooling up.

It was a fun way to end the otherwise fishless day. Great to see the new stock looking so healthy.

Re: Teeny Terrors at Tinaroo

Hi Matt ........ At least you're catching barra ( I'm guessing things would be pretty cool up Tinaroo now)
    Well done ........ but whats with the growth buddy

Looks like you found the barra nursery. Beautiful healthy looking fish.

Matt,
    Now that is an encouraging sign! Great stuff mate excellent report and pics as usual. The future of the fabled Tinaroo looks great.
    Look forward to catching up at the ABT.
    Jas

Hi Matt,
    Great report and photos, good to see the little fellas coming through. They are great fun to catch.

Cheers Katie.

Matt, good stuff, even at that size they have attitude, check out the way that first fish has engulfed that SP,
    brian

G'Day Matt, Thanks for that ....it's good to see the babies about and active...all looks good for the future....I reckon they would be last years stocking.....Cheers Whitto

Thanks guys and girl

The fish really hammered all that we threw at them which was a lot of fun. They are a very aggressive fish when they want to be. We just gave them an early lesson on what to watch out for so I can go back in a couple of years and have another go at them.

I went up again today as I am clearly a sucker for punishment, and saw the most amazing sight. I was chucking lures around for nil action when a easy metre plus model took flight just shy of where my lure landed. It must have cleared the water 1.5 metres and looked as graceful as a dolphin. I then also had (most likely the same fish) free swimming under my boat about 10 minutes later.... Now that's what I call a lure teaser!!!!!!

Cheers Matt

Thanks Matt for the report. No doubt you will, but I'd go back and re-fish that spot you mentioned in better conditions. Instinct took you there for some reason, so it deserves a fair chance in fair weather. Not too many spots in a lake fire well during a mad weather change in winter. Give it a go. Nice work fishing deep too. Those deepwater fish are still catchable in winter as you may have already discovered. You will find that there is a very 'narrow' window when they will bite best for you. In fact there is two triggers that help in the deep in the colds of winter. I'm sure a man of your ability will work it out. I can see from here that you have skill and tact to burn.
    Johnny

Ausfish Platinum Member Steve B's Avatar

Matt,

cool little barra. very encouraging to see tinaroo is in good shape for the next few years at least by the looks of them. I am sure your stocking group would be pleased to see those fish caught. I am hoping to see the same here this year after the stocking release some months back. They should be about the same size by Xmas fingers crossed.

well done again and some great photos too.

cheers steve

Great report Matt.Just wondering if there catching any barra around the shallow points out from the barron arm or mazlin creek.I caught some nice fish there last november when i was there for a weeks trip.

Ausfish Platinum Member Big_Ren's Avatar

Nice goin' Matt. Your teeny reports are just as as tantalising as your big ones.

Keep up the great work.

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Barrabundy,

Yes we do hit the points in the right conditions, actually in some of the "wrong" ones as well. They seem to fire in the warmer months with certain wind directions, and really go off on early still mornings.....

That being said, there are alot of great areas to fish in the warmer months, it's now just a challenge to find those great spots in winter this year that produce. I know we aren't too far away from putting the jigsaw pieces together. Doesn't matter anyway, for those that know or have met me, I just love fishing (especially for dam barra)!!!!!

Time will only tell

Big Ren,
    The sweet chariot looks SSSSSSSSSWWWWWWWWWWWWEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEETTTTTTTTT!!!
    Good stuff mate, look forward to seeing it. Make sure Vin and Navi, actually just make that Navi sign a waiver that if he breaks anything he will have to pay hehe
    Navi seems to have some anger issues when it come to quality glass instruments.

Jas

HEHE - can't help yourself Jas . I did tell Paul to get the air-brushing done after I test drove it .

All the rods I've broken have been top quality graphite - not glass smartarse!!

Although a few years back, I did drive my boat into a jetty at Mooloolaba when about 20 kids were fishing off it. They found it hilarious I pretended nothing happened. Bit like that RACQ ad - Jetty, what jetty .