Sharks in the news

Thread: Sharks in the news

Angry Sharks in the news

Hi all, take a look at this article in the courier mail today

What sort of a tool would try to gaff a protected grey nurse shark ?

As mentioned in the comments posted on the news article, this sort of crap only gives the greenies ammunition by the backet full.

http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/s...35-953,00.html
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

Re: Sharks in the news

I reckon it's unlikely someone tried to gaff it.

A possible explanation ...... maybe someone tried to gaff a fish at the side of the boat and stuffed up as can happen and the line broke. With the gaff still stuck in it, the fish makes it's getaway but due to injuries/vulnerability, the ol' grey nurse comes along and woofs down the easy meal and the gaff then lodges in his gullet.

Look at how far down it's throat the gaff is?

Check out my boat for sale in the classifieds

• 469 Stacer open Seahorse/Nomad
    • 50hp 4 stroke tiller Mercury
    • Heaps of extras, in top condition
      [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Absolutely Mick. Hope someone with a clue brings this up or we will cope a pasting over this. Dont know many people that would use a 4 ft gaff on any shark That GNS may have a penchant for shiny things on the ocean floor too.

Maybe Nugget can give it a run on the weekend.

The real explanation can be found here http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...d.php?t=135167

Kev

Jackinthebox "I reckon it's unlikely someone tried to gaff it."

Greg P "Absolutely"

Would either of you be interested in buying a bridge I have for sale?

That depends on where it goes to & how much you want for it?
    Check out my boat for sale in the classifieds

• 469 Stacer open Seahorse/Nomad
    • 50hp 4 stroke tiller Mercury
    • Heaps of extras, in top condition
      [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

I wonder how they came to know of this shark. Other divers spot it?

Bit hard for them to miss it with a foot of handle sticking out its gob. I would imagine that because the same footage was on all tv networks inc footage from onboard Seaworld's vessel & underwater vission, that Seaworld staff must have done the filming and given it to the networks. Good PR for them I guess.

PS Just got a email from a mate in the UK, it was on the news over there.

Quote Originally Posted by M62 View Post
    Jackinthebox "I reckon it's unlikely someone tried to gaff it."

Greg P "Absolutely"

Would either of you be interested in buying a bridge I have for sale?

Maybe - do you take cheques

What I mean is was Seaworld diving the area and spotted the shark or did some other diver see it or a fisherman or whatever?

Ausfish Gold Member

grey nurse shark numbers in north queensland are quite plentiful . what a waste of money in some areas there numbers are so thick you cant get a fish to the boat.but eh whos counting them they aint the brightest fish in the sea. they all have degrees and no brains.there just aint that many shark eaters up here so there pretty safe.

Reel Nauti (Dave) It said on the TV last night some local divers had spotted it.
    The TV made a meal of it, saying the poor beast could not feed itself and was detined to starvation, which may be true ?
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

Thanks DS. With the amount of algae growth on the shaft of the gaff it seems it might have been there for a while. If this is the case, hardly seems to me that the fish was starving, and by the looks of the photos it wasn't.

Good though that the gaff was removed. It would have at the very least been uncomforable to live with!

Hats off to those divers though, better them than me

Quote Originally Posted by ozbee View Post
    grey nurse shark numbers in north queensland are quite plentiful . what a waste of money in some areas there numbers are so thick you cant get a fish to the boat.but eh whos counting them they aint the brightest fish in the sea. they all have degrees and no brains.there just aint that many shark eaters up here so there pretty safe.
    I thinks you are mixing up grey nurse sharks and common grey reef sharks. Grey nurse sharks are cold water sharks and only come up as far north as Brisbane in winter when the water get colder and go back south in the summer.