Thread: Outside Moreton Snaps

Outside Moreton Snaps

Hi all - just a quick report

CB's Cruisecraft 685 had us outside of Moreton in no time yesterday. A bit of current out deep - middle Tempest was workable for squire and pigs. Shallows sounded good - in 34 metres. As the arvo turned to evening the fish turned up - sounder was chockas. Gave the SP's a fair bit of work for little return (bite offs i.e. half a plastic - plus lots of small nibbles - I really need to get out with you Frank-O. CB gave me your number but I haven't given you a call yet!) The best return were live baits (pike and slimies) and humble fresh mullet on the bottom basher. Clouds left Moon Up - great night. The bite seemed to shut off at about 9pm - about when the south westerly picked up to 5-8 knots. The current in close was still racing fairly well to the south (reminded me of the Arti in Hervey Bay on the big tides - gurgling at the back of the boat.

Also scored some mixed reefies - home with a feed.

Thanks CB for a great evening!!!

Re: Outside Moreton Snaps

Some nice snapper there you would have to be happy with that mixed bag .
    well done mate !
    quote of the day ( guns don`t kill people fathers with pretty daughters do ) !!:wink:

G'day Peter,
    I was out there last night (for a while).
    Fished deep and shallow tempest after the sun went down for very little luck. Did better earlier at dusk just off Moreton cape, the off hutchies until the wind blew and the current roared.
    Good to see you got a feed

We had Thai Green Jobfish curry tonight.
    Baked snapper tomorrrow

Hi Craig

Enjoy those Jobbie and Snaps. One year in November I was fishing hutchies and a huge school of green jobies kept cruising around the boat - nabbed three of them floating pillies out to them (pre SP days) - not as big as Gardner Banks jobies but still just as tasty.

Were you on the drift or anchored up?

What set ups were you trying?

excellent fish fellas

Quote Originally Posted by Megafisk View Post
    Hi Craig

Enjoy those Jobbie and Snaps. One year in November I was fishing hutchies and a huge school of green jobies kept cruising around the boat - nabbed three of them floating pillies out to them (pre SP days) - not as big as Gardner Banks jobies but still just as tasty.

Were you on the drift or anchored up?

What set ups were you trying?

Pretty simple Pete running sinker onto a 3/0 octopus with squid for bait. Caught the jobfish on sp gulp squid.

Yep - simple can often be better!

Have a good w/end!