Moogerah, Sunday afternoon.

Thread: Moogerah, Sunday afternoon.

Moogerah, Sunday afternoon.

As the title suggests, I hit Lake Moogerah with a good mate on Sunday afternoon. After the previous weeks donut at Maroon I was hopefull for at least one fish, so we headed out to hopefully find some fish.

The water level is up alot ...and I mean alot! So we did a quick run around to all the points and kept a keen eye on the sounder...nothing...not a thing...zippa-de-do-da! I am sure you get the drift. Moved out into more open water on the flats, which seemed to produce alot of the same.

Things were starting to get desperate, as time was now against us...There was a roast pork waiting at home afterall.

So we headed up and hit the trees...drifting with the wind, casting as we went.

We started to see fish on the sounder so I tied on a Mask Vibe and went deep...bouncing along the bottom in 20-25' of water as thats where the fish seem to be holding. I cast out at a lonely tree, probably 6' in diameter and let the Mask sink towards the bottom.

It wasnt far from the bottom when I felt the smallest of taps...a quick hookset and I was on...This thing was big and strong, peeling line of with good 2-3 metre runs. Then I felt it...the unmistakable feeling as your line passes over/under and through the timber that lays below. SNAP! All gone.

So apart from that 20 seconds of action the only other encounter was a 15cm monster caught in front of the Gorge.

I just wish these winter fish would hurry and decide to start playing the game.

Leigh.

Re: Moogerah, Sunday afternoon.

I Reckon You Had A Moogerah Eel,,, Its Been Slow Since The Kill For Bass. Cheers Bdowdy..brett

Yer moogerahs just started to come back on the bite, you just need to find the fish (although it takes a lot more than one outing to find the fish)

Quote Originally Posted by bdowdy View Post
    I Reckon You Had A Moogerah Eel,,, Its Been Slow Since The Kill For Bass. Cheers Bdowdy..brett
    There is no way that this thing was an eel...I have caught my fair share of eels, and this did, in no way, fight like an eel. I dont know what it was, but I would bet my left tackle box that it wasnt an eel.

Gidday Leigh77

We were out at Moogerah on Sunday as well, mostly in teh morning.

Scored nuthin in the gorge
    Scored a very tiny but very fat bass up in the timber
    Scored a nice yellow drifting and casting around the front (scored him on a shrimp however)
    And Scored a nice yellow on the troll on a jackall around the point near the wall.

Watched lots of big schools travel underneath us near the wall but could not score nuthin

Went home just after lunch

Budgebass

Quote Originally Posted by Leigh77 View Post
    There is no way that this thing was an eel...I have caught my fair share of eels, and this did, in no way, fight like an eel. I dont know what it was, but I would bet my left tackle box that it wasnt an eel.
    could have been a cod,,,

Hey Leigh, what have they stocked in there ?
    Are you thinking it was just a big fat winter bass that new where the snags were ?

hi lgm moogerah was stocked with golden perch, silvers,bass, mary river cod, and saratoga..but the togas didnt do to well...there is also a population of spangled perch, eel tailed catfish... and eels...cheers bdowdy..brett

Eels can be a pain in the proverbial at Moogerah. Another thing I forgot to mention was there was no slime on the leader, normally when you encounter an eel you get a slimy leader.

I cant say for sure what it was, but it new where it was going. And casting beside standing timber there is a high chance that the lure sank between the tree limbs, placing the lure in a near 'no win' situation to begin with.

Leigh.

Bowdy : I cant say I have ever heard of a cod encounter at Moogerah...Have they been successfull? Or are the numbers limited?

Hi BtotheM,
    Mate it appears that you have been having some success at Moogerah. I am not asking where but what has been your successful technique for you?
    I like Leigh77 spent a session there this week without success. The fish that I did find were hanging on the edges of the dropoffs around the old creek bed down towards the wall. I didn't find them until late and I am expecting to get back there tomorrow or Sat to check it out further.
    Leigh77,
    I had a Jackall hanging over the side of the boat and next thing it was getting the smallest of "rattles" looked down to see a Moogerah Monster (eel) nosing it!
    I don't have to tell you I got it out of ther quick smart!

Bad_Bazza

leigh cod numbers are low , i know of one fish that was caught there afew years back in the 20 to 40 lb range by harry watson who guided there... theres suppose to be a better population in maroon from what ive heard...WHO REALLY KNOWS MATE . cheers bdowdy..brett

Yer but the days i have had success have been weekdays with limited people on the water, soft plastics have been my main lure along with jackalls, but i ahve been deppendant on my sounder, locating fish, drop offs any type of structure. But you might find fish on the sounder and they wont take anything and the next lot of fish i cross are active. Its just about moving around trying to find active fish and i gps helps alot if i see anything fishy while fishing or driving i mark it and start fishing it

Thanks for the info BtotheM, it is appreciated.
    I have decided to leave it and head out again next week. As a retiree I mainly fish through the week these days. I only fish weekends when there's a Bass Electric happening.

Bad_Bazza